Ratings based on 634 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Gisborne, Australia

We Loved It!

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Great location, lovely staff, feels like an elegant home.
Cons: There was a funky smell from the cooling in the room and the internet is slow.
The Montebello Splendid was a great place to stay - three blocks from the river and 10 minutes scenic walk to the Ponte Vecchio or the Parco di Cascine. The concierge team at the front desk were very helpful with booking tours and even called our tour operator when my wife left her purse in the lobby to let us know it was safe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This is a traditional florentine hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Location is a little off the beaten Track making it quiet and peaceful - staff are very helpful And happy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Hidden gem in Florence!

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: The garden and the room. Glad to have an updated and clean bathroom.
Cons: Add pay to watch movies. The TV had very few english channels.
Location: Great location for restaurants and easy to get to the dome.
The hotel has an amazing garden where we had breakfast and afternoon cocktails. The staff was very helpful and accomodating. The location is great for getting to attractions but then escaping away from city feel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

High quality but a little off the beaten path

Posted May 19, 2017
The hotel is 5-star in most respects. Exceeded quality, very clean, a top quality restaurant and all of the requisite amenities. The staff was for the most part very helpful and had attentive with the exception of one lady at the front desk who was lacking in her abilities to communicate and advise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel although smelly

Posted May 5, 2017
Cons: Handle the sewer smell - and have a constant presence in the room service
Location: Great location -
Nice hotel, great location and wonderful architecture/outdoor space - Would recommend yet room I stayed at was really small and worse... there was a persistent sewer smell throughout my stay ...Phone didn't work and room service was hard to get as they seemed to be absent most of the time -
5 out of 5
by stephaniez from canada

excellent

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
fabulous
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, quiet location

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Size of the rooms, location, character of the hotel
Cons: Our a/c wasn't working when we were there
The hotel exceeded our expectations. Some prior reviews said they didn't like the feel of the hotel as it is very old fashion/traditional. But we liked it because it made us feel like we were in Italy, not New York City (like some other modern looking hotels). The staff was very nice, not stuffy like some reviews. Beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were were very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario canada

Quiet, elegant hotel with superior service

Posted Apr 14, 2017
The montebello has an excellent restaurant friendly staff and would highly recommend Danny and pat Ontario Canada
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
We booked this hotel just hours before we arrived for a two night stay. They charged us for an extra person because there were 3 of us and I accidently put 2 and failed to add my 14 year old when I booked it on my phone. It was my error so I couldn't argue with that. The part that was disturbing was when we had a family illness that caused us to leave the next morning at 5:00am. I left a message at the front desk to have someone contact me to see if there was any they could refund us for the second night stay or even a partial refund. They were not able to assist in any way and they even charged us for the 3rd person for the second night. I left a message when I returned back to the US and still no call back. That was very disappointing considering we had the cost of changing our international flights. I completely understand the "policy" but sometimes the "policy" could be more flexible when an unforeseen circumstance occurs. Other than that the hotel was very clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017
Dear Guest, we read your feedback but actually nobody at the reception desk can remember about this story. Your feedback is so general (anonymous Guest, no details of the stay or booking number) that it is impossible for us to give our comment because we cannot understand if your stay in our hotel has been real or not. If you give us some more details, we can investigate and have chance to reply to you. Looking forward to hearing from you, we remain, sincerely yours Mr. Gabriele Bassi Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
by Patricia

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was amazing. We were only there for 1 night. We will definitely return.