Ratings based on 654 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful hotel& Charming staff.

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Excellent location, beautiful building and charming staff make this a wonderful choice in Florence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, uk

Lovely hotel in a quiet area yet not far

Posted Nov 15, 2017
I had a lovely birthday break, the hotel is beautiful, furniture a bit outdated but that should stop you enjoying a beautiful city! The only thing stopping me giving 5 out of 5 was breakfast, for £20 euros it was a bit pricey the scrambled egg was tasting a bit burned and poor selection on cooked food also continental, I stayed in a 5 star hotel and they offer to you omelette and other hot freshly cooked staff, to me is a 4 star more likely! Staff at the reception very friendly especially Jonathan who takes his time and give you good guidance!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin TX

Quiet and Big room

Posted Oct 28, 2017
My parents live nearby so I go to Florence a lot. This hotel is tucked away behind the US embassy, the hotel is very quiet but just a 10 minute walk to the Ponte Vechhio. Our room was very large (especially by Italian standards). Very elegant and grand public spaces with antiques and Florentine style art. Great breakfast buffet at a reasonable 20 euros. I’d come back here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel I could find for views of Amalfi town.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: location, great rooms some with spectacular terraces and amazing views 5/5. elevators if you need them choices of steps and historic paths to Amalfi.
Cons: Hotel car entry is tough to find first time in, GPS in car ... forget it as it shows a wrong address, best call for directions to hidden entry area.
Location: on cliffside outstanding views... 3 separate modern elevators from main road entry to your room. many paths to tour the substantial grounds/village.
Historic old convent/hotel but new finish and design including some rooms with large scenic terraces overlooking the coastal town and marina of Amalfi. A terrific location to explore the old walkways and gardens. Many sites for fantastic pictures and spectacular sun sets. The ocean shines down below the hotel cliff terraces and the marina has lots of boating action with none of the noise from these heights. Hotel entry is tough to find first time in.... GPS in car forget it as it shows a wrong address ... call for directions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Great stay

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Very helpful staff
Cons: Breakfast a bit dull and limited (though the coffee was amazing). Extra points for the fresh orange juice machine.
Location: About 10-15 mins from town centre, easy walk though. Nothing much around the location - just a few shops and a small supermarket.
Amazing interior in the common areas (makes you feel like in a palace).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

This is a lovely traditional hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: This hotel is in a quiet part of Florence but only 10 minutes walk from the centre.
Cons: It may be that we were unlucky with our menu choices but the dinner experience for us was a little disappointing.
Location: Fantastic location and everything that we wanted to do was accessible from this hotel on foot.
This hotel is in a quiet part of Florence but only 10 minutes walk from the centre. We visited many churches and galleries and walked everywhere. There are plenty of indoor and outdoor seating areas. Breakfast offers all the regular options and there is a fresh orange juicer for patrons to use. We had one dinner a la carte and the octopus was marvellous (according to my son and husband) but I was disappointed with my prawn pasta dish (all pasta and two prawns) and the tiramisu was poor but the souffle was fantastic. Overall I was very happy with the hotel and would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel in an amazing city

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
I reserved 2 nights but after discovering that the hotel is amazing the staff are wonderful and friendly I extend for one more night really our stay was amazing I love it znd I love florence in all
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

room smells really bad

Posted Jul 29, 2017 on Hotels
The room smells terrible. my first bad review in all time in anything
5 out of 5
by Marguerite

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Gisborne, Australia

We Loved It!

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Great location, lovely staff, feels like an elegant home.
Cons: There was a funky smell from the cooling in the room and the internet is slow.
The Montebello Splendid was a great place to stay - three blocks from the river and 10 minutes scenic walk to the Ponte Vecchio or the Parco di Cascine. The concierge team at the front desk were very helpful with booking tours and even called our tour operator when my wife left her purse in the lobby to let us know it was safe.