Ratings based on 1,247 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, close to public transport

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Cute bedroom, very good location (walk distance to everything to see), very nice staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Posted Jun 4, 2017
The location is convenient, within walking distance to train station and easy to locate. We like the set up of the hotel as it is unique
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale Arizona

Very convenient to train station

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Cons: The beds could be softer, but they are probably fine for most people. I'm 70 years old and the back needs a remodel😊
On a May 2017 trip of several weeks with our 18 year old grandson, my wife and I needed. Triple room in Florence. This hotel provided nicely for our needs. Being less than five minute walk from the train station meant we didn't have to schlep our multiple bags far. Nice breakfast was included. Freshly made bacon and eggs, pastries, cereal, etc meant the "eating machine" could get his fill👍The hotel was very convenient to see everything you want to see in Florence. I recommend it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2017
Traveller friendly hotel. Nice location and staffs.
2 out of 5
by Jonathan

Very disappointed

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
We did not like this hotel. The initial person we checked in with was great. We got to our room and the pillow case was soiled, the floors not swept, and we went back down and thought we would get glass of water in reception and the lid to the water container had black mold in the lid. The location is good but I really do not recommend this to stay. The breakfast lady was really upset and rude the morning we requested to eat a little early due to tour start times, we had cleared this with the person at the desk the night before but it obviously did not get told to morning staff. The breakfast needs to start at 7 not 730 in order to work with those taking tours. again, was just a sour experience on what was a great vacation otherwise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017
Dear Jonathan, we are sorry to know that the hotel has not been at the height of your expectations but we would like to inform you that the staff is always at disposal for every problem and you never informed us about any of those matters. Every room is equipped with a kettle and complimentary tea and coffee that you could have use. Bread and croissants arrives fresh in the morning and we don’t have packaged products, usually at 07.00am the person in charge is just finishing up the full buffet. When we know in time, we are glad to provide something for breakfast directly in the room. Anyway, your review help us to improve our service for a better customer satisfaction, which is the aim of our daily work. Best Regards Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk England

Friendly hotel easy walking distance to main attra

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Close to the station/ coach stops but on a quiet street. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The traditional style rooms were immaculately clean and well appointed and serviced each day. Breakfast was 7.30-10 with a choice of fresh fruit, yogurt, cold cuts, cheese, egg hot and cold sausage (hotdog) ham, baked goods, toast and toppings. Easy walk to the major attractions of Florence. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to my friends and family
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel location is fantastic, easy walk from train station, and convenient to museums and cafes. Our room was clean and the bathroom in good condition. We booked a family room, and the beds were thin and not very comfortable. We were still glad we picked the hotel as the staff were very friendly, we liked the overall ambiance and the breakfast convenient and good. If it had been for a longer stay we would have definitely wanted more comfortable mattresses.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
The room was spacious and clean. The utilities were functional. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good though repetitive. The location was excellent; close to the SMN station and the centre of town. Overall, the hotel was a little worn, and was comfortable rather than luxurious.
5 out of 5
by Audrey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay Area

Nice and quiet hotel close to the train station

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Cons: Modernize the bathroom,
The hotel is situation close to the train station but on a quiet street. There's plenty of restaurants nearby and shops too. A grocery store is just around the corner. The reception area has nice italian cookies, nuts, coffee and water. Breakfast buffet is OK and you can order your cappuccino from the staff. The room is nice and clean and quiet for good nights of sleep. The bathroom is a bit small. The staff is very nice and helpful. There's also a computer in the lobby for guests. It's only 2-3 blocks from the San Lorenzo market and Midici Chapel. I would stay here again next time.