Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Kerry from Canun

Great time in Cartagena

Posted Dec 12, 2015 on Hotels
The staff was very helpful and friendly
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA, USA

OK hotel for the price!

Posted Apr 18, 2015
The hotel isn't in downtown Rodadero, but it is 3 blocks away from a semiprivate beach (less vendors and people). You can walk to downtwon (10mins walk) or take a taxi ( USD$3-4). The hotel isn't fancy but if you are looking just for a place to sleep few nights is ok, specially for the price! The staff is very nice, not sure if they speak English. Free wifi in common areas.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bogota

Room never done

Posted Mar 24, 2015
The room was either stuffy and hot or freezing. Air conditioning was too efficient. The room was not done at all during our stay. No toilet paper was provided after the first roll and a half. There was no hot water and too much chlorine in the cold water. The shower head was also missing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Canada

Clean and Friendly

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Location. Staff. Cleanliness
Cons: WiFi. Bedding
This is a very basic hotel with few amenities. The WiFi was very intermittent and only works if you are sitting in the lobby. The WiFi will not work in your room. If you do not speak Spanish, be advised, the staff does not speak any english. They were extremely friendly and helpful though. The hotel is very clean and well kept with solid security features. The walls of the rooms are thin and you can here some noise from the hallway. If you are looking for a well priced hotel, this is definitely fitting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tiffany from san diego

Close to the beach, restaurants and grocery store.

Posted Aug 3, 2013
Pros: The map was very useful. And the AC is powerful!
Cons: Internet.
Location: The beach and grocery store are only 4 minutes away
Checked in late and the place was pretty slow. It's conviently located and the staff was very friendly. The AC is wonderful but the wifi wasn't working when we were there. I think the router needed to be rebooted. But we have a beach near by and not having wifi was a nice getaway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Wasilla

Economy say!

Posted May 30, 2013
Pros: Staff
Cons: Bed and bath room size
Location: Close walk to beach, grocery store and shopping
Tiny room and bath for non Columbians. Staff was helpful, good walking distance to beach and shopping.. Good luck with the beach vendors!
3 out of 5
by Alberto from Minneapolis, MN

OK for quick stay

Posted Mar 17, 2013
Pros: Great front desk staff
Cons: Very small rooms
Location: Good location
Great if all you want to do is sleep there and you're on a budget. Hotels in the area are over prized, so if in a budget ok for you. Not for honeymoons or people who are looking for luxury.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Turku, Finland

Not worth it

Posted Oct 28, 2011 on Hotels
The room we stayed in Caribe Mar was very basic. The hotel seems to be going under some kind of renovation, unfortunately our room hadn't seen anykind of improvement since the late 60's. Or so it seemed to me at least. A/C worked but was extremely noisy, and shutting ours down didn't help either, because the neighbours A/C blasted through anyways. It is located a couple of blocks from the beach, but the actual centre of El Rodadero is a couple hundred meters to the north. All in all, I'm sure there a better options even at this price range.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Can't wait to go back! It's Bad

Posted Jan 23, 2011
Never in my life, I don't why you have this hotel in your list? Caribe Mar Hotel in Santamarta Colombia is bad quality of service, bad condition or maintenance of the hotel, bad cleanliness of room, bad convenience of hotel location, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Naples Florida

Nice traditional old Colombian Hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2011
This is a very reasonably priced hotel considering that it is only 6 blocks from the beach in Santa Marta. The hotel was old but well maintained. The room was cleaned and the linens were changed everyday. If you're looking for the amenities of a luxery hotel, then this isn't the hotel for you. However, if you want a clean hotel room with basic amenities for about 1/3 the price of beach front hotels, then this hotel is a real bargin. There are many restaurants and stores within a few blocks from the hotel. The beautiful beaches of Santa Marta are only a 5 or 10 minute walk from this hotel. We walked the area both during the day and also at night and felt very safe. The people in this Santa Marta neighborhood were all very friendly. If you are price concious, then I would recommend this hotel.