Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice, clean, basic accommodations.

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness; hotel staff very helpful.
Cons: Could stand to have a little more artificial illumination in room.
Location: Location is in middle of common but safe urban area, not adjacent to tourist attractions (waterfront, historic district).
This hotel has basic, not luxurious, accommodations; but it is well-managed and clean. The pool is well maintained. The location is somewhat removed from the desired tourist areas, such as the waterfront and the historical district, but getting to those places is easy and quick via taxi. The hotel staff is exceedingly friendly and helpful, always available to address guests' needs. I was content with my room and the overall service. MY stay at Casa Etnia gets my seal of approval.
5 out of 5
by Usman from london

excellento profunda

Posted May 17, 2015 on Hotels
wonderful property with individual detail and aesthetics -rooms are absolutely habitable and comfortable -I languished here in silence in the outdoor pool and Jacuzzi -santa marta is a delightful colonial town and the staff andrea and carlos were guiding me to the sites -I will return for sure to exotic santa marta -excellento
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016
• Dear Usman , thank you for your comment and for choosing our hotel to enjoy your stay in Santa Marta. We are happy because it found it very enjoyable and entertaining . We hope to have again as a guest in our facilities. Casa Etnia Hotel Boutique.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bogotá

it is far from downtown and the beach

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: the room was very confortable and clean. Is very quiet. perfect to rest
Cons: the breakfast
Location: you need to take a cab if you want to go downtown. there is nothing to do near by
my friend and I stayed for one night and it was very nice. I recommend it for short stays
1 out of 5
by lawyer from a

I would not ever recommend this hotel.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
The staff stole my wife's camper while we were at the beach. Upon discovery and during the confrontation the manager called my wife a liar, gave us her wrong name and refused to call the police. Fortunately, my wife's family is from Santa Marta and her uncle is a detective. Once the police came, the owner showed up but she was combative. Offerer end to discount incidentals by 50%, which would be $40. I refused and she reluctantly refunded $80. What a joke this hotel is.
3 out of 5
by Marcie from Utah

Santa Marta

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was great. Clean rooms, good shower. Only problem was loud music next door until 2am! Didn't get much or any sleep having to get up at 5:00am to catch a bus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Irish

Very expensive for what it is!

Posted May 24, 2014
Staff are very friendly, and helpful, but hotel it's more like bed and breakfast. Tiny pool, and far for the town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DI from toronto

random sort of location, nothing special.

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: breakfast was nice
Location: macdonalds is close by...
i booked 2 nights and could only stay for one, but was unsuccessful in getting any refund from the management for the second night.. jacuzzi did not heat up.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great customer service and stay

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels
When staying at Casa Etnia a few weeks ago with a friend, I had a great experience. The room was clean and very minimal. Just what we needed for a couple nights stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful to any questions we had. Offered great suggestions for dinner. They served an excellent breakfast every morning as well (made to order with anything you could ask for). This type of excellent customer service was certainly unexpected with the great price we paid for the room. Would definitely recommend to others!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel limpio, cómodos y bien atendido

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Queriamos un hotel pequeño, y bien hubicado, pues ibamos a Santa Marta a un matrimonio y encontramos este pequeño hotel que cumplió con nuestras necesidades. Cerca a lo que necesitábamos, limpio , tranquilo, muy bien atendido y basta te agradable. Lo recomiendo.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cartagena

Hotel cerca a centros comerciales y restaurantes.

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: Comodo. No tan alejado de los sitios que visitar. Muy cerca a centros comerciales, almacenes y restaurantes. Ubicación en Barrio muy tranquilo
Cons: Mejorar condiciones de los baños. Colocar Wifi en habitaciones y no solo en el lounge de recepción del hotel.
No hay Wifi en habitaciones. El baño pudo estar en mejor condición. Pero cómodo en general.