Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Catherine from Los Angeles

DON'T STAY at Decameron Galeon Santa Marta Colombi

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
This was the worst hotel experience I've had in years. Beyond disappointing especially for the price. We paid $350/night for a family of 3, all inclusive. Start to finish, bad. Although the pols were open until 8 pm, the towel cabana closed at 5 pm, so by the time we got out to the pool, we could not get towels. There were only 2 shower towels in our room with 4 beds, we had to request more. They gave us only 1 room key (old school actual key, not card key), and claimed they had no extra copies. There was no WI FI in the hotel, except in the lobby, so we could not even contact each other to find each other around the property. WI FI was expensive, and only good for one device at a time. The bar had a line out the door, and the drinks were watery and weak. The FOOD...so bad. It was buffet. All the fish had been sitting in the steamer tins for hours. There were no desserts left. I asked for red wine, and I got a teeny glass of wine from a box. I finally complained to the manager. Fortunately my Spanish is good enough to present my complaints. They finally got me an extra key by taking the cleaning lady's key! Even worse- all the other families were dealing with the same lack of keys, so when we were trying to rest in our room, families were sitting on the steps outside our paper-thin front door, waiting for their ONE key-holder to return and let them into their room. Honestly, I can't see how this hotel remains in business.
5 out of 5
by Gene from Alaska

Posted Jul 25, 2015 on Hotels
Overall it was very good. The food left a little to be desired, but still it was alright. After our stay we drove to Santa Marta. I think we probably stayed in the best hotel in town. The show at night was not as advertised. I did not enjoy it, but it seemed like everyone else did. I would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Excellent resort in Santa Marta

Posted Mar 29, 2015
We had a great time at this all-inclusive resort. The staff was very friendly and professional, the facilities were in excellent condition and clean and the food was great which is typical in colombia. If you are considering visiting Colombia, like being at the beach and want a have a great family fun vacation, this hotel is the place to go.
3 out of 5
by nuheart2005 from Tampa, FL, USA

Upgrade one star if you are able

Posted Apr 12, 2013
Pros: Convienence.
Cons: rooms were outdated
Location: Close to any destination, the beach is directly across from our oceanfront room and one block walking takes you into the heart of Cartegena
Good location. Rooms are outdated and it gives the appearance of being dirty. Furniture is banged up, scratched and a 1950's quilt was on the bed. The buffet was generally medium quality food but it consistently ran out of green salad. Variety of fruits and vegetables was good so it evened out. Freshly prepared juice of your choice was the "peace de resistance"
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never stay here.,.....If you only speak english

Posted Mar 20, 2013
Pros: beach is great
Cons: boaring pool, always have to walk to get a drink.
Hotel staff speaks no english, server slams into me and will not even turn around to apoliguse. takes 4 days for laundry to be cleaned. we are not allowed to drink alcohol in pool. and only 1 square pool at that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2013 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth your money...

Posted Dec 3, 2012
This place is outdated, the quality of our room was nothing like the pictures on the website. The food was nothing to write home about, we ate it because we needed "substance", but it was not what I expected. Part of the beach was closed off with yellow tape, so this was not pleasant to look at. We were upgraded to a nicer room, the "cabana" as they called it. This was much better, so I would recommend asking for it ahead of time. However, I would recommend just going elsewhere. It is just not worth the money
5 out of 5
by Dan H

Posted Nov 30, 2012 on Hotels
Rooms were a little outdated but the staff and the amenities were top notch.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2012 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sad Week at Decameron

Posted Aug 17, 2012
Pros: pool
Cons: robbery
Location: 30 from Santa Marta
DeCameron charges for internet that is not reliable (no refunds). My first day on vacation the maid picked my luggage lock and stole personal belongings and cash, even thought I had DO NOT DISTURB sign placed on door knob. The food was mediocre. All meats served were over cooked and tough.