Ratings based on 445 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely character hotel close to the beach!

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: The hotel is in a great spot only a block from the beach. The communal areas of the hotel are great and very comfortable and the staff very helpful.
Cons: Nothing other than making the room choice clear when booking.
Location: The beach is a short walk from the hotel and we spent the morning here watching the dolphins playing in the ocean.
The hotel was exactly as we had expected - the photos reflected the decoration and the staff were very helpful. Our room however was very disappointing and not what we had hoped for. All the rooms shown on the website were bright and sunny with decoration matching the main areas of the hotel. Our room was quite the opposite - it was very dark - even with double doors - there was almost no natural light and with low beamed ceilings it meant you needed the lights on at all times. The outside area faced the main road and so if you had the net curtains and curtains and doors open you had all the noise from the traffic and felt very exposed. As we were only staying one night and having found a single photo for the room on the website we thought that it would be fine. That said, if when we had booked, this room had been given as the suggested room option we would not have gone ahead. Unfortunately throughout the night we were woken regularly by what we thought was a boiler or air conditioning unit turning on and off. It wasn't the fact that it was on or off but that it kept coming on and woke us each time - if you are a light or even a normal sleeper as we are the combination of this and the road means this room is definitely not for you! I even considered going to sleep in the hotel lounge and were it not for the fact that the room is not accessed via the main hotel but via a separate entrance that means you have to go outside and go through separate doors I think I would have!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta, GA

Amazing staff

Posted May 10, 2017
Just as we expected.....lovely room (maybe a tad small but that's to be expected), but what makes this hotel perfect is the staff. Wonderful afternoon snacks and breakfast too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from So Cal

You HAVE to go

Posted May 8, 2017
Staff, location, breakfast, afternoon glass of wine and cheese... GO this is a bright spot on the cost. Wonderful staff and great location. My wife and I had a wonderful time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia.

Friendly, homely and very comfortable hotel.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: We loved the food presentation, lovely decor and happy hour each afternoon. Dominique and Rachael even shared their delicious recipes!
Cons: Maybe a consider how hard it is to carry the heavy suitcases up to the third floor. Helpful for more elderly guests to be housed on lower floors.
Location: We found the local restaurant "Golden Bull"down the street great and an easy walk. Also it was easy to catch the local bus into downtown Santa Monica.
From the moment we arrived we felt like we were at home. What a lovely cosy hotel! The decor and glowing fire added to the homely ambience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Victoria Canada

Great B&B Inn close to the beach

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: The character of the old home and the conversion that was done to make it into a boutique Inn. The rooms were all different but of the same quality.
Cons: Nothing.
We had a wonderful experience at the Channel Road Inn. Can not wait to return. Our room was spacious and well appointed with views out over the neighbourhood and nearby beach. The property is very well maintained and provides a feeling of being at home. The staff were extremely pleasant and professional. Breakfast items and evening wine and cheese were well thought out and prepared. It was nice to be just outside of the main tourist and commercial areas but yet only a 25 minute walk along the beach path to the Santa Monica downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and comfortable boutique hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Friendly staff, good breakfast. Bed and room was very comfortable. Love the outdoor seating area in my room too. Nice place to relax from sight seeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great hotel with very nice staff!

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING!!!
Cons: Only minor problem was getting the key to the front door to work properly. It was no big deal and it was most likely a user error!
Location: Very close to the beach, easy access to nice restaurants and within minutes of a lot of shopping areas and nightlife!
The hotel felt like you were staying at a friend's house! They always had good-tasting and fresh breakfast every morning. Everyone was super friendly and always smiling. We never needed anything. They stayed on top of everything and I would definitely stay here again. Also, very close to the beach and close to Pacific Highway!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Nice Comfortable BB

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: The lovely warm welcome when we arrived, and from what I could see all the rooms were airy and beautifully decorated.
Cons: Cannot think of anything, they had it covered.
Location: Location was close to the beach, not much else to do nearby we used to Bikes when available to cycle into Santa Monica along the beach path.
One of the nicest little B & B that I have stayed in, staff were friendly and welcoming with homemade cookies in the room on arrival. Nothing was too much trouble and felt like a home from home, very relaxing. Breakfast was nice fresh and plentiful, with a glass of wine and snacks in the evening, even homemade cakes mid afternoon nice little touches. The little extras made a difference.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Homely

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
We are visiting our son so was convenient for him to stop in and pick us up. Great homely feel and great baking. Enjoyed the afternoon drinks and nibbles. They also had bikes we could borrow. Although a little old were great for what we wanted to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxurious friendly guest house close to beach.

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Beautiful guest house with every care taken for your comfort. Friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Delicious breakfast. 10 min walk to enormous beach and they even provide beach towels. There is noise from traffic though so we couldn't have our windows open.