Ratings based on 1,755 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok for the price

Posted May 19, 2017
Amazing staff, very friendly and helpful. Valet is $39 with in and outs plus tax. Standard for a 4 star hotel. Good and fast service. Otherwise, experience was just ok for $300 a night. The location is about 10 min walk to the beach which is a little bit far considering that it looked closer on the map. The sofa gave my dad back pain. Overall, the hotel is really outdated. Tv wasn't working the first night and barely worked after it was fixed. They are doing some renovations to the pool which is well overdue. The rooms need to be renovated as well as the elevators for the nightly price they charge. Do not believe it is up to hiltons standards. Shopping center is about 10 min away from the hotel which is a plus. Basically, you pay for a location. Next time I would definitely choose a hotel right on the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pool on site. Close to the beach and boardwalk.

Posted May 15, 2017
Complimentary shuttle to prominade and beach. Restaurant on sitr
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great central location in Santa Monica

Posted May 11, 2017
The Doubletree Suites is a very conveniently located hotel. It's just off the freeway and walking distance to the shopping area, beaches and restaurants. We had a room that overlooked the freeway so it was quite noisy early in the morning - I'd suggest asking for a room away from the freeway. The hotel room was clean and spacious. We had three girls all rehiring separate beds so one ended up on the sofa bed, which was very uncomfortable. Valet parking was reasonably priced and the warm cookie on arrival was a nice touch. Very friendly, helpful staff too! Definitely recommend the Double Tree Suites.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfield, CT

Under construction, yet needs remodeling

Posted May 7, 2017
Bad choice of hotels. This hotel's carport area is currently under construction and makes it a little challenging to pull into. Rooms need remodeling. No hot water, air condition didn't work. Room service a mess. Business travelers beware. No value here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Good hotel but let down by bad administration.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Location, close to pier, shops and metro. Good comfortable rooms. Restaurant was good.
Cons: Administration, don't use guests. Reddit card without permission or consultation. Give itemised accounts on check out.
Location: Pier, beach, shops and metro.
Good hotel in good location. Restaurant good. However ! We had prepaid our stay and given a bond. We booked up our 2 meals to 'the room' ( means that you normally settle the $ at the end of your stay). This hotel took unauthorised and without telling us credit card transactions to cover the cost of the meals in 'real time' This means bank fees and exchange rate fees. To add insult they had taken too much and we were due a refund. They refused to give us cash but insisted it be paid to our credit card. Yep more bank fees and exchange rate fees to the point where our 'refund' will be virtually zilch. Les than $100 in meal costs, but all up 4 credit card transactions. They obviously don't trust their guests. When we asked at check out we were basically told ' tough luck' that's the administration. We were also not given an itemised account. We have booked another 2 nights here on our return. Due to this bad experience we'll either look to cancel ( if we can) but if we can't we'll make sure we don't use their restaurant. We don't like our credit card used without permission or consultation. Bad admin is bad for your business !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel doesn't care about Expedia patrons.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: It had a pool for the kids
Cons: Customer service, never again.
Location: There are great hotels nearby and closer to the beach.
I phoned and booked with an Expedia representative and asked 3 times to get the room with breakfast that was 20 dollars more. I have two kids and did not want the hassle of finding breakfast, in fact, I only ever get a hotel that has it. Once there, I assumed everything was fine until the morning of, when my husband who had let me sleep in came back 20 minutes later saying breakfast was not included. The hotel did not want to do anything about it, saying I had booked with Expedia and they were a third party, so I should take it up with them. Expedia contacted the hotel to no avail and offered a 50 dollar voucher for future use. I declined, my kids were hungry and I was sleepy and did not want to get up to find breakfast. Expedia finally offered a 50 dollar credit, I had to get dressed and walk to a breakfast place 1/2 a mile way. We even spoke to corporate which is Hilton, they said the same thing and refused to even deal with it. We will never book doubletree or Hilton again! That being said, Expedia tried to solve it, I appreciate it, but it really put a big damper in our trip. There was also construction in the front that we didn't know about.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Roomy Hotel for a family of 4

Posted Apr 23, 2017
We got a suite with 2 queen beds. Separate living area with a fridge and microwave. Nothing fancy. But it was roomy and comfortable for our stay. Location was one block or so away from a mall. Valet parking only, no self parking. It was 39 per day. Wifi in the room was 5.95 per day per 3 devices. If you have a 4th device, you'd have to pay another 5.95 for another 3 devices. Overall, for our 4 day stay, the location, size of the room, cleanliness of the room, comfort of the room was more than adequate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loud, right on freeway

Posted Apr 14, 2017
The room was large, so nice. But the hotel is right on the freeway. Loud. Zero ambiance. You can walk to the shopping area and beach but much there are closer hotels that would provide a better experience. The refrigerator was tiny.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Lisa, Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. Our team takes great pride in providing all of our guests a restful and relaxing stay and I am so sorry that you didn’t get to experience the hospitality that all of our other reviews speak to. I hope you will give us a chance in the future to take care of you on your next visit to Santa Monica. Warm regards, Brian Murphy General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Last minute stop

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: The location of the Fairmont is perfect. Within walking distance to the Ocean, Pier, and wonderful bars and restaurants...including a weekend pop up F
Cons: Had to wait 20 minutes to check in and about 15 to check out.
Location: Beach, Pier, shopping, dining and entertainment galore!
We arrived in Santa Monica Friday night...and stopped into the Fairmont around 8pm after a long drive. Unfortunately, because it was late in the evening...there was only one gentlemen at the check in desk, and about 3 guests ahead of us in line. We had to wait quite a while before we could check in. We were hoping for a great last minute, walk in rate...but unfortunately, that was not the case. Luckily we were able to get a room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Walk to everything

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Friendly and helpful staff. Spacious well appointed suite. Currently undergoing renovations in foyer area. Good breakfast.