Ratings based on 487 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Maria

Slightly disappointed

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in dire need of an upgrade, dark and not romantic! A lot of money for something so rundown. If I would have paid 25% less I would have thought that this was a good deal.
3 out of 5
by Brian

Basic hotel, great location, tricky to find

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
This is an older, family-run hotel with small rooms and Craftsman charm. Nothing fancy, but it's relatively affordable, surrounded by great shopping and only one block from the beach. It's a five minute walk to the Santa Monica Pier. There's coffee and pastries for breakfast, but there are many other places for a more substantial breakfast nearby. One quirk - the address is on Broadway but the entrance is around the corner on Second Street. There's no street-level signage on Broadway. My Lyft driver was literally right next to the hotel and knew it had to be there, and we couldn't see it. We went all the way around the block and spotted it the second time around. So if you're headed west on Broadway, just turn right onto Second and you'll be right there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Brian. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Santa Monica. Thanks for being a Hotel.com guest at Hotel Carmel. We really appreciate the opportunity to be of service!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, minimal amenities

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
Check in was very messy, but it was a very packed weekend due to a Frisbee tournament. I had booked 6 rooms and when booking them was told we would be blocked together, but when we got there they were all spread out. The front desk was patient and got it all sorted out, but by the time they finished with me the line was out the door for checking in (they only had one person checking people in). The rooms themselves were fine. Definitely an older building with the bare necessities in rooms, but that worked just fine for our purposes. And you absolutely can not beat the location for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I'm so sorry that we did not have the room assignments correct when you were checking in. I'm glad we were able to get it right but I wish we would have gotten it right before the check in process began. Thanks for letting us know there was an issue as we always want to know where we need to improve. I hope you enjoyed your time in Santa Monica.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Inexpensive hotel Stay

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: It's very close to the beach. Great location.
Cons: Better management and organization. I reserved rooms with double queen beds and got 1 King bed instead.
Location: The location is great and you are close to everything in Santa Monica.
Overall, it's what I expected. The price per night was half the cost of other hotels. The room didn't have a refrigerator but I'm expecting it to not have the same amenities as other places. The breakfast was muffins, coffee, and juice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Good hotel for short stay. Close to beach. Good area surrounded by shops and cafes.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Dont rent the rooms over the bar unless the people agree they are "party people"
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Top location

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Easy walking to the Pier. Reasonable price for the area. Staff were friendly and the complimentary snacks and drinks in the morning were great. Hotel is very tired but bed was great and room was clean. Directly outside our window was what sounded like an air conditioning unit so constant noise even if the window was shut. They were also removing a lot of furniture from the rooms next to and around us so lots of banging and furniture blocking the walk way. Seemed to be renovating. Would have liked a courtesy notification they were doing this. It's a good thing however that they are updating things.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC, Canada

Price and location can't be beat

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location! In the heart of downtown Santa Monica.
Cons: Hotel decor could use some updating (remove carpets, change furniture, etc)
Location: Next to Santa Monica Place mall; short walk to the iconic Pacific Park @ Santa Monica Pier! 20 minutes to LAX.
Yes, the hotel is a bit older, but it's charming the staff are great and honestly you canNOT beat the location. Check-in was easy and the young lady who greeted us had a smile the entire time. I had some trouble connecting to the Wifi on my husband's iPad and my iPod after getting up to our room. The gentleman at the front desk (I wish I took his name) took the time to help me until both devices were connected. Valet parking makes life easy if you have a car during your stay (for a fee, of course) We'd definitely stay there again no question.
5 out of 5
by Phyllis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels