Ratings based on 499 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Billings MT

Close to the beach and promenade

Posted May 29, 2017
Location is everything! Hotel is clean and OK, but not plush. Staff was very pleasant and we we able to check in quite early after our morning flight arrived
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Perfect location for walking to everything

Posted May 24, 2017
A/C did not function properly. No hair dryer in room. Minimal breakfast provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

Easy access to Santa Monica Pier and Outdoor Mall

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Easy Access
Cons: Air conditioning
Location: Santa Monica Pier, Pacific Ocean and beach, Public Park overlooking ocean, lots of restaurants.
Great Staff. Convenient to outdoor mall and restaurants. Great price. Have used them 4 times in the last 2 years. Valet service is wonderful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
In most of the rooms is very noisy because they are looking on the inside of the hotel where the air conditioner unit are,terrible view,other wise it's on good location close to the beach , shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Excellent location for Santa Monica

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Cosyness!
Cons: We like the old style of this hotel - leave it as it is!
Location: This is a perfect location for exploring Santa Monica and it's Pier - the many varied shopping malls etc.
An oldie, but a goodie! Original Art Deco hotel that is clean and comfortable. The decor is tired, but they have some lovely old furniture - the beds are comfy, and yes, they are high! The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for walking everywhere in Santa Monica. Highly recommended .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great option!

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Convenience to the Santa Monica Pier, town and Wed/Sat Farmers' Market.
Cons: For me, it would take making a major strong coffee brew and fresh fruit at that breakfast.
Over many years, have stayed at various hotels on Ocean Ave. and watched prices increase dramatically. Almost made me sorry that I gave great reviews to contribute to the price increases. This year, I reduced my cost by moving west to Hotel Carmel. Yes, it is an older building but if you can deal with this, you can save on overall trip. Staff is pleasant and accommodating. They even offer a little continental breakfast (and if you want more, just visit Jinky's, next door).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Great location in Santa Monica. Walking distance to a lot
4 out of 5
by Mark

Great price & location

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
We had a great stay at this hotel. The location is superb, just a short walk to the pier (under 5 minutes) and right in the middle of the shopping district. A quiet hotel. Valet parking was convenient. The hotel has been updated & has all the necessary conveniences. Can be a little tight with bags. Bathroom tended to get steamy. I would highly recommend
4 out of 5
by Eliot

Decent Enough

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
An older hotel. That is not a bad thing per se. No real luxury. The best feature is it is close to everything on 3rd street and Ocean Avenue, including the pier. Easy walking. Close to Expo Line terminus. A lesser property compared to the newer hotels in the area. Overpriced considering this comparison. The shower curtain is hung by a tension bar. Not a permanent bar. Did not realize this at first and almost fell out of the shower when I used it to brace myself in the shower. Not good.
4 out of 5
by Carol

Great location but a little loud

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Overall great location. Nice staff and very helpful. I would stay again. You can hear outside noises so if a light sleeper ask for a room not on main streets.