Ratings based on 489 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Perfect location for walking to everything

Posted May 24, 2017
A/C did not function properly. No hair dryer in room. Minimal breakfast provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

Easy access to Santa Monica Pier and Outdoor Mall

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Easy Access
Cons: Air conditioning
Location: Santa Monica Pier, Pacific Ocean and beach, Public Park overlooking ocean, lots of restaurants.
Great Staff. Convenient to outdoor mall and restaurants. Great price. Have used them 4 times in the last 2 years. Valet service is wonderful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
In most of the rooms is very noisy because they are looking on the inside of the hotel where the air conditioner unit are,terrible view,other wise it's on good location close to the beach , shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Excellent location for Santa Monica

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Cosyness!
Cons: We like the old style of this hotel - leave it as it is!
Location: This is a perfect location for exploring Santa Monica and it's Pier - the many varied shopping malls etc.
An oldie, but a goodie! Original Art Deco hotel that is clean and comfortable. The decor is tired, but they have some lovely old furniture - the beds are comfy, and yes, they are high! The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for walking everywhere in Santa Monica. Highly recommended .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great option!

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Convenience to the Santa Monica Pier, town and Wed/Sat Farmers' Market.
Cons: For me, it would take making a major strong coffee brew and fresh fruit at that breakfast.
Over many years, have stayed at various hotels on Ocean Ave. and watched prices increase dramatically. Almost made me sorry that I gave great reviews to contribute to the price increases. This year, I reduced my cost by moving west to Hotel Carmel. Yes, it is an older building but if you can deal with this, you can save on overall trip. Staff is pleasant and accommodating. They even offer a little continental breakfast (and if you want more, just visit Jinky's, next door).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Great location in Santa Monica. Walking distance to a lot
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Tired property

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Barely working heating system. Messed up reservation through Expedia. Friendly staff can't overcome a tired property. Look elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Great location.

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Cons: More seating in room. Hairdryer should be provided.
Great access to Santa Monica beaches, pier, shopping and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Good hotel, great location for price

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Wonderful, friendly staff from check in through to check out. Room was clean and bed comfortable. The hotel is in a great location only a block back from the beach. Overall it is a little dated and basic but very good value for the price, and as a solo female traveller I felt safe. I'd stay here again in the future.
4 out of 5
by Joseph

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
While the hotel was basic, the location is excellent.