Ratings based on 763 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great location and comfortable

Posted Feb 22, 2018
A very attractive updated classic on the beach. Views from oceanside rooms can’t be beat. Room was comfortable and spotlessly clean, but lacked a chair, which would have been nice. Staff was attentive and most (but not all) were extremely helpful and friendly. Overall, too many little things were slightly amiss (workout machines broken, no hot water one day, etc.) to justify a true “luxury” label, but the comfort and location made for a very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA

WIFE'S BIRTHDAY

Posted Feb 18, 2018
Pros: SERVICE AND FRIENDLY PEOPLE.
Cons: NOTHING
Location: BREAKFAST AT JIFFYS AND WALK TO THE BEACH
WE GOT CHAMPAGNE, FRUIT BASKET AND GREAT SERVICE. LOVED THE STAY.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Excellent staff at front desk and concierge

Posted Feb 11, 2018
Pros: Staff at front desk and conceige so helpful
Cons: Not use pool for party events
Location: Great access acros road to beach and running path; also farmers market one block away on saturdays and great restaurants and shopping within walking
Very friendly and accommodating staff. Was bit noisy on Super Bowl Sunday as they set up event in pool areas so noise went into all rooms and as a non football fan, not great. Otherwise top service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Posted Feb 2, 2018
It was a delightful Stay and was able to observe the eclipse of my he moon very exciting Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2018 by Hotel Shangri-La Management, Hotel Management
Dear Ness, Thank you so much for such a wonderful review and for taking the time to write! We are thrilled to read about the extraordinary experience you had at Hotel Shangri-La. We cannot wait to serve you again in the future, hopefully soon! Sincerely, Hotel Shangri-La Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2018
After some mixups in check in the high level of service and incredible ocean views helped me overlook it . Bath faucets and TV operations could be improved
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2018 by Hotel Shangri-La Management, Hotel Management
Dear Angela, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and we greatly appreciate your feedback on your stay. I am disappointed to hear that you had some issues with your stay. I sincerely apologize about the bath faucets and TV operation in your room. However, now that we are, we will rectify this immediately as that is unacceptable. We take great pride in making sure our rooms are in pristine conditions, free of any stains or blemishes. I am happy you let us know this so that we may improve upon this for our future guests. Being said, I am charmed to hear that you enjoyed our services and ocean views from your room. I hope you will take my word that we will improve upon the imperfections you expressed in your review and will look forward to seeing you again! Sincerely, Hotel Shangri-La Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Popular Hotel on the beach

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Pros: location and rooftop bar
Cons: rooms need updating
Location: great location right across from the beach
great location and friendly staff - rooms need some updating
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2018 by Hotel Shangri-La Management, Hotel Management
Dear T, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us again and we greatly appreciate your feedback on your stay. We take great pride in making sure our rooms are in pristine conditions, free of any stains or blemishes. I am happy you let us know this so that we may improve upon this for our future guests. Since this is the original Hotel Shangri-La, it does carry a rich history, dating back to 1939. It is actually considered a monument and is a highly coveted beacon of Santa Monica protected by strict laws. For this reason it bestows a classic, vintage decor achieving, rather seamlessly, a pleasant complexion of antiquity and modernity. Our rates reflect our diverse past, highbrow service, as well as our exemplary ocean views. I am charmed to hear that you enjoyed our location and rooftop bar. I hope you will take my word that we will improve upon the imperfections you expressed in your review and will look forward to seeing you again! Sincerely, Hotel Shangri-La Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Cool deco hotel but not comfortable

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Not our kind of place. It’s a wonderful old building that we stayed at 25 years ago and wanted to see again. Remodel is toward style, not comfort. No thoughtfulness with towels and soaps. High heels on shiny tile floor next door kept us awake. Generous bathroom with one soap for 3 locations and incomplete towel sets. One towel each no face cloth. Must I stop and call for every need rather than have the standard amenities available? There was more.... Friendly staff but nickle and dimed to extreme. At those rates it should have been better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2018 by Hotel Shangri-La Management, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us again. On behalf of the whole hotel, I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. Our staff is dedicated to working closely with every department to ensure seamless cooperation, and the highest standard of luxury service. I can assure that our entire front of house staff gathered this week to re-affirm our dedication to this craft of luxury service, as well as implementing new operating procedures to ensure that our guests receive the attention and assistance they desire at anytime during their stay. We certainly hope that you were otherwise able to enjoy your time with us. There is a truly relaxing and rejuvenating Shangrila experience, and more than anything we would love another opportunity to share this with you. Should you find yourself in Santa Monica again, please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly. It would be our pleasure to set up a reservation for you and your family. Until then, we are wishing you all safe travels and great days! Sincerely, Hotel Shangri-La Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Mid size hotel with everything! Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx. The review requirement is stupid.........,.....!!!!!!!!! Bbbnnnnnnnnnnnnnb
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by Hotel Shangri-La Management, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! We sincerely appreciate you taking out the time to laud us, it helps out our hotel a great deal. We are overjoyed that you had such a wonderful time with us and we hope you choose to stay with us again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Great location and super friendly staff. Love it!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2017 by Hotel Shangri-La Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for the superlative review! We sincerely appreciate you taking out the time to laud us, it helps out our hotel a great deal. We are overjoyed that you had such a wonderful time with us and we hope you choose to stay with us again! Have a great rest of your year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ponte vedra beach

Nice hotel with unique design, cool upper bar.

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Pros: Very nice
Cons: Some furniture could be replaced as for newer look
Location: Everything is close by, as beach and shopping street
We were at the hotel one night. As we were checking in, we were asked if we want some coffee or water. Enjoyed walking distance to the beach, bar upstairs. People was very friendly and welcoming. Good location to the street for shopping. Have had fresh coffee as we were leaving on early morning for our flight home. Will come back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2017 by Hotel Shangri-La Management, Hotel Management
Dear Marina, It is always outstanding to read this kind of review as it truly embodies the Shangri-La experience. Just as you couldn't praise the hotel enough, we likewise would fail miserably if we attempted to express our gratitude for such a superlative review. It seems that we shall both have to settle in our unexpressed yet teeming appreciation for each other's services. We shall eagerly anticipate your return to stay with us again in the future! Sincerely, Hotel Shangri-La Management