Ratings based on 1,822 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NM

Very Nice Hotel

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: We liked being close to the beach.
The hotel was very clean and the staff were very accommodating. We arrived early and we were allowed to check in and enjoy the pool area. Our room was clean and quite spacious. The restaurants on site were lovely.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by mc, Hotel Management
Dear Shara, Thank you for you recent stay and for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay and our services and facilities. We were especially pleased to know that you found our staff to be very accommodating. We appreciate your business and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Sean Steenson Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Top quality hotel on all levels.

Posted May 23, 2017
This hotel is an example of excellent hospitality. I couldn't fault anything really. The staff and service were brilliant. The room sizes and bathrooms, bed linen, towels and bathrobes were luxurious. The bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in. The margaritas in the bar fabulous and my friend and I had one of thhtenbest facials ever Inthr Spa.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by mc, Hotel Management
Dear Alison, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your experience. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your visit and that you found our facilities, staff and service to be excellent - thank you ! We appreciate your business and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Sean Steenson Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Beautiful beach hotel, but not 5 star

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful overall, the view and location are fabulous and I wish I had had time to use the gym/spa!
Cons: The lack of space at the pool was a bummer and the valet service was pretty disorganized.
This hotel was clean and attractive, well located, and had amenities that would make it a destination hotel - spa, gym, beach, pool, restaurant, lounge and outdoor dining. A few things make me think twice about staying there again, including the price. Our check in kept getting pushed back and, though we were told we'd be texted when the room was ready, it never came. We finally got in at 6pm. To their credit, the staff apologized and offered a food and beverage credit and a late check out (when I asked). I then received several texts making sure things were OK. We were surprised at how loud the hotel was - we could clearly hear people in adjacent rooms and knocks on other doors sounded like they were at ours! Lastly, we were surprised that the hotel pool was apparently open to the public which meant no lounges or even chairs for a number of hotel guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Experience

Posted May 17, 2017
I chose Loews for a brief decompression stay after a family event in LA. I had stayed there once before several years ago and liked the location. It has been renovated recently, and is dramatically designed by Santa Monica standards. I booked a one bedroom, oceanview suite, which was expensive, but in line with or less expensive than what I thought were comparable hotels. The suite was mid-sized, beautifully designed and laid out (It did have only a big marble shower stall - no tub - which was fine with me, but I loath baths.) I was on the 4th floor - the lobby floor - and had good views in two directions out of large shuttered windows. Which opened fully - wonderful. The hotel sits back one street from the ocean, so I assume the lower floors have blocked or partial views, though the view from the upper floors must be great. The pool was beautiful, busy in the afternoon though deserted in the morning when I used it. What struck me about my stay was the staff. In that brief stay I interacted with the parking valets (who were GREAT - quick, helpful, and polite), the desk staff, the concierge, one maid, and the serving staff. They were to a person professional, helpful, and friendly without being cloying. I watched the waiters at breakfast (which was very good if expensive, of course) deal with a messy accident by a guest quickly and very helpfully. They must have a very good management in place here who is hiring and training great staff. I was impressed.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by mc, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your experience. Needless to say, we are so very pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit. As you noted, we did recently complete a renovation of all of our guest rooms, the pool area and our Lobby so we are very happy that you found these enhancements to your liking. We appreciate your business and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you & your family back in the future. Sincerely, Sean Steenson Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Wonderful hotel and service

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Listed above.
Cons: Weather... : ))) Happened to be there during a relatively cold weather.
Great experince from the front desk (special commendation to Michele Pitre at the front desk) to room service (constantly checking and ready to fulfill the needs), to very comfortable room, beautiful beach view, outstanding firepit option at the balcony, clean heated pool, poolby service, restaurant, car vallet parking services, this place is one of the best managed hotels I have been. Enjojed our stay very much! Looking forward to going back!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by mc, Hotel Management
Dear CM, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed our services and facilities and we are especially pleased to know that Michele Pitre, Front Desk, helped to make your experience that much more memorable. We will gladly share your commendation with her. We appreciate your business and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the beach in the future. Sincerely, Sean Steenson Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Excellent Stay, Friendly Staff

Posted May 5, 2017
This was one of the best stays I have had in a hotel. The staff was very friendly and curtious. The heated pool was great and the wait staff did an excellent job. The location was very convienient being within walking distance to almost everything in the area. If you are staying in Santa Monica, I would definitely recommend you stay at Loews.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by mc, Hotel Management
Dear Matt, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities and especially that you would definitely recommend us as the place to stay in Santa Monica - Thank you ! We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the beach in the future. Sincerely, Sean Steenson Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing location!

Posted May 4, 2017
Right next to the pier, we loved this hotel as a romantic break. Walk to Venice beach, walk the pier, or just relax by the pool! Excellent gym and spa facilities too.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by mc, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed our beach front location with easy access to Venice beach and boardwalk as well as the iconic Santa Monica Pier. We look forward the opportunity of welcoming you back to the beach in the future. Sincerely, Sean Steenson Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good times

Posted May 2, 2017
Loved the location, pool, and our room. We had two service dogs and the hotel was very accommodating and dog friendly. I would highly recommend the Lowes Santa Monica to all my friends!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by m, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to rate our hotel. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Sean Steenson Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fayetteville, AR

Great property right on the beach

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Beautiful property right on the beach and walking distance from everything you would want to do or see in Santa Monica. I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by mc, Hotel Management
Dear Erik, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel and that you would stay here again. Our beach front location is indeed the perfect starting point from which to explore all that Santa Monica has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beach in the very near future - hurry back! Sincerely, Sean Steenson Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto

Great Hotel in any regard

Posted Apr 21, 2017
The Loews was recommended to us by friends that stayed there a while ago. We checked it our ourselves wit our kids (8 and 11) and were not dissatisfied at all. We definitely will be back again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by mc, Hotel Management
Dear Manfred, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit and hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely, Sean Steenson Hotel Manager