Ratings based on 1,586 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

no pool, in-house exercise, bar/lounge, parking

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: As above.
Location: Location is the only plus with this hotel.
We arrived and didn't feel the front desk staff were very helpful or accomodating. There is no pool, no in-house exerices facility, and no bar or lounge. For the price you are paying there are other hotels that offer more for the value. Don't ask for early check, cause you won't get it. If you ask for late check out, you will get 30 minute max. Parking is $30 extra per day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, Australia

Great location

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Short stay, mid week. Double room, with private balcony overlooking the ocean and Pier. Very welcoming and friendly staff. Clean room with convenient mini bar and room amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queensland Austrslia

Beach views

Posted Jul 31, 2017
This hotel offers a very clean, comfortable and friendly rest for travelers. Great location to shops, restaurants and the famous Santa Monica pier. Well priced
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tracy, CA

Not Worth It

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Fairly clean.
Cons: Bigger rooms, less noise.
Location: The Santa Monica pier is close.
The price is outrageous for what you get. Our room was so smal!! Felt like we were in a closet. Very noisy! You can hear noise from everywhere. Screeching cars in the parking lot, people talking at all hours. We could not even sit in the lobby because they were cleaning the furniture. The beach is across the street but the streets are filled with homeless sleeping everywhere. I will never stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bucks County, PA

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Hotel is close to the beach, good restaurants and shopping. Our only minor complaint was that there was no on-site restaurant. However, there were multiple restaurants within a short walk. Staff was very friendly and the hotel was very clean and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Rude Staff and Lack of Amenities

Posted Jul 10, 2017
I guess the bad experience started with the check in staff who was generally rude and difficult to understand. Upon entering our room, it smelled musty and the bathroom did not feel clean. While on our stay, they did not have beach towels for us to use. These are the same beach towels they told us would be a $20 charge each if we did not return them. We stayed at The Shore Hotel a few doors down about 2 months ago. Ocean View does not compare.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel closet to beach and pier!!!!!!

Posted Jul 4, 2017
A/C in room did not work well. Construction or window replacement happening during stay. Workers started hammering before 7am. Was a pain. Had and early morning flight and valet wasn't available. Was told I had to come down and get my own car. Wasn't happy!!!! Internet didn't work
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington

Great location, view,dissapointing

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Robes
Cons: Not booking guests next to the elevator and posting quiet signs for the maids
Location: Super great restaurants Waters grill was great then shopping a block away was outstanding
We booked a ocean view room so excited to go with my daughter two weeks before she gets married. They put us next to the elevator and the maids parked their carts outside our doors and talked loud. Then their was construction . Not told to us until we arrived. Then a dance club next door super LOuD . Then after no sleep room service knocked on our door before 8 am. I went to the lobby and complained. So expensive for a place under construction . I'm truly bummed that their was no compensation. Charging us nearly $900 for a single 2 bed room . Look carefully before you book. But the front desk was wonderful except they should have moved us and adjusted our room rate!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money

Posted Jun 21, 2017
The room was very cramped and not very clean. Dirt on the walls and ceilings and hair in the bathroom. We had a view of another building and an alley, not the ocean. WiFi was very slow. Staff was friendly. Overall, you pay a lot of money for the location. Hotel next door was $30 more per night and you got way more for your money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean comfortable walking distance to everywhere

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Very comfortable, clean room and bathroom. Walking distance to beach, shopping, and restaurants. Just what I wanted. Staff was very helpful and accommodating.