Ratings based on 1,421 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

great stay!

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Beautiful hotel, great location and friendly, attentative service
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Doug C, Hotel Management
Dear Dot, Thank you so much for your kind review and rating of our property! We are so glad to hear you had such a positive experience with us at Fairmont Miramar as well as with our talented colleagues. We certainly hope to have you back with us again very soon! All the best, Doug Conti Assistant Front Office Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Mostly underwhelming with a few bright spots.

Posted Oct 5, 2017
I setup a weekend stay-away with my wife for our 3 year. We had been to he fairmont before when we were looking for wedding venues. It was wayyyy out of our price range. So, this year for our anniversary I booked Friday and Saturday night here. I was a bit disappointed for several reasons. 1. When we checked in, the lady basically said “Card? Ok, here is your key, there is the elevator.” We did not feel welcome at all. 2. I booked a couples massage for Saturday. I wanted to confirm the appt, but when I asked the receptionist, she just said, “sorry, it’s a 3rd party, you have to go talk to them.” Which I understand, but there was no attempt to even help me confirm it as a guest at the hotel 3. I went to the Fig bar and the pool bar. That service was excellent, the staff there made great conversation, and even went above and beyond when it came to hospitality 4. Even after confirming our massage twice, they were late. I’m not 100% sure, but I think they even had to scramble to find another masseuse. They did comp us about 15%, and the massages themselves were fantastic. The locker rooms smelled moldy though. 5. Our anniversary dinner was at the Fig. I have to say that the food was not that great; it was really, really over salted. My wife was disappointed that there were no chocolate based deserts. 6. Breakfast/brunch at the Fig is amazing. Breakfast burrito and chicken shawarma are perfect
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Doug C, Hotel Management
Dear Seth, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with such a detailed review of many of our outlets here at Fairmont Miramar. We truly do appreciate feedback and use this information to improve our teams for the future. I can't apologize enough for the service you received from the front desk and Exhale Spa reception. We will absolutely be addressing these issues internally. I can assure you, this is not typical service we provide to our guests at Fairmont Miramar. Should you decide to give us another chance in the future, I am certain you will have a much improved service experience. Again, thank you very much for your valued feedback and we truly hope to have you back with us again the next time you find yourself in Santa Monica. All the best, Doug Conti Assistant Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Jermain

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: The hotel was clean, upscale in appearance, and in a good location.
Cons: Provide more clarity on the valet parking. It was not included in the cost since the service is provided by a independent company.
Location: Santa Monica Pier and the Third Street Promenade is within walking distance. Venice Beach is close by.
Jermain was the best! He was very patient with us and had a great attitude. Ask about the valet parking. It is not included in the lodging cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2017 by Doug C, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel from your past visit. We are very happy to hear you had such an overall positive experience! We will be sure to pass along the nice words you had for Jermaine - very glad to hear he was able to provide you with great service! Thank you for your comments in regard to our valet services, we will absolutely pass along your feedback. We take all feedback constructively and use it to improve for the future. We truly hope to see you again soon the next time you find yourself in "Sunny Santa Monica!" Warm regards, Doug Conti Assistant Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calfornia

Nice hotel but expensive parking

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Nice hotel close to the beach. Beach is about a 10 minute walk which is not bad at all. However for the elderly keep in mind that the path is slopey/inclined ramp. Hotel location is really good, close to beach and 3rd street promenade which is a great area for hanging out filled with restaurants and bars. Valet Parking at the hotel is convenient but pricey. One night is $55! There is a resort fee of $25 per day too. There are rooms with patios available (for extra $$) Overall if you care for a pool gym club nice restaurant etc on premises, this is a nice place to stay. Staff is polite and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2017 by Doug C, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us! We truly appreciate all feedback from our guests so we can continue to grow and improve as a whole. It does sound, however, that you had an overall positive experience with us and I am very happy to hear that! Please come see us again the next time you find yourself in "Sunny Santa Monica". Warm regards, Doug Conti Assistant Front Office Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires

Noisy and abusing extra charges

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Far to expensive for what you get. Noisy room and restaurant , really small bathroom. And they charge you50 dollars overnight parking, same fare for guests as for visitors. On top of that, 10 dollars a day for wi fi internet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2017 by Doug C, Hotel Management
Dear Vicky, Thank you very much for taking the time to fill out a survey and provide us with some constructive feedback. I will absolutely ensure these issues are addressed appropriately and work on improving for the future. I truly hope you would consider giving us another chance the next time you make your way to Santa Monica so we can better serve you and turn your experience around. All the best, Doug Conti Assistant Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by lennard

Great service makes everything else better

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
The service by everyone there was outstanding. They can't do enough for the guests. They must hire the right people and then train them very well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017
Dear Lennard, Thank you so much for your kind review and rating of our hotel! We strive to deliver top-notch service and we are very happy to hear we were able to do so for you on your past visit. I will be sure to pass your positive feedback along to the team! We hope to see you again very soon the next time you make your way to "Sunny Santa Monica!" Best regards, Doug Conti Assistant Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Great experience! Front desk staff were amazing especially Melissa who resolved my booking issue in a timely manner. I definitely recommend this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Doug C, Hotel Management
Dear Lindsay, Thank you so much for your kind words and rating of our property! I will make sure to pass your feedback along to Melissa, she truly is one of our stars here at the front desk! I am so happy to hear you had such a memorable experience with us and we hope to have you with us again very soon. All the best, Doug Conti Assistant Front Office Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They delivered nothing.

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: New management
Room was not ready at 2:00. The front desk invited us to change and use the beach cabanas. After waiting in line for 20 minutes, the cabana girl said the beach was full and to use the pool. After another line at the pool, they said pool was too full. We walked to the beach to waste time and saw that the cabanas were totally empty. The nice boys there set us up. At 4:30 we asked for a ride back to hotel but after half an hour no car showed up. After the long walk back, the room was ready but gave our complaints. The front desk offered a bottle of champagne sent to the room. We went out to dinner. The champagne never showed up so we had to call at 10pm and complain again. Total incompetence from employees at this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Doug C, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I am so sorry to hear of your experience with us and the service levels we provided you. I can assure you this is in no way indicative of the "Fairmont Experience" we are seeking to provide all our guests. We will absolutely be following up internally on all these issues and work on improving for the future. I truly hope you give us another opportunity to better serve you in the future the next time you are in Santa Monica. Warm regards, Doug Conti Assistant Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Great experience!

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Housekeeping a bit slow with requests.
Location: Best location, we go into Venice frequently, and down the PCH to Malibu. Well situated. You can walk to the Third St. Promenade and Farmer's Market.
The hotel is lovely in every respect. I enjoy the mix of old and new; seeing the references to the past with the preserved evacuation signs, old brass rails, old phones (which may be replicas but still charming), and then how tasteful and pretty the decor and updates have been done. The common areas are so comfortable. There are always people around and you feel at ease being there. The pool is a bit crowded at times. Not much space between the lounge chairs, but I realize they want to accommodate as many as possible. I like how attractive the surroundings are there, the outdoor patio of the Fig restaurant is a great feature (and has delicious offerings). The service at the pool for food and drinks is very good; they keep a good watch of who needs a chair set up, towels, and other assistance. My family enjoys the bike rental, and last time we took advantage of the beach service, another great feature. Housekeeping requests can be a bit slow, but that is my only criticism and it wasn't that troubling. All in all, a wonderful hotel. Oh, and the beds and pillows are dreamy, ha!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Doug C, Hotel Management
Dear Lynda, I can't thank you enough for such a kind and detailed review of our property! I am also very happy to hear you had such a memorable vacation with us here at Fairmont Miramar. It seems as if you were able to try many of our various outlets at the hotel and get the full experience we are seeking to provide all our guests. In regards to the service request time issues with our Housekeeping department, we will be sure to follow up internally. We are a constantly improving hotel and feedback like this is how we get better! Thank you again for your valued feedback and review and we look forward to seeing you back with us here in "Sunny Santa Monica" very soon! All the best, Doug Conti Assistant Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Super staff at hotel--from registration to hotel restaurants. Will look to come back to this hotel and recommend for location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Doug C, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you so much for your kind words about our team here at Fairmont Miramar! I am very happy to hear you had such a positive experience with us and we hope to have you back again very soon. I will be sure to pass along your positive feedback with the team! All the best, Doug Conti Assistant Front Office Manager