Ratings based on 1,434 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Staycation

Posted Jan 15, 2018
It was fun and relaxing. Facilities were above adequate and Everything was accessible. Great location. The only bummer was that one of the most expensive oceanview rooms was right above a very loud bar that stayed open until 1 AM. Managed to fall asleep but wasn’t the relaxing environment that we had hoped for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Enjoyed the Fairmont

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: Close to shopping, good restaurants nearby, excellent brunch at the hotel. Once were were there and Bill Clinton was also there during his presidency.
Cons: Very little could be improved. My dad said the pancakes were the best in L.A.
Location: It is close to the Santa Monica Pier, Mall, and California Incline. It is only a few blocks from the surf.
The hotel is close to my parents, quiet, convenient to local restaurants and shops all by walking. It is expensive, but good value for the area. It is noisy on Friday and Saturday night downstairs, but it doesn't seem to effect the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location, close to beach

Posted Jan 7, 2018
We really enjoyed our stay at the Fairmont. The staff were very helpful and the service was excellent. I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2018 by Doug C, Hotel Management
Dear Betty, Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our staff and hotel during your recent visit with us! We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and hope to remain your top hotel choice while visiting Santa Monica! All the best, Doug Conti Assistant Front Office Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Terrible experience !

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: Leaving the hotel was the only comfort.
This was suppose to be a special experience, end of the year, new years eve. First, We had to wait 2 hours to be checked in, therefore no time to relax and enjoy. Second, we paid a huge price of over $600 per night for a very, very ordinary room. The room was smallish, more like a motel6. We ordered a view room to the ocean (and SM pier), we did get a view room, toward the yard and it's trees. Third, as a hotel guest you expect to have access to a decent restaurant, not here. Busy with new years eve events, so no access for hotel guests, just a lobby bar. Very bad impression from Fairmont, i expected a premier hotel (based on the price), as I said, this was barely good enough for a motel 6. No consideration from the hotel for anything ! We will never again book a room with Fairmont, and we will tell as many people as possible about our experience. Uwe Steuernagel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2018 by Doug C, Hotel Management
Dear Uwe, Thank you very much for providing us with feedback from your recent stay here at Fairmont Miramar. We will be sure to share your concerns with upper management and we are very sorry for the experience you had on your time here with us. With many moving parts on New Year's Eve, we tried to make every effort to accommodate our guests and also provide a exciting atmosphere for the occasion. We are very sorry if this was not the case for your stay. If you would like to discuss further or give us another chance, please feel free to call in and speak with a manager on duty and we can make sure your next stay with us is a much different experience. All the best, Doug Conti Assistant Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Staff is top notch...but rooms so-so

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Very small room and the layout doesn’t take advantage of the ocean view. You basically have to go out on the balcony to see it. We also were on he side of the NYE party and weren’t informed that the music would billow up 10 levels and sound like it was right next door even with slider closed. We had some noisy kids next door and housekeeping on the other side so all in all not the best situation. The staff was great but for $600+ night I’d go for no view room which may be better. Bath way too small!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2018 by Doug C, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, Thank you very much for providing us with these details on your recent visit at The Miramar. I am very sorry to hear your stay wasn't as enjoyable as it could have been. We will be sure to look into these issues and inform upper management of your concerns as well. We do hope to be able to welcome you back with us so we can provide a true Fairmont experience that our guests have grown so accustomed to. Again, thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to constantly improve our product and service and we hope to welcome you back again very soon! All the best, Doug Conti Assistant Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Good location

Posted Jan 1, 2018
Pros: location and pleasant staff
Cons: Attention to details to prevent problems described above.
Location: Near the beach on Ocean Avenue and several restaurants within walking distance
Great location and nice staff, but I had several problems. My return flight was delayed so I asked for one hour extended check out, but the receptionist declined with no explanation. The windows in the room were not closed from prior guests and one was jammed open, so I had to change rooms to block out the nose for sleeping. The bathroom did not have a vent. The lobby restaurant was extremely loud from blasting music like in a dance club, so it was impossible to to talk to friends. Housecleaning missed crushed beer cans from a prior guest. The tv locked up and stopped working, so maintenance had to come up for repairs. This should be a nice hotel, but it needs better management and attention to details as described above.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2018 by Doug C, Hotel Management
Dear Dave, Thank you very much for providing us with these extremely helpful details regarding your recent visit with us. I want to profusely apologize for the experience you had while staying with us, I can assure you this is not a typical Fairmont experience at our hotel. I sincerely hope you plan on staying with us in the future so we can ensure a much improved overall hotel stay. Again, thank you very much for providing us with the opportunity to learn and grow from these important details. We hope to welcome you back very soon! Warm regards, Doug Conti Assistant Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2017
The hotel staff is friendly and courteous, but be aware of private car trips recommended by some valets as they overcharge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2017 by Doug C, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you very much for your kind rating of our property and constructive feedback as well. I sincerely apologize if a member of our valet staff misguided you with recommendations for a private car trip, we will certainly be following up with our team. I am happy to hear, however, that you did enjoy your stay with us overall and we hope to welcome you back again with us the next time you find yourself in "Sunny Santa Monica!" Warm regards, Doug Conti Assistant Front Office Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

2-star hotel condition

Posted Dec 27, 2017
dark room, inconvinient valet parking, out of date room. It’s a 3-star hotel, only good thing is location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2017 by Doug C, Hotel Management
Dear Rose, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback from your most recent visit with us at Fairmont Miramar. I am very sorry to hear we did not provide you with a more positive experience and enjoyable stay in Santa Monica. We will absolutely take your feedback whole-heartedly and use this information constructively. However, I sincerely hope you do choose to stay with us again the next time you are in town so we can show you our true "Fairmont Experience" so many of our guests have grown to love over the years. Wishing you a wonderful weekend and upcoming holiday. Warm regards, Doug Conti Assistant Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K.S.A

Posted Nov 25, 2017
A very sophisticated place and everything is organized
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2017 by Doug C, Hotel Management
Dear Mohammed, Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your recent visit with us here at Fairmont Miramar! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Doug Conti Assistant Front Office Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Geneva

Old hotel by the beach

Posted Nov 20, 2017
The hotel is dated terrible view from the so called ocean front suite
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Doug C, Hotel Management
Dear Mauro, Thank you very much for your valued feedback. I am very sorry to hear we weren't able to provide you with a true Fairmont experience on your most recent visit. I can assure you, with over 20 room types on property, there is absolutely a room that would be more to your liking. I truly hope you give us another chance to make this right for you the next time you find yourself in Santa Monica. All the best, Doug Conti Assistant Front Office Manager