Ratings based on 1,364 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Top Hotel in the Area

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Never disappoints - great staff and service... Better facilities than any other hotel in the area... Great location...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Cons: Need to honor check in time. Waited 2 hours for check in.
Nice hotel but did not have rooms ready for timely check in.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas Texas

Close to the beach is about all for this hotel.

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Staff thought nothing of us waiting 2 hours after checkin to get our room, which had been reserved for months. Attitude was the worst. Housekeeping took all that was used from our room and never replaced them! Service in the 2 restaurants were just as bad. Had stayed here once before and it was awesome; too bad it has changed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silicon Valley, CA

Excellent location, tiny rooms, terrible valet

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: This hotel has an excellent location, very close to the promenade where there are many stores, restaurants, and nightlife. Close to the beach.
Cons: Needs better more honest valet workers, friendlier employees willing to help any hotel guest, and more seating at the pool.
Location: Third street promenade nearby, beach nearby. easy driving distance to Venice, Hollywood, Universal during non-traffic hours.
We stayed several nights. First, the hotel has an incredible location, ten minute walk over a bridge to the beach and two blocks from 3rd street promenade. However, the rooms, while clean, and the pool are extremely small. On the weekend when the pool was crowded, there was no place to sit. The attendant would put names on the waitlist, but they were never adhering to the waitlist and never watching for open pool seats, so we had to look out for rare seats in the shade. Be forewarned- inspect your car closely-- The valet company, while employees are polite, scratched the left front of our 1 1/2 year old car- there is a large mark where the valet obviously hit something and paint scratched off. Unfortunately, we had already left the hotel by the time we saw it. Also, the hotel offers "beach club" on weekends- while it is nice to have a shaded seat, the young female beach attendant would not give us three chairs despite our reservation being made for three people. There were other families with four chairs, yet, even though there were three of us, she ignored my request for a third beach chair and walked away, ignoring us the rest of the time we were on the beach. Also, while the car service to the beach is nice, we were told the wait was over thirty minutes to drive back to the hotel (we ended up walking as it is a quick 5 to 10 minute walk back). The hotel also charges excessively for valet ($46/day), internet (basic is $9.99/day), & $25 daily fee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Nice Hotel with Great Views

Posted Aug 7, 2017
I am enjoyed my stay at this hotel but there were a few things I did not like. 1) Valet was expensive - $50+ a day. 2) There shouldn't be full size beds at this hotel. I traveled with 3 others and we shared a room with 2 beds and they were full size. At this hotel, I wouldn't expect that. 3) Lastly, the shower seemed old and had no pressure. The bottom of the tub would fill when showering. Other than that, I really enjoyed my stay here. All the accommodations (pool, gym, restaurant, bar, concierge) were lovely. I received excellent service when requested. I ended up parking my rental close by in the parking garage where the maximum was only $17.50 a day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2017
A good place to stay in SM. Friendly stuff. Good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Probably THE Best in Santa Monica! FIG Is amazing!

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: The pool, restaurant and room views have to be the best part about our stay at the Fairmont. The hotel staff was very accommodating!
Cons: Bigger beds in the rooms
Location: Everything was right at your fingertips, perfect location!!
Everything was very clean and the hotel had wonderful amenities. We were very pleased with the quality of food and service at the FIG restaurant as well as the Bungalow for drinks! The staff was friendly and they helped us throughout our stay. May favorite part had to be our balocony with ocean and pool views! We didn't have any trouble getting around Santa Monica - everything was so close! (Also, a very convenient Uber ride away from the airport, LA and Malibu). Overall, it was an excellent experience, I will definitely go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Great Hotel with excellent vibe; the restaurant breakfast was excellent, the bar had great drinks, not to mention the fish tacos, probably the best ever. The best location; beach access, shopping at The Promenade, and walking distance from crazy Venice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Doug Conti, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you so much for your kind words and rating of our property! We are so happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us here at Fairmont Miramar and were able to take advantage of our great location in sunny Santa Monica! I will happily pass along your great feedback about the fish tacos and food & beverage service. We hope to see you again very soon! Doug Conti Assistant Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Very attentive and accommodating staff. Very good facilities and comfortable and clean rooms
Location: Amazing restaurants, the beach and good shopping all within walking distance
Very impressive hotel with the expected level of service for a 5 star hotel. However, we were impressed with the attentiveness of the staff and how they went out of their way to help us and make our first stay in LA a very enjoyable experience. We would definitely come and stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Doug Conti, Hotel Management
Dear Sheena, Thank you very much for your kind feedback and rating of our property! I am happy to share your comments with our team as this will serve as positive reinforcement for their hard work every day. Please come see us again soon here in sunny Santa Monica! Doug Conti Assistant Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleased and refreshing

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Had the best weekend get away ever!! This hotel provided everything I needed and more, the staff were the best and very accommodating! Great location, and this hotel offers great amenities. Took a ride on scooters for the first time down to Venice beach! Great restaurants and shopping walking distance! I well definitely be back to visit!