Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, Pa

Friendly and helpful staff.

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the closeness to the beach. The room prices were very affordable for this area.
Cons: The maintenance and upkeep of the rooms could be better.
Location: It is as close to the beach as any other hotel in the area. It is also near bike rentals, restaurants and shopping areas.
My wife and I enjoyed biking along the beach on the well maintained bike paths. We also enjoyed being close to the beach, Santa Monica pier and the 3rd street Promenade, where you can find many restaurants, shops and street performers.
5 out of 5
by tessa from apple valley, ca

GREAT

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels
the staff had energy, fun and kept the vibe positive throughout the entire experience. You can't beat the location either!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

INCREDIBLE STAFF (AARON) ... CLOSE TO BEACH

Posted Jul 8, 2014
SERVICE FROM AARON MAY HAVE BEEN THE BEST I HAVE RECEIVED FROM ANYONE EVER!!! HE WAS FACED WITH A FEW SITUATIONS IN MY CASE WHERE HE COULD HAVE WAIVERED, BUT EVERY SINGLE TIME HE WENT THE EXTRA MILE WITHOUT MY ASKING OR INITIATING ... HARD TO FIND TODAY! CLOSE TO STREET SO PRETTY LOUD UP UNTIL 1AM ... NOISE IS PRIMARILY FROM CARS ... ALTHOUGH ROOMS ARE SO CLOSE TOGETHER AT TIMES YOU THINK SOMEONE IS TRYING TO GET IN YOUR ROOM, HOWEVER THEY ARE JUST SO CLOSE IT SOUNDS LIKE THEY ARE AT YOUR DOOR. VERY CLOSE TO BEACH ... FROM HOTEL DOOR TO FIRST STEP IN THE SAND ... PROBABLY ABOUT 100 STEPS!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pip from NZ

Great location.

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Friendly helpful staff made this quaint hotel a great stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by becky from Cleveland

Excellent, close to beach

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Hotel was in a perfect location, and room decor was great! Hidden gem that is affordable! Bathroom is small but the skylight and ocean breezeare wonderful!
3 out of 5
by Sallie from San Diego

No Parking at Hotel California

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels
The biggest problem was parking. There is nearly none. The front desk person said I could pay $14 to park across the street with no in and out privileges or down the street at another hotel for $38 with full in and out privileges. I investigated and found that I could pay for short term parking across the street or $14 for 24 hours. When I pointed that out to him the next day he said , "That is up to our guests to discover." He said his boss wouldn't allow him to tell guests about the short term parking. It was noisy at night but really it's all about location and the location was great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Suezette from perth

Great location,great staff

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, pizza rest on corner. Décor was funky.
On first impression, not so great but soon changed. Great location, fabulous staff, lovely breakfast. No air con, but we were in an unexpected heat wave, still comfortable. Parking VERY expensive at front but can park across the road. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Dave from Maryland

Great hotel in EXCELLENT location

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed here prior to a cruise the next day. When we arrived at about 2p, our room was ready and waiting for us. Very comfortable room, with a surf board headboard, and movie posters on the wall. The Hotel California was located very clo0se to the Santa Monica Pier, which we enjoyed visiting. There was also a park across the street, which was very lovely and we visited on the day of our departure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

recent stay

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: location
Location: so close to santa monica pier and the beach, fantastic.
cute little hotel, comfy room, great location, super friendly staff