Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Duarte, CA

Beautiful old hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Beautiful old hotel. Dogs welcome for $10 each per night. Three floors but no elevator. You will have to drag your suitcases and your stuff up to your room. But the rooms are elegant and the ambience is wonderful. Live piano music on the weekends. Fabulous restaurant. Be sure to try the brussel sprouts. Bring a book and enjoy a big fireplace. If you have dogs they have a dining area set aside where you can eat with your dogs. Loved it here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Kenny, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback! We hope to see you again sometime soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tacoma

Such a beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
We loved the hotel, and the staff was incredibly helpful and very pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Kenny, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the kind review! We greatly appreciate it! :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield

Very cute hotel!

Posted Aug 21, 2017
We loved everything. Staff is very helpful, Italian restaurant is very testy; hotel is very unique.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Kenny, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the kind review! We greatly appreciate it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Historic tutor hotel suprise

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Authentic decor, nice staff
Location: Hotel is several blocks from the freeway exit, a little difficult to find. I'm sure Santa Paul is a nice town, but honestly, nothing exciting.
Hubby and I needed a place to stay between Pismo Beach and San Diego. Location and price was right so we booked, and we're glad we did. Hotel is the grandest in Santa Paula and with a fun history. I highly recommend the limoncello cake at Enzo's Italian Restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for review. Santa Paula is a great location for those traveling north or south of the area. Great central location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Santa Paula

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: The lobby was a nice place to gather. the building architect had old time charm about it.
Cons: Update bedroom carpet looked dirty and wrinkled. updated your air conditioning system. Put screens on bedroom windows. Deducted more money off bill.
Location: a short drive to near by beach cities and attractions
The staff was friendly and nice, which I really appreciated. The air condition went out in my room. although they gave me a portable fan in my room, it was loud and very HOT! There was no screens for the windows so I could not keep it open, I didn't want bugs flying in.I would have like to have more deducted off room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KY

Nice historic haunted hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Nice and clean. Air-conditioning units are turned off during the day, so when you enter your room, it is very hot. Rooms take a long time to cool off.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Old hotel (rooms in need of updating)

Posted Jun 30, 2017
We stayed at this Hotel for one night . It's a lovely old hotel with a lot of antique furnishings which is actually really nice . The staff is really lovely and very helpful . The room however ( 209) is in need of being updated . Scuff marks all over the walls , curtains are very old and tacky . The window if your not careful could take someone's fingers off as it just slams down if your wanting to close it . So be careful with that one !! The bathroom has a jacuzzi tub and I habe to be honest I haven't and would not have used it . It looks as though it was really dirty but after closer inspection we seen the bath and the tiles were painted which actually made it look dirty . There was no metal surroundings where your plug goes to keep water either just a plug !! The towels were supposed to be white but were really grey ! The carpet was not the cleanest either in the room. The coffee machine only worked if you kept your finger on the switch until your percolated coffee was ready which is a little odd . No breakfast during the week , which would have been nice . The from door gets locked around 9.00 pm latest 9:30 and you can only get out via the back door which has a key pad . Only emergency staff ( 1 person ) on in the hotel over night . Which to us wasn't a problem . Bed was comfortable . Overall hotel is lovely ( room not so much )
4 out of 5
by John

Quaint and cozy

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Nice, cozy hotel with Italian restaurant connected. Food was delicious. Room was decent but after 9:30 doors close and front desk leaves until 8 in the morning. I found out the hotel is supposedly haunted but I didn't see any ghost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Kenny, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the kind review! We greatly appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tacoma WA

A true classic

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: This hotel is in old town Santa Paula, what a neat little place to walk around and explore
My hubby and I loved all of the antique furniture and how they have brought all of the beauty back to this historic hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Kenny, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the kind review! We greatly appreciate patronage and hope to see you some time in the futue!
4 out of 5
by Victoria

Pleasant stay

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
Very helpful staff, nice restaurant on site.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017 by Kenny, Hotel Management
Thank you. We hope to see you again.