Ratings based on 799 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Construction

Posted Aug 10, 2017
The construction was irksome but tolerable, except for parking. All the parking with reasonable access to the rooms was temporarily blocked off for valet parking. It was never more than a quarter full. Self parking was fifty yards across rugged gravel to a bulldozed lot. Although there were pole lamps, they were not lit. We returned from a late dinner to park in the dark, which turned total once we turned our auto lights out. We had to negotiated the irregularities and larger rocks walking across the parking lot with smart phone illumination. Several other parties came or went during our walk, each grumbling to themselves while trying not to sprain an ankle. The hotel should have consigned the valets rather than the guests to walk the path in the dark; at least they would be familiar with the terrain, as well as younger and more agile than the guests. In defense of hotel management, valet parking was free. However, we keep a variety of moderately valuable items in our car which are cumbersome to haul up to our room every night. I have read or scene online or on TV a number of articles on the incidence of pilferage by valets and the stories all concluded that pilferage is a major problem. I am sure this hotel will be a fine place to stay once the construction is completed, just not now.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Solihull, UK

Hotel in a good central position

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Position centrally in town
Cons: It might be nice when the building work is finished - est. 2018
Location: Centrally placed you can walk to the mall, Railroad Square (good coffee and friendly tourist office) etc.
Significant building programme means rough temporary car park and building work views from many windows. Bedrooms have no information in them ( facilities etc) and no storage for clothes, we lived out of our suitcases for four days. Room was well made up each day. There is a pool though we were told otherwise on checking in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Close to downtown & good food. Hotel was being renovated which took away from it a bit. Rooms were nice, clean, & beds were comfortable. Bathroom was a bit small & lots of homeless people close to hotel. Other then that, overall I'd recommend to friends. Nothing else to add
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is under construction/renovation

Posted Jul 7, 2017
The hotel is under construction/renovation so access was extremely limited and restaurant closed. It is not a good time to visit unless you don't mind construction going on during your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Extremely convenient to downtown but still relaxed

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Much nicer than expected for overnight business stay, I was able to relax and enjoy amenities that were unique to this facility - large pool and spacious pool deck area, draped at its edges with grape vines, wisteria and ivy, with exceptionally helpful and pleasant hotel staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los altos,ca

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: cleaness
Cons: green garden, gym
Location: convenience to downtown
under construction for expansion project - noise temporary gym facility -poor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange, CA

I will stay here again!

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: I like the style and design of this hotel
Cons: I was surprised by the $10 fee to self park.
I was pleased all around. I will stay here again the next time I come to town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Under Construction

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Neither Expedia nor the hotel's own website mentioned this property is under significant construction. While the room was nice and remodeled recently, this was eclipsed by the construction noise and the fact that the property's restaurant was closed. And the hotel continued to charge full rates for everything, from the makeshift breakfast buffet (held in a conference room) to even charging for parking. This property should fess up and provide notice before people book about the construction and offer discounted rates- if they did this, it would have been a fine experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Clemente Ca

Very Happy - but lots of construction.

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Comfort, location, very friendly staff!!
Cons: working elevator
Location: great walking trail, but lots of homeless people
We loved the Hotel and its location, we were in a the part of the hotel that is not remodeled, as you walk the halls it is obvious that part of the hotel is remodeled but we were in the old carpeting non-working elevator part which was a bit of a bummer but overall we loved the hotel and would happily return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel poorly managed

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Just about everything.
Location: Downtown Santa Rosa, with a few small restaurants nearby and a 10-minute walk to central square.
The only good thing about this hotel is its location, within easy walking distance of courthouse square and the few restaurants in Santa Rosa. Otherwise, the hotel seems to be resting on its laurels. Construction meant everything was closed or unavailable, and there was no information of any kind in the room (local area, hotel amenities, etc.). More troubling, there was no creamer in the room for the otherwise nice Starbucks coffee. I went to the front desk asking for creamer, a gentleman went off to find some, and 15 minutes later returned to say he could find no creamer. Literally 5 minutes later, I found the hotel put out its lobby coffee with ... carafes of half-and-half, milk, etc. We had to ask for housekeeping to clean our room at 4:00 p.m., and they gave us 3 decafs and didn't replace the shower amenities. Seemingly silly complaints, but we had so many other odd experiences like this, as if the hotel staff were all brand new. My sense is that this place is just poorly managed. For location, it's fine. For a relaxing weekend in wine country, choose somewhere else, like the Marriott across the street, which has the same locational benefits.