Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Beth from Surrey

Beautiful bohemian getaway

Posted Apr 20, 2015 on Hotels
The staff are lovely and were very helpful in helping me organise my day. The hotel is remote so be prepared for taxi/bus expenses to get anywhere. My only negative is the loud music from the restaurant on the Friday night - the music reverberates through the walls so I was kept awake. And there is a buzzer on the lift that can be heard very loudly in the room I was staying in. Both these things contributed to a very bad nights sleep. However the breakfast is delicious and WiFi is good.
3 out of 5
by Stefan from Sofia, Bulgaria

Can't call it exactly a hotel, but it's charming

Posted Apr 17, 2015 on Hotels
Of course, you could call it bad luck, but when I arrived in 7:30pm from a 20-hour journey, there was no water in the hotel (until 6:10am the next morning) and 30 minutes later the hotel was left without internet too - until next evening. Unbelievably bad experience in that sense... Adding the unbelievably noisy air conditioner and the fact you could here all sounds from the connected room (you can guess what they were, even though I wonder how could one engage in s*x in a hot summer night when you don't even have water), you could call this a nightmare - but in the end I don't remember it like this 2-3 weeks later... And that's because this place is unique. Located in a late 18th century house, built on a very steep slope, you enter Casa Amarelo through a long corridor dug in the rock, from where you enter an early 20th century Swiss elevator, which takes you to the reception floor. From there you have access to the rooms, which are located on several levels accessible by outdoor stairs. The view to downtown Rio is great (no view to Christ the Redeemer statue, though) and the neighbourhood is old, quiet and charming - and also safe. I am not sure if I want to stay in this exact hotel again due to the level of comfort, but I definitely don't regret being there once, because it's an experience you can't have in a normal hotel. Would definitely recommend it for a short stay, but for more than 2 nights - no.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Unique and one of a kind experience in Rio

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel is magical. The architecture, subtle design choices, grounds and unique art choices blend in beutifully with the age and era of this grand house. All the guest rooms are individually designed with great care to ensure guest comfort. You get the feeling you are the only guests in this small boutique hotel. The staff is eager to assist you in a dignified and elegant manner. couple of small details could be improved. The quality of breads served for breakfast could be improved and housekeeping could be a little more thorough in ensuring dust is cleared from the rooms. Other than that this hotel experience is top notch, unique and I was thrilled with my stay!
4 out of 5
by Charles from Dublin

lovely place in great area for a night out

Posted Nov 13, 2014 on Hotels
I only staid there for one night but the staff was very helpful and chilled out( what to visit, airport transfer etc...) the room had a fair size and was clean. this house is very nice with a good interior design.
5 out of 5
by madamschat from New York NY

Magical place

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels
We loved our stay at the Casa Amarelo. Were transported to a truly special part of Rio, that we would have missed if we hadn't stayed there. The hotel is elegant and understated and had everything we needed and many things we hadn't expected. Go! (WE had been concerned that the location was too removed from the rest of the city but very easy to get to the subway, taxis and buses.)
4 out of 5
by Gardiner

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels
I had a fantastic experience here. Stayed here for one night on my way out of Rio after a business trip and it was a lovely oasis, compared to my stay in Ipanema on the way in. The staff was wonderful and the property is beautiful. I'd love to come back on vacation. I found the Santa Teresa neighborhood to be very interesting to walk around. The location high up may be inconvenient if I were trying to get all around the city, but it was conveniently close to the SDU airport and there were plenty of restaurants choices and things to do there. The room was very comfortable. Highly recommend, especially given the value compared to hotels in the Ipanema or Copacabana area, if you're looking for a comfortable place to stay and don't mind being farther from the beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay

Posted Mar 4, 2014
We stayed here for one night over carnaval and were able to walk to and from the sambadrome (and felt safe) The staff were fantastic, so lovely, friendly and welcoming, it was like going to stay with family!! The building itself is quite unusual as it's an old colonial building and you enter via a tunnel and old school elevator. The rooms were clean and tidy and had been decorated well, but obviously as this is an old building, we were able to hear people in the next room very clearly and also people walking about in the room above us. However, the bed was really comfortable and a great shower. We ordered room service, which I wouldn't recommend. We had panninis and they were really dry and resembled the food we had got on the plane. Breakfast wasn't included in the rate and based on the food we had, we didn't think it was worth it. The pool was clean and the garden area was lovely. And the seating areas in the reception were comfortable. I would recommend this place, but maybe not the best for light sleepers
5 out of 5
by Kathryn L. from Los Angeles, California

Enchanted Casa Amarelo

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels
Our stay at Casa Amarelo was a highlight during our trip to Brazil. A visual feast for the eyes, high in the hills of bohemian St. Teresa with stunning vistas of Rio, rooms that are enticing making you not want to leave them as they're exquisitely decorated. The staff is very attentive taking care of our every needs. Especially Lucia who stayed late one evening to personally look after us. So helpful, warm and friendly. We take away fond memories from our sojourn at Casa Amarelo, and we will never forget this remarkable experience.
4 out of 5
by Paco

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2013 on Hotels