Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Situated in a nice peaceful part of Rio

Posted Sep 15, 2016
The staff were amazing and would bend over backwards to help with anything. Loved the place
5 out of 5
by Julia from Tauranga, New Zealand

St Teresa hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2016 on Hotels
A unique boutique hotel that was picturesque and very hospitable. I enjoyed my stay immensely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This is a wonderful, if unusual type of hotel.

Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Staff are wonderful. Very kind and helpful, and speak excellent English.
Cons: Well, I guess one could ask for a big TV in the room, and a mini bar etc., but this is a different kind of place, and it might make it too "standard".
Location: Santa Teresa is a beautiful place to walk around in. Such wonderful city views.
Came here for business, but the two nights I had booked felt like I was on holiday. Breakfast is served outside on this wonderful balcony. You just have to enjoy the view. It doesn't feel like a normal hotel; it's more like a small museum running a bed and breakfast.
4 out of 5
by joshua from Miami

Beautiful GEM your going to love it !

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels
Its a home away from home, gives you access and perspective for another part of RIO loved the place simple nice and very nice hosts, only thing missing and only part of time is A/C which can get warm during summer, wonderful deck beautiful views, it is a place leaving with you the feeling of wanting to come back, very personal - recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great hotel in the centre of Santa Teresa

Posted Dec 23, 2014
We had a lovely stay at hotel castelinho38. It is well located in a safe area and just short walk away to the bars and shops in Santa Teresa. The hotel has good facilities, nice breakfast and bar and great views of Rio. The staff are wonderful and are very helpful, their English is excellent. The manager is so kind he encouraged us to use the spare shower room after we went to the beach on our last day as we had a late night flight. The only problem we had (which wasn't the hotels fault) was that every taxi we took back did not know the area and it cost more we don't know if this was a scam or they genuinely didn't know but it's best to confirm the address and directions in advance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia.

Charming Castelinho38

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: My room was spacious, clean and comfortable. This place is more like a guest house than a hotel. Breakfast was on the large balcony overlooking Rio.
Cons: The hand basin in the bathroom was starting to come away from the wall; it needed a permanent fix.
Location: A very hilly historic location within a jumble of streets; I would never have found it without a good taxi driver. Good choice of restaurants nearby.
I had three nights in mid September staying in Rio de Janeiro at Castelinho38 and was really happy there. Olindo and his staff were friendly and helpful. Olindo helped me choose the best tours to get the most out of my two short days in Rio and I was very happy with those choices. He also organised a taxi driver friend to take me at a very early hour to the airport when I was leaving, so if I was going there again I would have him organise the same friendly driver to pick me up from the airport.
5 out of 5
by Bjorn from Stavanger

Best experience in Rio

Posted Dec 4, 2014 on Hotels
I had high hopes for Castelinho and I must say that they didn't disappoint. If you stay here you will meet a very helpful and friendly staff. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. The view of the city from the balcony where you eat breakfast is breathtaking, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff seems to take pride in hotel where they work. Piled on top of this is a price per night that is very cheap considering that you are in Rio, a quite expensive city. The neighbourhood is also among the most interestig i Rio. Enjoy your stay at Castelinho and make sure to pay a visit to Rustico, a nearby restaurant with great atmosphere and mouthwatering dishes.
5 out of 5
by Douglas from Chapel Hill, NC, USA

Wonderful Hotel in Santa Teresa area of Rio

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent room, fantastic host, good price. Delicious breakfasts on the city-view terrace, with fresh local tropical fruits, breads, spreads, and eggs made to order. Olindo, the owner, made every guest feel special. The neighborhood is colorful and felt safe to us (despite some other reviews of the Santa Teresa area). The street is a bit off the beaten path, so taxis sometimes had to ask directions, but it was a short walk to the main streets, and to the bus to get to the Metro (if you want to save the 10-15 minute walk to the Metro). Santa Teresa is centrally located, so pretty convenient for tourism. If we come to Rio again, we'll stay at Castelinho38.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

unique hotel in brilliant position

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Position, staff, the whole ambiance
Cons: Probably much but should be left alone !!
Location: Close to centre of Santa Teresa with interesting walks etc.
We had two days at this hotel it was good fun . Staff really helpful. Laid on a simple but really tasty buffet breakfast You must order scrambled eggs excellent ! Room is very basic but clean with a bathroom that is antique but good fun. Its position at top of hill makes views of Rio a real treat. This was an introduction to Brasil and it set the scene we loved it
5 out of 5
by David from USA

Best hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel was such a pleasure to come and stay at. It is in an amazing location, just a stones throw from the delightful Santa Teresa. The staff go above and beyond to make sure that you have everything you need. Olindo not only brought me food when the kitchen was closed, but he also came with an umbrella when my taxi arrived and literally gave me the coat from his back when I needed to get some food and I had lost mine. The breakfast and terrace are amazing. I highly recommend this hotel.