Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

To get a feel of the real Rio!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The staff all helpful guys with a genuine interest in you! The price is fair for what you get (it does it's job) It's located where you have no choice but to go native which if that's what you want it's ideal, never judge a book by its cover! The people are really nice round there but ask about dodgy parts nearby? (no jewellery or expense items sunglasses or bags) The only people you'll impress round there will be a thief The beach Rd is an 8 min walk over a couple of busy rds but once your on it it's a different world of runners cyclists skateboarders or.people out for a stroll, you can mooch all the way to copacabana if you like GET the uber app it's well handy and there is a chance you'll get cleaned out at the airport
Cons: It does what it says on the tin so not going to slate it
Location: There are a few bars and food gaffs and other areas You can walk taxi too but if your after a mad one on your door step? probably not the place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Exceeded expectations!

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Just had a wonderful three nights here. The service from the front desk and the catering staff was very friendly and personable. I was upgraded without having to ask. The location is great in an authentic Rio neighbourhood of Gloria. I'd happily return here on my next visit to Rio.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

If you are looking for a basic hotel this is fine.

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Basic city hotel laid out on 4 floors. There is no lift. You go in on the 3Rd floor. The breakfast is simple but adequate. The reception staff speak a good level of English and are helpful. The basic rooms are just that. Basic. The rooms have TV and air conditioning but the bathrooms are tiny, but you get what you pay for. Good wifi.
4 out of 5
by Timothy from Liverpool

Does exactly what is says on the tin

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
Solid but nothing special. Breakfast was good. Staff were fairly friendly. The 'basement' downstairs rooms lack natural light but a minor quibble really. Shower was fine as well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

safe neighborhood

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
The room do not have direct sunlight and are small. Kitchen stuff are great.The neighborhood is good and safe And is close to metro Gloria.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was ok for the price

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: Low price and staff
Cons: Thorough cleaning of the walls, tiles and floors in the bathroom
Location: Great location in the Gloria neighborhood. Lots of bars and restaurants nearby with neighborhood people socializing on the sidewalks
This is a very budget type hotel. The rooms are very small and basic. The bathroom is very tiny and there was mold on the tiles. The room itself was very clean but the lack of cleaning attention in the bathroom is a major negative. That said the staff was great as was the location. Loved the neighborhood
4 out of 5
by Richard from Sydney

Excellent Service

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
The front desk organised the Statue and Sugarloaf tour at a substantial discount to what I would have got online. Also they booked a taxi to the airport for 4:30am and I only paid 50 Reals. Supermarket is 150 metres away. Gloria Metro station 300 metres, though I never used it. Security and 24 hour desk are handy. Good breakfast with bread, ham, coffee and large sized orange juice glasses, though I would have preferred cereal to be available.
5 out of 5
by Christopher from Washington DC

My review of Hotel Monte Castelo & Lapa

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
My main stay was in Copacabana from Fri-mon. But I was arriving in Rio on a Thursday so i needed somewhere to stay for cheap for one day. I booked Hotel Monte Castelo because it was extremely affordable ($36 a night) with good reviews. The hotel staff are super friendly and helpful. I was a little skeptical before arriving, not knowing how the local people would actually be. I was shocked to find out that the people of Rio are very nice, helpful, and full of life. This is the perfect hotel to stay at if you want to be right in the middle of a cultural location away from Copacabana. The staff are great, the area is filled with bars (like most of Rio) that are owned and operated by local people. I really fell in love with Lapa after my stay here. I would highly recommend this to the single traveler who is maybe going from place to place. All of the reviews with people praising this hotel for the friendly staff/vibrant area are exactly true. At night time it does look a little sketchy, but you will be shocked to find out that as bad as it may look at night, there is no need to be afraid. I walked a few blocks down the road to a bar/food joint and the people were all great. Here in america when you see a bad looking area, most likely you will run into bad/rude people. But here in Rio, when you see bad looking areas you will run into amazing people. Its something different about the people of Rio, they seem to cherish family, friends, and their community.
3 out of 5
by watchareeporn from NYC

Good overall

Posted Jul 4, 2015 on Hotels
It's a quick trip for Rio. Room itself is small which is I don't have a problem but mattress is not comfortable. I've hard time to sleep on this mattress. Breakfast is good. There is a selection of fruit which is I love. Location is 5 mins walk from metro( Gloria station) and near grocery store.