Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

One of the few ocean front in Playa Carmen

Posted Jan 14, 2018
We have only nice things to say about the staff at Hotel Latino Tropicano. The manager up-graded is because of a moisture problem with our original room (she told us about the problem and we never even checked in that room). The hotel is nice but everything in Santa Teresa is more expansive than in other places we have been so we felt this room was not worth the $300 we would normally have paid for. That being said it is a good option for the area.
5 out of 5
by Dorian

A little piece of tropical heaven

Posted Nov 18, 2017 on Hotels
I loved it. It is a perfect location for surfing as you can walk left or right out of Hotel onto the beach and choose your the peak that suits you. Yoga classes are held daily for the non surfers of the party. Day beds and hammocks are on the beach for relaxing and watching the sunset. The garden had some pretty impressive iguanas wandering about. We didn’t see much other wildlife around apart from a few birds, but the gardens were really pretty with bright splashed if colour. The staff were really friendly and helpful without being pushy in any way. If you go in or just after the rainy season use the north route as the rivers flood the roads on the coastal road making it impassable in places. I would definately return. The hotel is probably not for the budget traveller as the restaurant is certainly worth eating at but may be a bit expensive for those travelling on a budget
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix arizona

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Incredible staff and facilities. Located steps away from one of the most amazing beaches in the world!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Lissette

So grateful we found this gem.

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was short but Great. The staff was very friendly and helpful in every way. The Sous chef served excellent food. Kitchen staff was the best alone with the bar staff. The front desk young lady was so friendly and helped us book our ATV rentals. We truly felt at home. We are definitely planning on going back. Our friends that stay in the connecting room, Silvia Posada and her sister felt the same. Absolutely the best place to eat and stay. Thank you
4 out of 5
by Jessie

Great location

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Hotels
Great location in the heart of Santa Teresa. The site includes a great pool and beach area as well as restaurant and yoga area overlooking the beach. We stayed in a garden suit. The rooms are simple but have everything you need.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beqchfront rooms on a private jungle.

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Orbitz
Private, quiet, spacious rooms/ bungalows on a piece of land which feels like your own little jungle. You have a beautiful view of the ocean from the pool, restaurant and yoga area. Staff -the friendliest and most helpful we've had on our CR trip( this is our fourt hotel/ area.) Food amazing - we tried it all- breakfast, lunch and dinner. Even if you don't stay here go to their restaurant. Best food in CR !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Perfect location next to beach

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Wonderful staff and delicious food! Loved the hammocks on the beach and surf spots in front of hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Beautiful view not so great rooms

Posted Feb 19, 2017
The photos are not accurate. The sunset is even better but the room is so much worse. It isn't a bad place, it just isn't what it presents itself to be. You basically pay for being on the beautiful beach. The room is rough but ok for one night. The smell of mildew is overwhelming unless you have the ac on which freezes the person under it out. We were put out in room 11 which was right by loud road. Other rooms might be different but weren't available. I asked for tour info and the receptionist never responded. Basically I have no idea where the image on the website ever was. Never saw that. I did see an amazing beach and sunset.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Home away from home...

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Everything
My husband has been coming to Tropico Latino since the very first time I booked him here approximately 2 years ago. The staff is extremely warm and truly care that you feel at home. At this point he wouldn't stay anywhere else. And the surfing is the best!