Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great pool and soooo close to the surf

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Amazing place in the perfect location. Staff is extremely friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Otto Lado

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: Big enough for a family but perfect and romantic for a couple. Two floors, full kitchen, comfortable bed , great outdoor seating area ...
Cons: I am honestly struggling to find anything in need of improvement at this wonderful hotel ... I guess the only thing is have a microwave in the rooms
Location: If you don't surf there is really not much else to do in Santa Teresa except walk the incredibly beautiful beach... It's too rocky to swim or snorkel
Impeccable attention to detail… Clean, quiet, comfortable ... Upgrade to a lodge... Staff is great at helping you to plan activities and is very knowledgeable of the area staff is great at helping you to plan activities and is very knowledgeable of the area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tyler tx

Peaceful resort

Posted Jun 10, 2015
If your prepared for an adventure to get there it's well worth the trek. Jus be warned its at least 5 hours from San Jose and you need a 4x4 for the dirt roads
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great place!

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Great staff! Great location close to the beach! Great waves!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Terre Haute,Indiana

Excellent hotel , a hidden jewell

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: Everything...
Cons: No suggestions
Location: The beach is 5 walking minutes away
This hotel is amazing.The rooms are large and clean.Very creative decoration. A lot of green ,around the pool , the hotel is nearby the beach.The staff is friendly and very helpful and the breakfast was superb.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Relaxing stay

Posted May 30, 2015
Very quiet and well located. The staff were really nice and helpful and you feel at home for as long as you stay. It is the perfect place to forget about the world. Really good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great place, great place, great breakfast!

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: Clean, friendly, great location.
Cons: Perhaps a shower curtain.
Location: Beach was across the street and it had a lot of shaded area in order to keep out of the sun. Restaurants nearby.
We stayed a few days at Otro Lado. It was conveniently located across the street from a beach entrance way. There were restaurants within walking distance. The room was clean and tidy. The breakfast options were divine. The staff was friendly and the service was great. We had one odd thing we experienced was that there was no shower curtain, which meant that the floor got soaked whenever we took a shower. Overall great experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Beautiful place, but one small comment

Posted Apr 22, 2015
This is a great place. Beautiful, comfortable room, beautiful garden and pool and across the street from the Pacific, friendly house keepers and a fantastic breakfast. If only the mangers/owners? (non-Tico), greeted a weary traveler like they were welcome and we're glad to see them. But aside from that, my girl friend and I would highly recommend this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful, lovely Hotel near beach!

Posted Mar 19, 2015
As soon as I entered the walkway to Otro Lado, I began to relax and feel that good vacation feeling. This hotel is the most peaceful hotel I've ever stayed in. It is a quiet, calm place to let your cares drift away. We enjoyed every moment of our stay. The owners couldn't have been nicer. We loved them. The food was great. We had breakfast & lunch there every day. The pool was perfect. The best thing I can say about Otro Lado is that I wish I was there right now. I will definitely stay there again one day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

A little oasis in Santa Teresa!!

Posted Mar 17, 2015
We only stayed for 2 nights because we were moving on to Tamarindo. But had we any flexibility with our schedule, we would have cancelled our next hotel or tried to prolong our visit here. We had a second floor room with a large balcony and open air kitchenette. There was another room on the same floor but no one was staying there so we had this sheltered balcony with a lovely chaise and bamboo blinds all to ourselves. There were scented candles, good kitchen utensils, a coffee maker, good bathroom with modern sink and shower (all very attractive details to an interior designer like me). While there is not much to do in the evening around Santa Teresa, this is a great place to recline from a busy surfing day or other beach activities. There are a few good restaurants, grocery store, banks and tour groups nearby. Otro Lado Lodge offers a wonderful breakfast with accommodation and a lunch menu. The pool was small but perfect to refresh after a long bake in the sun. The main street is covered in pot holes...both good and bad thing...it slows traffic down and fewer trucks so not noisy (also rooms are tucked back off the main road). But a bumpy ride if you want to drive an ATV. For the person in the back, they are not as comfortable as a motorbike. If you are not in a rush and want to stay local, I would recommend a bicycle. Just be careful at night...wear light clothing so other vehicles see you.