Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Feb 19, 2017
We loved it here. The staff was nice and helpful. Our room was quiet and the hotel is in a great location. It was Valentine's day when we arrived and they put flowers out for my fiance . We'd love to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from z

Peaceful place

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Located next to french bakery. Great pool area. Yoga classes. Great management and owners.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to the beach

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful property and a great beach and wave very close. Rooms where nicely decorated and had ac which was very nice to kill the humidity. They had yoga in the mornings and breakfast and lunch on sit. We didn't eat there as they didn't have a large selection of gf for my wife who is intolerant but the food and menu looked good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel across from the beach

Posted Dec 15, 2016
We enjoyed our stay here! Great rooms with good water pressure which is rare in Costa Rica. Large spacious rooms only thing lacking room wise was sun on the balcony - impossible to dry swimmers and towels etc. Great pool area and we loved breakfast! Main thing lacking is vibe and the owners are always there but not overly chatty or friendly which doesn't help but other then that we would recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good choice if you're not the hostel type

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Beautiful grounds lovely pool, nice tropical landscaping, extremely laid back staff, don't expect a lot of service, services or attention. Keep in mind where you are at, which is a surfing beach town, so the laid back attitude comes with the vibe of the town. Biggest problem is the room is always musty and moldy smelling, the house keepers will turn off your air conditioning and lower the ceiling fan to low while you are out, so it's frustrating that you can not run the air conditioning to lower the humidity in the room to get rid of the heavy mold smell. If you have respitory mold issues this would be something to consider, since the attitude of the hotel is conservation of resources over comfort of its paying guests. The serve a complimentary simple breakfast which was nice, they have multiple WiFi networks running so WiFi is strong
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Great place to stay, set back far enough from the road so that we didn't hear the traffic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Nice hotel right across the street from the beach

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Room was really nice, pool was great to have. Breakfast was good, choices were nice. Wifi didn't work very well, other than that no complaints. Beautiful beach town :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Haven of peace...

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Orbitz
in muddy dirty and noisy santa teresa you will find in otro lado peace for your soul in calm clean and comfortable rooms. a few minutes walk to the beach and close to everything. excellent breakfast included. we recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glenwood Springs, CO

Lush Garden Jewel

Posted May 26, 2016
Pros: Pool Breakfast Landscaped Grounds
Location: Towards the end of Santa Teresa beach.Surf shop next door where you can rent boards. Great restaurants include The Smokey Bigote, Chicken Joes, Kika
Everything about Otro Lado was amazing. The grounds are beautiful with so many flowers that the air smelled sweet. The pool was beautiful with nice lounge chairs. We stayed in the single room option with a lovely balcony amidst the palm trees. The room felt secluded and wonderful with highly efficient air conditioning, and a nice shower. Bed was comfortable. Beach access right across the road. The complimentary breakfast in the morning is great! Super yummy crepes and croissant options. Also, dont miss out on lunch/dinner here. The Bruschetta was the tastiest I have ever had. Nothing but good things to say about this hotel. It is a good walk from the hotel to the main part of town (pharmacy/more restaraunts/shopping etc) so renting an ATV for a few days made it easy for us to get around.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would Recommend

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was a gem in the potholed dirt roads of Santa Teresa. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and secure. The oasis was nice to return to after navigating the wild west streets of Santa Teresa with their quads and motorcycles. The neighboring quality small restaurants were plentiful.