Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Yahya

Great location, very helpful staff

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
We booked the room with the tub and loved it! The room was clean and very comfortable. The owner was super helpful and spoke great english. I would definitely recommend this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Hemisphere

Beautiful location in Santa Teresa,

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Loved the location, the staff and the room. Monkeys that visited daily.
Cons: We thought it was perfect really, fridge in room as well.
Location: Restaurants, shops, bars etc. all within minutes.
Two minutes walk to downtown, lovely outdoor patio, good breakfast, rooftop room with outdoor hot tub was worth the extra lush and green, amazing staff.
4 out of 5
by Daniel from Washington, DC

Oasis in Santa Teresa

Posted Jan 26, 2016 on Hotels
Quinta Azul is a great alternative to the big hotels in Copacabana and Ipanema. It's quaint and quiet. The staff at the pousada is really exceptional and each of them were consistently super friendly and helpful. Special shout out to Elena, who is just amazing. My only suggestion is that the water in the showers needs to be warmer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expedia did not live up to the contract

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: The location in Santa Theresa and three of our rooms. Friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: Giving us the premium rooms that we had paid for.
Location: Santa Theresa is an attractive, bohemian area with independent shops, good restaurants. See the Museu do Ceu. Not suitable for disabled people.
We are not happy with our hotel stay. We booked five premium double rooms and were given only three premium rooms and two other rooms, one of which did not even have enough room to put the suitcase on the floor. Not happy - we have been overcharged for two rooms and should be reimbursed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Somerset, NJ

dishonest staff

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Had booked for 3 nights. Access to hotel is not easy.. Its uphill and have to take cab from metro to get to the hotel. At time of check in requested if I can cancel one night - the last night - and the guy - Lewis at reception agreed. After I made alternate arrangements at a different hotel for the 3rd night, next day Lewis tells me he cannot cancel and I should pay 100% for the 3rd night. After I reminded him that only after his confirmation, I made alternate bookings he said I should pay 10% fee because expedia charged him. That night I called expedia and expedia confirmed they were not charging any fee. After 2 days when I was checking out, he was not at reception and I told the lady at reception that I have to 10% per Lewis for 3rd night because exedia was charging. She confirmed expedia was not charging and I could check out without paying anything. After 2 days of check out I see Lewis charged me 100% for the thrid night on my creditcard. A piece of advise, if you are a tourist stay in copacabana/leblon/ipanema area which is a upscale neighbourhood and feel good for tourist. Santa Teresa is a rundown neighbourhood and good to visit for 2-3 hours but dont take a hotel here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Service slow and neighbourhood rather dodgy.

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Pros: Nice breakfast and clean rooms.
Cons: Service needs to pick up and better checks of rooms are required to ensure all amenities functioning.
Location: Some older buildings in the vicinity and views of the city on a clear day, but didn't feel safe venturing out at night.
Nice breakfast and clean room. Unfortunately we had some issues with the room (shower) and our requests/instructions for a taxi were either ignored or left very late causing us some anxiety on departure. I was forced to carry our luggage up most of the stairs because the porter was elsewhere to meet the taxi (lots of stairs when you are staying in the basement). Some great views, but don't wander far from the hotel at night as it can get dangerous. Sadly, I would not recommend the hotel. Staff were not particularly friendly and better options in Copacabana or Ipanema, or even Niteroi, across Guanabara Bay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable accommodation in good neighbourhood

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: Very helpful staff. Good location.
Cons: Greater selection of drinks for the bar. Availability of shampoo, other amenities for the bathroom.
Location: Perched on a hill in good location. Good restaurants very close by. Must be reasonably fit to climb 20-30 stairs - no lifts
Nice accommodation, very reasonably sized rooms, about 30 minute walk to some of the central locations. Staff very helpful and willing to provide advice on onward journey, flights, book taxis, provide directions, etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel to stay in rio.

Posted May 12, 2015
i had scary staff communications via email regarding pickup dangers and prices. there were screaming and shouting arguments every night next door, and loud dog barkings well into the night. and attempts to use fear to extort extra charges for unwanted expensive services my taxi driver to the airport given the wrong drop off instructions by the hotel and i was taken to the wrong airport even though both parties saw my ticket. i did not like it there and kept myself very low key as i felt unsafe. i will never voluntarily go to rio again or ever praise it. on the other hand the kitchen staff at the hotel were lovely and made the most beautiful food. and the room itself although below ground level with poor ventilation and no view at all was aesthetically lovely and comfortable - although i found a hyperdermic needle case discarded on the luggage wrack, so i dont think the cleaner was any good, and the hot water was too cold for a european person. there was no garden and no common room view except onto the depressed backyards and latrines of the neighbours. why did the Guardian give it such a good rating?
4 out of 5
by Arie from Atoka, Okalahoma

Lovely Bed and Breakfast

Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed in Rio after a cruise. We found the Bed and Breakfast a distance from downtown, that was fine with us. The staff was wonderful, Elizabeth, Erica and Jackeline. Since our flight out did not leave until midnight, they allowed us to stay until 8PM at no extra cost. The breakfast was wonderful, lots to choose from. The rooms were nice and clean but, with lots of stairs. no elevator. The deck area was great. Lots of large tropical trees. Squirel monkeys ran on the branches.A great place to relax after a tour of busy Rio.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 18, 2014 on Hotels