Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire, UK

Disappointing and overpriced

Posted Oct 27, 2017
The hotel is in need of updating. Parts of the communal areas look tired and warn. The pool did not look clean enough to swim in. All the prices exclude taxes, which means the final bill was a surprise, including pool side snacks and drinks. Especially when the meal in the restaurant gave me food poisoning but would not refund or provide a discount for the discomfort caused. For someone not local, the hotel location is far from ideal. We stayed in a couple hotels in Rio and can easily recommend a nicer, more welcoming, luxerious and comfortable for a lot cheaper. For the price of the room, it was very basic, with no tea or coffee facilities, mini bar or decent lighting. We also had trouble using the phone. Further to the above, we stayed at the Hotel Unique for a similar price and simply blown away with their hotel facilities, hospitality and room facilities were second to none.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
Very good hotel. Dangerous neighborhood
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great peaceful retreat

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
This was our third trip to the hotel. It's a wonderful restful place and service is good by Brazil standards. We thought that the pool area had lost a little of its charm since being taken over by the Sofitel in a bid to squeeze in a few more chairs but overall it remains the best weekend retreat in Rio!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stunning Property - good views

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Really good stay in a great location overlooking Rio - perfect sunset views from the hills
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Located near the sambadromo.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Nice place in a colonial neighbourhood. Freindly staff. Some facilities could be better maintained. Some things were a bid old and worn but the overall experience was very nice. Like the breakfast a lot!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel require travel to attractions

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Area is beautiful, great views, hotel has very nice grounds and the staff is attentive and helpful. It requires significant travel to many of Rios main attractions, use of private hotel car is more costly than easily available taxi. The rooms are definitely not five stars, comfortable but basic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotels for couples

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: Really helpful staff
Cons: Improve internet connection and water providing system
Location: Close to the center and the train of santa teresa. Also the bar and restaurant are great
Really nice staff. Flexible check in time and check out time based on availability. But their English is not really good. Internet Connection from my room is close to zero and not really sure the phone is working. Junior Suite is just a little bit bigger than the Deluxe room. Don't believe the pictures. We had to wait for a long time to have the warm water for shower. The location of our room might be the cause to blame.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from McKinney, TX

Great hotel, to badd for the Poor Internet Access

Posted Mar 2, 2016
My stay was a business stay since I had to work in downtown Rio. The service and accommodations are great and the food is high quality. The view from several rooms, the pool and the restaurant are also very nice. The only problem is that the room where I stayed had no internet coverage. The only place I could have descent internet access was at the lobby or the pool which was a problem in my case when I wanted to work on the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nicholas R.

Good but not great

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Ebookers
Santa Teresa is a wonderful location in the hills above the cliche tourist haunts of Copacabama or Ipenema and the hotel itself is an elegant, even quaint, late nineteenth century coffee-grower's farmhouse. It was refurbished only a few years ago but is looking worn - or to put it politely, shabby chic. A couple of irritations not least illumination - the rooms are so dark you can't read in them and the stairs are so dark you could fall down them - and it's unacceptable that they don't provide bottled water in the rooms each day even though they warn the tap water is not suitable for drinking. Even so, it's better than the usual hotel chains and on balance I'd just about recommend it.