Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by William from Tomahawk, Wisconsin

Amazing staff and owners

Posted May 4, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed here during Carnival and just prior to boarding a cruise. I loved this older, colonial boutique hotel. The bed was comfortable. There was no air conditioning in our room but the fan in there was perfect and kept us cool all night. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. But best of all was the staff and the owners. They helped FIND and RETRIEVE our luggage which didn't arrive for our entire stay with them. But they were able to get it for us the day we were leaving to board our ship. They were amazing! No other BIG BRAND hotel would have given us the help they provided. Everything went off like clockwork, from having the luggage delivered to the taxi arriving to take us to the port. And besides all that, they were very friendly. One more thing, when we booked this hotel, we received a welcome email from them. They also offered to pick us up at the airport AND they explained about Carnival Parade tickets at the Sambodromo and had tickets available for us to purchase without a hassle. We were SO impressed! Once we were there, they also gave us safety guidelines and helped with directions to various locations. Some people say the neighborhood is dangerous. We did not find that. We walked all over the Santa Teresa neighborhood and never felt afraid. We also found a great little restaurant, Portella's, a few blocks from the hotel. We loved it. All in all, we would go back to this lovely, little boutique hotel again if we were in Rio.
5 out of 5
by Maisha from Washington, DC

Villa Laurinda is a must during our stay in Rio

Posted Apr 26, 2015 on Hotels
My stay at Villa Laurinda was simply amazing!!! This quaint bed and breakfast gives you a very homely feel in the hills of Santa Teresa. The staff was AMAZING and very very welcoming! Thank you again :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing breakfast ! Need longer employee hours

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Overall very good stay! The breakfast was excellent. Beds were hard and they forgot to leave us a blanket and because they leave at 6 and don't come back until 7 the next day,, we never got one so we slept with a sheet. Nice courtyard, very nice house and pretty close to town for great restaurants
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My first stay in Rio

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels
My stay was really good and i felt really safe and well looked after by the staff at the hotel who were helpful in direction of places to cisit and when.Breakfast was always the same, some variety would have been good, but there was always lots of it so that was good. There was one thing about my stay that i was not happy with. On my second day there, i went out andd left some things on my bed, room service cleaned and threw away my dentures, everything else was moved onto the bedside table but that was brushed onto the floor and swept out in a tissue, i informed the management immediately and they were not helpful about it nor willing to offer any form of compensation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Awesome bed and breakfast.

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Very authentic.
Location: Quiet location close to Gloria subway station and LAPA.
Very nice bed and breakfast. Staff are very courteous and helpful, and breakfast is very good. Nice quiet neighborhood, 15 min walk to subway.I would stay again next time I am Rio. Definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing place to stay!

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels
Villa Laurinda was extremely nice and relaxing. Also, it was very clean. The hotel staff helped us by calling the tour companies for us to arrange pick up. The only drawback was the cab ride to the more touristy locations.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by saltrunner from Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Very pleasant and quiet. Close to several restaur

Posted Jul 12, 2013 on Hotels
The accommodations were very pleasant, villa located in a progressive neighborhood with some local bars, restaurants and shops. Very quiet at night, and close to Tijuca park which is nice for running. I was very pleased with the accommodations and experience. A very nice alternative to the very hectic and noisy accommodationd by Ipanema and Copacabana.
3 out of 5
by Jeff

Not for 1st time visit

Posted Mar 8, 2013 on Hotels
This ws my 3rd time in Rio, so being in a new area to me was more important than convenient access to the sights of usual interest to the 1st time visitor. Sta. Teresa is an interesting, quirky area, but it can be time-consuming together anywhere other than Centro. Staff was welcoming. Rooms can be tiny. Very good breakfast, equally good honor bar for evenings.