Ratings based on 1,093 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Good location, good parking, fun layout in loft room, a little dated (carpet, t-bar hallway, popcorn ceilings, older flatscreens)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cypress, CA

Great Staff!

Posted Dec 3, 2017
The hotel had a great staff. When we checked in the desk person noticed my mom walked with a cane. She made things easier for her by booking us in the main part of the hotel and in a handicapped accessible room. Later on a new person was at the desk and she too was very warm and friendly. Great customer service goes a long way with me, and you definitely get it at this hotel. The hotel is right in the heart of Solvang. It was clean with free breakfast. You can’t go wrong by staying here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great location--and even better beds

Posted Nov 27, 2017
This is an older building and has not been updated to any great extent, but the rooms are comfortable (Kuerigs, microwaves and fridges--YEAH) and DELICIOUSLY comfortable beds with pillow top mattresses, both firm and soft. Nice hot and cold breakfast buffet in a nice dining room with lots of room. Great VALUE and everything in Solvang is walkable from here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Very good staff. Room clean with good lighting. OK breakfast. Covered parking. Overall a very pleasant experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

Most Comfortable Bed in Solvang

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: Parking, bed and pillows, location, and breakfast.
Cons: More charging outlets for mobile phones.
Location: Located as you first enter Solvang so easy access in and out. Liquor Store across street, bakery and restaurant a few doors down. Short walk anywhere
I've been visiting Solvang for years and recently took notice of the Holiday Inn Express. The location is right at the beginning of Mission and there is ample parking with much covered parking spots which is unusual in Solvang. The hotel is larger than appears and is very secure. Nice pool and jacuzzi that I hadn't expected so did not take advantage of this time. Microwave and refrigerator in room and the most powerful shower head which water pressure can sometimes be questionable in Solvang. The bed and pillows were so comfortable that I got the best night sleep ever and did not take my personal pillow out of the car. They also serve a free breakfast in the morning which had lots of items to choose from and was really good. I will definitely put this hotel at the top of my list for next visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

false claims

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: better breakfast, be truthful in the advertising claims.
Location: Solvang is a pleasant tourist weekend destination.
room was advertised as a room with a view. the only view was of a very large tree. The breakfast buffet was awful even for a hotel breakfast. The bed was way to soft and very uncomfortable. Given the cost and the reputation of a holiday inn express i expected more. the price point was even higher than a nearby luxury 4 star hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Old facility. Old luggage carts. Worn bathroom tiles chipped ... lumpy wall paper..odor in room...neighbors backyard right off patio...ugly room. Not a holiday inn express quality hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Cozy, walking distance of shops and restaurants

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Everyone was kind, loved the pool and breakfast! Great atmosphere and location.Definitely going to return!
4 out of 5
by Ralph

Bad front desk staff

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
We are 2 older Lady"s traveling and the person who checked us inn gave only very quick instructions where our room was.He was not very friendly . We could not find it and went back to the front desk.The desk guy was in a room connected to the lobby, his feet kicked up and not happy he had to get up, and he let me have it. screamed at me that he told me where to go, for a stunning $280,00 a night, I expect better service. This Hotel will not see me again. Left a very bad taste in my mouth. Thanks for ruining a vacation day
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Standard hotel near a lot of places

Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed her by myself for a little getaway for my birthday. It was quiet, walking distance to a lot of restaurants and shops, and met all my basic needs.