Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Marcela

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Beautifully maintained historic hotel.

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: The presentation of the hotel, the room, the garden, the staff, the carpark and the location.
Cons: To put something on the base of the bath for safety and to put more power points in the room.
Location: This is a medieval village with interesting buildings and there is the famous cave nearby.
The receptionist, bar staff and breakfast staff were friendly and welcoming. They seemed to want to please everybody. The rooms with the real log fires added atmosphere as well as warmth. The balustrade was impressive, and so the story goes, is from a single trunk. The garden is enchanting. The location is excellent and we feel we would definitely stay again. The only suggestion we would make is to put something on the bottom of the bath as it was extremely slippy as we got into the shower. Really loved the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Delightful hotel, faultless.

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Cleanliness, quality and character
Cons: Cannot gild the lily...
Location: Most interesting mediaeval town, fascinating, we were booked on the Santander ferry next day, well worth to 30 minute drive.
Could not fault it, hope to stay again, wonderful breakfast, no restaurant for lunch or dinner, but no matter as there are plenty of excellent restaurants in all price brackets a short walk away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Norwell, MA

Cozy comfort in cave country

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: 2 min. by car from Alta Mira museum; 20 min. from cave complex at Mt. Castillo. Restaurant of choice: Gran Duque, get the Cantabrica cod.
Casa del Marques is a very comfortable, centrally located small (12-15 rooms) hotel in Santilliana del Mar. The staff is friendly, helpful and considerate. For example, at one point I wanted to try some cider; the bartender tried to slip out the back entrance on the QT to a local wine shop to pick up a bottle rather than tell me they were out. They have a sitting area in the rear garden that is very private and the bar area is partly in an old cellar that connects to a small walk-out covered patio. Very nice outdoor spaces for a drink, coffee or reading. Indoor spaces for the guests are also clean, warm and welcoming. There is a reading room with complimentary newspapers and a TV room (not much used as such) with a fireplace. Our room was larger than I thought it would be, bed was good, and the bath was nicely updated and roomy. The breakfast was a fairly typical continental, but augmented by hot breakfast options prepared by the kitchen staff-- a nice touch if you want to get away from croissants, meat, fruit and cheeses-- and a bit of a pleasant surprise given the size of the place. A parking lot immediately out the back entry was a huge plus in a town built up 700 years ago. Short walk to the Collegio with cloister and old church complex. Lots of little shops with Cantabrian food stuffs, cheeses, sausage etc. Oddly, bread was a little hard to find but that's not the fault of the hotel. We were very happy with our experience and highly recommend Casa del Marques.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

historical

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
This was the loveliest & most interesting hotel we have step in in the last 30 years
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Claimed 5* rating not justified- rooms only OK and too few facilities for 5*
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enchanted

Posted Aug 1, 2016
This hotel is a most !!!!! Fantastic!!!!! Is enchanted , so romantic, we love it and hoping to come back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Graham from Manchester

Delightful little Gem.....

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
A beautiful little hotel with loads of character - entrance through the rear courtyard/carpark was particularly nice (secure onsite parking was €11 per night). Everywhere was tastefully decorated and preserved. Room, bathroom and balcony all great sizes (recommend 104 for the large covered balcony on the rear) and very clean and comfortable. Good air con and a well stocked mini bar, but tea/coffee making facilities would have been nice. Breakfast in the restaurant was excellent, with bacon and eggs to order. Both the service and the staff were exceptional. Would recommend Casa Cossio next to the Church to eat, but avoid the Museum of Torture unless you like feeling traumatised ....!