Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Beautifully maintained historic hotel.

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: The presentation of the hotel, the room, the garden, the staff, the carpark and the location.
Cons: To put something on the base of the bath for safety and to put more power points in the room.
Location: This is a medieval village with interesting buildings and there is the famous cave nearby.
The receptionist, bar staff and breakfast staff were friendly and welcoming. They seemed to want to please everybody. The rooms with the real log fires added atmosphere as well as warmth. The balustrade was impressive, and so the story goes, is from a single trunk. The garden is enchanting. The location is excellent and we feel we would definitely stay again. The only suggestion we would make is to put something on the bottom of the bath as it was extremely slippy as we got into the shower. Really loved the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Norwell, MA

Cozy comfort in cave country

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: 2 min. by car from Alta Mira museum; 20 min. from cave complex at Mt. Castillo. Restaurant of choice: Gran Duque, get the Cantabrica cod.
Casa del Marques is a very comfortable, centrally located small (12-15 rooms) hotel in Santilliana del Mar. The staff is friendly, helpful and considerate. For example, at one point I wanted to try some cider; the bartender tried to slip out the back entrance on the QT to a local wine shop to pick up a bottle rather than tell me they were out. They have a sitting area in the rear garden that is very private and the bar area is partly in an old cellar that connects to a small walk-out covered patio. Very nice outdoor spaces for a drink, coffee or reading. Indoor spaces for the guests are also clean, warm and welcoming. There is a reading room with complimentary newspapers and a TV room (not much used as such) with a fireplace. Our room was larger than I thought it would be, bed was good, and the bath was nicely updated and roomy. The breakfast was a fairly typical continental, but augmented by hot breakfast options prepared by the kitchen staff-- a nice touch if you want to get away from croissants, meat, fruit and cheeses-- and a bit of a pleasant surprise given the size of the place. A parking lot immediately out the back entry was a huge plus in a town built up 700 years ago. Short walk to the Collegio with cloister and old church complex. Lots of little shops with Cantabrian food stuffs, cheeses, sausage etc. Oddly, bread was a little hard to find but that's not the fault of the hotel. We were very happy with our experience and highly recommend Casa del Marques.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enchanted

Posted Aug 1, 2016
This hotel is a most !!!!! Fantastic!!!!! Is enchanted , so romantic, we love it and hoping to come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming in Village center

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Lovely hotel in the center of the village The staff is helpful and breakfast is good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Fabulous hotel in glorious city

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Location: The hotel is in the heart so Santillana del Mar, within short walking distance of the central square, the cathedral, and numerous fine and friendly re
This is a lovely hotel in the center of a stunningly well preserved medieval city. Wonderfully decorated with courteous and attentive staff. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albury, Australia

“Comfortable stay in the former residence of the f

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: The motel is situated right in the heart of the medieval setting of Santillana del Mar.
We only stayed one night on our 6 day drive from Valencia to A Coruna and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves in this medieval setting. The historic preservation within the village area is really well done. It's intactness reminded us of Tsumago in the Kiso Valley in Japan where the modern day incursions such as power poles and advertising signage are largely absent. The hotel itself is situated within the former the residence of the first Marquis of Santillana, Don Íñigo López de Mendoza. Our room was very comfortable and the balcony was a nice place to put the feet up for a little while with some wine & cheese after walking around the cobbled roads of the village. While we ate dinner elsewhere in a nearby restaurant the in-house breakfast was very nice. Staff were friendly and helpful too,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warwickshire, England

Super Hotel with excellent staff.

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Wonderful room (106), excellent reception on arrival, friendly and efficient staff, a real pleasure to stay at this hotel. Just a couple of minor points. 1. Tea and coffee tray in the room would really enhance the experience. 2. The safe coding instructions bore no relation to the safe in the room, a minor point but nonetheless irritating, a matter that could easily be sorted out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Beautify historical hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2015
A wonderful place to stay everything was perfect. Situated in the middle of this historic town, parking was a plus. Rooms were extremely comfortable and beautifully furnished. Very good breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable and friendly Hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2015
We were greeted with courtesy and professionalism and shown to an excellent room , our stay was very enjoyable and we will certainly return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Wonderful historic hotel from 1400 AD!

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Located in cobblestone historic town center. Excellent staff and services. Lovely foot thick stone walls, decorated in historic style, quaint gardens to relax in and great bar and bartender. Delicious breakfast.