Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Santander is lovely city to stay in.

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Had plenty of space in our room - rather like an apartment.
Cons: Bar area was underground, as was the dining room and breakfast room. Piped rapper type music was horrible all the time during meals.
Location: Location fine, Plenty of nice walks, buses just down the road and easy 10 mins to get into the city. Got a travel bus pass which was cheaper.
Lovely 6 days. Beautiful beaches and walks. City of Santander very interesting and very Spanish, not much spoken English which was a bit of a problem. Tourist office only dealt with Santander and not surrounding coast or area which was a bit of a problem, until we worked out where we thought we wanted to go to and found the appropropriate bus timetable at the bus station. We had no car. We found visiting Bilbao for the Guggenheim ok, but you needed to book the bus a day or so ahead, as all the early buses (9.00 am.) were full and the next one with some spaces, not many, was at 11.00 a.m. a bit later than we wanted to go, but it worked out ok and was a great museum to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Nice hotel restaurant and entrance outstanding

Posted Jun 27, 2015
We stayed in a junior suite and it was excellent the space was fab the only downside is the room was a little tired nothing a coat of paint wouldn't sort The balcony could do with a sweep n clean the room would benefit from air conditioning
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in desperate need of revitalisation.

Posted May 9, 2015
The hotel is very dated and dull. It definitely needs renovated and brought into 2015. Room had mould on the ceiling and all over the curtains, the bed was uncomfortable and the hallway stank of cigarette smoke even though it was supposedly non smoking. We tried to use the bar once but waited 20mins on a member of staff before giving up. Staff we encounterd were pleasant and hotel is close to Santander centre. Wouldn't stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phill from London

Hotel in el Sardinero district of Santander

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: The room was massive more like a small appartment, clean and well equiped. All the staff we encountered were friendly.
Cons: The bullfighting memorabilia in the reception may not be to everyone's taste and the bar/cafe is decorated with animal heads.
Location: Very close to some of the city's beaches, nice area plenty of cafes etc close by.
We specifically booked this hotel as we were attending a game in the stadium just down the road so, for us, it was ideally located. Others may wish to stay more centrally as we have in the past. The area is very nice with the beaches very close and in Summer would be ideal. The centre is easy to reach via bus and the walk along the coastal path into the centre is very pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rosie from London

Fantastic!

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: Everything! Simply marvellous! Beautiful suite for unbelievable price.
Cons: no tissues provided. no dinner til 9pm
Location: Not central. 10 minute walk to beach. 25 minute walk to Centro. No problemo. The basement bar was good value with basic food offerings.
After 2 weeks of travelling through Spain, what an amazing and pleasant surprise to find ourselves at Placio del Mar in Santander. Amazing value for an amazing room/suite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jane from Dorset

Great hotel following a sea crossing

Posted May 27, 2013
Pros: Different decor
Location: Situated close to beach
Excellent situation, close to beach. Good carpark ing facilities, very safe. Decor different!
2 out of 5
by David from Boston, MA

Not what was advertised.

Posted May 23, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Public room decor; poorly maintained elevators; tattered, stained hallway carpets.
Location: About a ten minute taxi ride from the downtown area (and taxis are cheap). About a ten minute walk to the far northern end of the beach.
Therooms are large suites -- but very poorly designed so that the bathroom was cramped and the sofa and TV were separated by thirty feet and a table and chairs -- totally lacking in any charm or character. The hallways carpets were tattered and stained, The front office staff had only rudimentary command of English. The public rooms are -- well "African kitch" would be a generous characterization. The lobby was filled with toreador suit displays and graphics of wild animals; The bar/ lounge walls were filled with taxidermy that included elephant heads and zebra skins and antelope heads; And the dining room had a solid wall of mirrors and truly ugly LED starburst chandileers. The breakfast had minimal selection compared to other hotels we stayed in with four star ratings. Both elevators broke down during the course of our two day stay, at one point leaving no operating elevator service. The location is ten minutes by taxi from the downtown and a ten minute walk to the northern end of the beach - not particularly convenient. This is by no means a four star hotel. Three stars would be generous.
3 out of 5
by Carole from Chicago, IL

Poor Service for a 4-star Hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2010
Pros: Good size room, beautiful, spacious bathroom; menu of the day in dining room an excellent value, reception desk staff very helpful with touring arrangements, etc. Cons: No English-speaking channel on TV; no iron or ironing board available; bathroom amenities never replenished (ie one bottle of bath gel for my 4 day stay); no coffee-maker or teapot available in hotel room; although hotel offered a free drink in its hotel bar at check-in, I never could use it because it would appear the bartender didn't "notice" a single woman in the bar; "pool" offered was not one where you could lounge around, just a pool at a gymnasium off the property; could not seem to ever reach reception after 10:00 for a wake-up call; neighborhood has very few restaurants within walking distance (and the one I did patronize was over-priced and served the worst meal I had on my 1-month trip); location is very far from central and historical city
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Downtime at the beach

Posted Jun 16, 2010
We had a short, three night stay here for our honeymoon. We wanted to stay at a nice hotel near a nice beach, so overall we were pleased. I would recommend this hotel as I thought it was a good value overall. The only bad things were that the air conditioning wasn't very cool, and that the breakfast wasn't very good for the money. For the price, this is a good place to stay as it is clean and as it's staff offers good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Alicante

Huge rooms, good location for the beach

Posted Jul 17, 2009
If you are loking for a hotel close to sardinero beach, then this is great. Large rooms - with separate lounge area. A bit of a walk into the town - but some bars and restaurants close by. Balconies didn't have any views (or any furniture!) - but large sitting area inside made up for that. Can't comment on the food - as booked room only and went out to a local cafe for breakfast.