Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coral Gables, FL

Nice Visit in Santander

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The hotel is very nice, a short walk to the beach. The staff is also very nice and helpful. This is an older hotel that is a little dated and could use refurbishing, but other than that, we enjoyed our stay. Parking could be an issue on busy days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel high up on the hill.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Beautiful old style traditional hotel! Fantastic views across the bay from our room - a sea view is a must! In some areas the hotel needed a little TLC - carpet threadbare on the stairs. The staff should be more professional serving breakfast to be rated 5 star! Not enough polite care and attention for guests. Reception very good!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and our room had stunning sea views

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Large spacious room and beds with delightful views.
Cons: We could not find any outdoor seating area by the bar although we did not fully explore.
Location: The location is good if you don't mind a decent walk to get to the main heart of restaurants and bars. Would say about 20-30 minutes.
After a long drive from Southern Spain, we were greeted with a rather unpleasant checking in experience. We travelled with 2 small dogs which was noted in the remarks section of my reservation. Unfortunately, we received a very curse and unpleasant welcome by the management at the front desk, advising us, in a very unfriendly and unwelcoming manner, that the hotel has a very strict one dog per room policy. After much discussion, they did refer back to my booking comments and finally relented and let us stay. One dog fits in my hand bag and had we not been so open, she could have easily been hidden inside but we are genuine people and happy to pay the supplement. This was our last night in Spain and this rather spoiled the remainder of the evening for us. The room itself was extremely spacious and whilst the hotel itself is very nice, after our initial experience, it did leave us as to wondering whether we would ever return. The situation could have been handled far more politely and considerately. Having spent the day in a hot car, we were dressed casually and certainly not dressed in 5 star attire. The manner in which we were welcomed, left us with the impression that perhaps the dogs were not the only thing to this persons liking. Other reception staff were pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

suoerb hotel, oustanding service

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: The room, the breakfast, the staff
Location: Not far from El Sardinero beach where all the action is.
We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and had a magnificent experience. Upon arrival we were not particularily impressed since it is situated at the top of a hill, apparently making the access somewhat difficult. But once the taxi arrived a very courteous employee brought our suitcases up and then we started enyoing. The hotel is very classy, even has an old elevator with a seat on it, which made its use very romantic. The room was spacious and overlooking the bay. The buffet breakfast was outstanding. We strolled down a few blocks to El Sardinero beach along magnificent mansions. On the beach there are numerous restaurants and the famous Casino, which we visited. For the return up we took a taxi, easy to find in the beachfront. In summary, a great experience.
5 out of 5
by Josephine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Barrie David

Congratulations to your excellent staff.

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
the Hotel Real is and always has been our number one 1st Class Hotel, absolutely fabulous, the staff are always so professional and friendly and we were happy to see the standard hasn't changed since it has been taken over, it is a Hotel above all others, as good as any top class London hotels and the fact that it allows you still to have your dog with you is a bonus. E are always sorry we spend only one night. King regards Sheila Barnley/Barrie Long.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Silicon Valley

In the Grand Old Style

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The view of the bay was amazing. Not sure, but the opposite side may have a view of the Atlantic. I had a Negroni in the bar and it was expertly made.
Cons: The staircase carpet was beginning to show a little wear and had a rip on one step.
Though the carpet is a little worn on the staircase this is a wonderful hotel. If we're back in Santander we'll definitely consider staying here again. Our room had a sweeping view of the bay and a balcony to sit on and enjoy a coffee (though in April it's a little chilly in the morning). I could have enjoyed the view of the bay all day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel great service and beautiful view

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Relaxing place friendly people great view big room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Great sea view from the room. Some rooms have small balconies
5 out of 5
by FIONA

Rooms with stunning views

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
Stunning views from hill of white sandy beaches, classic decor, helpful staff. Great breakfast in large, bright room. Large jacuzzi bath in very spacious bathroom