Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Havant, Hampshire

Beautiful hotel in a quiet location

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Location, food and atmosphere.
Cons: Wi-fi connection.
Location: Santiago is about 8 miles away and is full of things to do. You can also drive to the coast, but Santiago is the main attraction.
This is a special place... an amazing hotel in the hills/ mountains outside Santiago. The old farmhouse is full of character and the rooms are charming and comfortable. We had a slight problem with the wi-fi, but it did not spoil or two-night stay. Food is excellent too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cheshire UK

An Amazing Place To Stay

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Excelent food, very friendly and fascinating interior furnishings.
Cons: There is no need to change anything.
Location: Not easy to find, but well with the effort to get there.
A twenty minute drive from Santiago de Compostela this beautiful converted monastery sits in the heart of the countryside. With a delightful swimming pool in extensive gardens it is a perfect place to relax after a long journey. A warm welcome and lovely friendly atmosphere. It has a beautiful interior with amazing furnishings with an excellent menu and wonderful regional breakfast. We can highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Perfect Ending to the Camino de Santiago

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: My favorite thing about Casa Grande do Bachao is the authentic setting in the country - the views, the comfort, the care.
Cons: There could be more white arrows on the path from the House to the river and back.
After completing the 800km walk from St. Jean Pied de Port, France, to Santiago de Compostela, Spain, the tranquil setting of the Casa Grande do Bachao Manor House was the perfect segway from life on the Camino to life back home. A 30 minute cab ride from Santiago had us relaxing in the comfort of the Estate. It was pure luxury after 31 days on the Camino.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Excellent hotel to relax and have fine food

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: The place and buildings
Location: Relax, walk and swim
We stay only two nights but the place is to stay a week or more
5 out of 5
by Albdios from St Augustine, Fl

Impressive

Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic Place, excellent location. Wish we could have stayed longer, will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Lovely, quiet, hidden romantic hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: Quality, tasteful renovation, peace and solitude yet close to Santiago do Compostela.
Cons: More soundproof front door to our room, motion sensor external security lights or light proof blinds in the windows as the external lights were on all
Location: Beautiful location in a forest yet only twenty minutes by car from the old city and cathedral.
Located about twenty minutes from Santiago do Compostela, this is a hidden gem of a beautifully restored and furnished old farmhouse. Helpful, multilingual staff and a tastefully furnished room away from all traffic noise set in a forest. Ideal for romantic stays without the madding crowd.
5 out of 5
by donald from Sandiacre

Top rate in all ways

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
A wonderfully restored building perfectly decorated. Although the food choice is kind of take it or leave it the meal we had was delicious and served expertly. I would have no hesitation of returning to this out of the way and peaceful location.
5 out of 5
by Ian from Stonehaven Scotland

Great experience

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
Very friendly and helpful staff. The extras we requested were very reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Country hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2015
We had a lovely and relaxing stay. Hotel is a traditional style with beautiful grounds and good to cool off in the pool. It is a 20 minute drive from Santiago through beautiful mountain scenary. Staff were very friendly, and would definitely recommend having dinner here. The setting is beautiful and perfect choice if you want to relax.