Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NO Pool

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Staff and food was excellent
The staff was great , however we were never told that the pool and one of the restaurants were not working prior to booking. Everything else was fine
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel but with some issues.

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Overall, it was pretty good. The service in the restaurant / bar is hit or miss. Some nights you get excellent service and other nights your waiting 50 minutes for your dinner. If you are a cigar aficionado, skip the on site cigar store. Bought two Aurora's and they tasted like they had been on the shelf for a year. Also the store is not humidified. But overall, a pleasant experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2017
It was a great stay for one night would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Best hotel in Santiago, Dominican Republic

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Clean, safe, good service
Cons: Food has lately improved, we appreciate the efforts
Location: Near malls and shopping
I have used Hodelpa Gran Almirante for two years and it is always a satisfying experience. Staff is very good at courteous, administration always trying to help. The parking is made so easy by a free valet parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Remember... this is the D.R.

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: staff, comfort
Cons: It's better every time I go. They are always improving. But the carpets sure could use steam cleaning.
Location: The water falls are awesome.
You are in the Dominican Republic. My ratings take that into account. This is no 5 star hotel by US standards. But I've stayed at many hotels in the DR and this is my reliable go-to place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Buffet was average at best Italian restaurant was good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

The staff could not be more accommodating.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The staff was outstanding. Hotel entrance was lovely and the restaurant for breakfast was very nice. It also provides service to & from the airport.
Cons: Frig was not stocked with anything and water bottles would be nice since the sink water was not recommended.
Location: We were in Santiago for a wedding, It was not recommended to stray far from the hotel at night without a taxi. We did not therefore see much.
Arrived at the hotel to attend a wedding in the area. Staff could not be more accommodating. We celebrated the rehearsal dinner at the hotel. - food and service was excellent. Our rooms were simple but nicely appointed. We were offered a free welcome drink upon arrival of a long trip. From my search, this hotel appeared to be one of the nicest in the area. Only drawback is that the area itself is a little difficult to navigate with traffic and safety issues. I do recommend the hotel is you are in Santiago.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Bergen, NJ

Nice little Hotel in Santiago.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
I would definitely stay again here great location, nice rooftop pool great food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2017
The hotel was okay but the first night our room wasn't clean . I also added another night to our stay and the front desk didn't explain my card wouldn't work and I had to reprogram it the guy at the front desk watch us walk in go up and smile in our face When we came back down because my card didn't work . The rest of the staff was good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Nice hotel close to good restaurant and stores.

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Great services. Definitely would recommend. Very safe and convenient. Clean good appearance.