Ratings based on 380 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Great people, really comfy bed!!

Posted Dec 30, 2015
One of the best hotel beds I've been in! Friendly and helpful staff and a good place to stay. Only fault is same as any other hotel that it's never quite as nice and new as the pictures on the Internet.
2 out of 5
by Andrew L.

So-so experience

Posted Dec 17, 2015 on Orbitz
Staff service was fine. Cleanliness of the unit could have been much better. The unit appeared dusty and it was very small in size.
1 out of 5
by Not Provided from San Diego

False representation of hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2015 on Hotels
There was no shuttle available, the neighborhood was questionable and we watched a guy get mugged at the corner as we were arriving by taxi. When the front desk finally found our reservation and gave us the room key we found two shabby beds and a dirty bathroom. We asked for a different room with a king or queen, which we had originally requested and were told none available. We took our bags and jumped in the next cab. We did not spend the night and We do not recommend it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, Nv Usa

Worst hotel, mold smell in walls, a 2 start hotel.

Posted Nov 10, 2015
The worst hotel in chile I have never written a complaint but this hotel is horrible quality wise, avoid a headache parking, rooms wi-fi everything is an issue here smells bad and is deteriorating more, have to scream to get a diferent room ...a suite according to them but still was horrible just less smell... Don't waste your hard earned money the pictures in the Internet are photo shop trust me....
5 out of 5
by Greg from Santa Barbara

Nice hotel stay

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
Room was great! Was clean and comfortable but, the bathroom was very small. Hotel service was very good and they spoke a little english. Breakfast was great and food was very good. Neighborhood was good but it has a lot of graffiti and does not look like a desirable area, but it was a good area. Friends live in this area so I had a understanding of the area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lima

Nightmare

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Please, see my experience
Location: --
We took a room with 1 hour in advanced and got to "Hotel Gen" expecting a 4-star accommodation. - First issue: nobody from the hotel was in the lobby (yes: nobody). We were received by a friend (yes: a friend) of the person in charge of the lobby. The "friend" said us that he works for a building close to Hotel Gel. We waited 30 minutes to start our check-in - Second issue: check-in. The person in charge of the check-in was not able to find our Expedia reservation. He tried for 30 minutes and finally, let us go to our "4-Star" room. He was rude and with poor experience using a computer - Third issue: room: I should take pictures. The most terrible "4-Star" room I've ever seen. - Third issue: check-out: The next morning, a new person in charge of the lobby asked us for a credit card because they have never received a confirmation from Expedia. Yes, I paid twice. Please, avoid this place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice reception but hotel need some maintenance

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Location: Good for day walks to Plaza de Armas and Mercado central, for evening I would probably go for Providencia instead. More lively and good restaurants.
About 15 min walks from Central historical area, the neighbourhood didn't feel safe in the evening and can be a bit noisy. The hotel can organise airport transfer with their own taxi but it is really overpriced however, the staff at the reception were very helpful in giving me direction to the center and how to get the airport bus. The view of sunset from the rooftop terrace is absolutely magnificent but general maintenance of the building and amenities should be improve, wouldn't consider it a four star, still a comfortable and not somewhat centrally located hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Hotel is near the old downtown convenient to metro

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Some fresh paint, a little mold removal would be a good idea.
Location: Near Sta. Lucia and the small open air tourist market.
This is an older property and Santiago is pretty damp. That means that there was mold on the walls in the bathroom and the shower stall wall in the unit we occupied. However, the staff were extremely helpful and overall the property was clean. It is convenient to the metro and some of the points of interest like Sta. Lucia were within walking distance if you don't mind walking. We were there during the earthquake and saw no relevant damage (it was a 7.0 in Santiago proper). That is a good thing, of course. The after shock we experienced in the hotel later that night was pretty strong but the building rolled with it fairly well. It was fine for what we wanted - i.e. close to many of the sites. Overall, a good stay.
1 out of 5
by KARINE from paris

So disapointing! never again

Posted Aug 28, 2015 on Hotels
Very disappointed. We expected quality and service of a 4 star hotel, as mentioned on the website. It looks good on photos, but reality is not same at hotel. The first room we were given was smelling very bad. it was not possible to change. We contacted hotel.com gold members service, who did their maximum to contact the hotel, but nobody answered the phone. there was very often nobody at reception either... The bathroom are old, dirty, fongus molds in the joints,taps almost broken, old towels almost grey / yellow instead of white... not the standard of a 4 star, only of a 2 stars maximum. The check out was the most slow i had in chile...
3 out of 5
by Julia from Connecticut

Ok for one night

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
Pro: Front desk very good with getting checked, setting up a ride to the airport, and storing our luggage until time to leave. The breakfast was very good. Comfortable beds, clean rooms. Con: Bathroom sink faucet was loose, and the floor of the shower extremely slippery. Lighting in the rooms was terrible, no light in or near the closets. Street noise interfered with sleeping. Hot tub water was cold, and not usable. Concern: The terrace on the 25th floor provided a beautiful view of the city, but the railing was only about 3ft high. We booked 2 rooms through Hotels.com for a special rate. We were expecting one of the rooms to be a queen or king, but instead it was two singles.