Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
20% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Robert

A lodge feeling

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
It was difficult to find this facility. So make sure you call ahead for help with directions. That said, if you like Mountain lodge vacations this is a very nice place. It's rustic and scenic. The staff that prepared breakfast could not have been any more charming and the setting for the meals was delightful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not at all

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Orbitz
Very bad no hot water in a 60 degree temp one set of towels for a week even do the employees ( 2 ) were very nice they couldnt do any better becouse was the rules.
5 out of 5
by Sara

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
Super romatic place, amazing breakfast and super friendly people <3
4 out of 5
by Mathias from Norway

Awesome stay up in the woods.

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
This is easy cabins up in the woods, don´t expect anything else. The place is beautiful and simple. Perfect for a quiet getaway. The rooms were clean, the wifi slow, nature awesome.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santo Domingo

Not a real hotel...

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Nothing (unfortunately we could not even get in)
Cons: Professionalism
I guess when someone makes a reservation in Expedia their expectation is that they're reserving in a real hotel. This is not the case. Allow me to elaborare. It has become a trend for some people with money to build villas. which they turn to "hotels" later I guess to make some money on the side, but they have no hotel culture and I guess can't understand how these establishments work. We made a reservation online in the afternoon and when we got to the "hotel" a few hours later it was closed at the gate. After some wait a sleepy employee came to the gate. We said we had a reservation. The employee answered that he didn't know anything about it. That "The Lady boss" had gone to sleep and she was the one that knew anything about it. We asked him what should we do. He had no answer. I told him: "we made an online reservation through Expedia, are you sure you guys are not going to honor it?" Guy didn't care. I said "I will review this place". Guy: (blank stare) My recommendation. If you're in Jarabacoa make a reservation to a real hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santo Domingo

Unpleasant surprise!

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Service.
Upon arrival we found out that our rooms were given to someone else. We were force to accept an upgrade at a higher price. The new place they gave us wasn't so bad, but we could not fit properly, an one of the kids didn't slept comfortable. We could not leave, because all other places were full due to carnaval and other events in the area. So we were trap. We had no choice. Also they have a woodpeckers problem. One of this lovely birds decided to work all night at our cabin (maybe the bird could not sleep), so everyone had to wake up each time the bird decided to start banging. We are not picky at all, but never been so dissapointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rancho Olivier, Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Best thing about this place was the beautiful property surrounding the buildings. The breakfasts were really good, too.
Cons: Better communication & clearer expectations between owner, manager, and customer.
Location: Close to Jarabacoa, a beautiful part of the country with mountains and waterfalls, etc.
It wasn't listed as a "Bed & Breakfast" but that is very much what it was. We were looking for a nice hotel with updated amenities, etc., which was how it was advertised, so we were disappointed. The water went out on us mid shower (literally) the first morning and no compensation was offered. We didn't want to make waves so we just ignored it. First thing we saw when we walked in was a HUGE spider on the wall. (We took a different room, which also cost us more money.) Finally, although the people were nice, I felt like we were being nickled & dimed like crazy and the communication was not clear, even though we speak Spanish well.
5 out of 5
by John from Wyoming, USA

Peace and Quiet. Highly recommended.

Posted Dec 27, 2014 on Hotels
An idyllic oasis. Peaceful. Ideal for those traveling by car- Rancho Olivier is not in Jarabacoa- it's between Jarabacoa and La Vega, so about a 10 minute drive from either city. The drive is worthwhile because it gets you out of the noise of the city. Mauritza and crew are very attentive. Breakfast is excellent and plentiful. We would definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run, but run away from it!

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels
Breakfast was nice. Prepared on site., Owners are friendly. Now the negatives, they say they have a bar, they do have plenty of liquor but no ice, nothing cold, not even a beer. The room I was in was a 3 bedroom cottage. But no privacy, you could see into the room from the reception desk which shares a wall made from lattice.They were playing pool right when it was time for us to go to sleep. There are a lot of antiques but it is very dusty and there were mice in the room. Do yourself a favor and stay someplace else.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels