Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central to all,activities. Food overpriced.

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Central to activities. Food overpriced relative to outside ares.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Director, Hotel Management
We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our establishment. We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve. We trust that, on future visits, everything will be to your satisfaction. Best regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is in a beautiful historic village. There are numerous bars and restaurants in walking distance although most of them were shut due to it being low season. We had an excellent meal in the hotel restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017
We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our establishment. We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve. We trust that, on future visits, everything will be to your satisfaction. Best regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stay at Parador.

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
The atmosphere was fantastic with ancient structure. The shower and other equipment were well installed and there was no problems. The parking was across the square. The dinner was more than enough. Fabulous. But you might want to watch out the portion (big). Service was very nice and you can enjoy the stay. Also easy access to the Cave of Altamira which is also very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Delighted with our stay in Parador Gil Blas. The staff were very friendly and attentive. In particular the gentleman who gave us a lift to the station in his own car when the timetabled bus failed to arrive. I can't praise him highly enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by Director, Hotel Management
We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to communicate your impressions about our Parador. We are proud, and it gives us a great satisfaction to count on your opinions, which every day help us in our efforts to achieve the service you deserve. We trust that, on future visits, everything will be to your satisfaction. Best regards,
4 out of 5
by MERCEDES from argentina

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
wonderful! The hotel was just as I expected. The service at the restaurant so caring! The only thing was that I had to ask at the information desk, how to get there as the way that Hotels.com suggested was closed with a chain and couldn't trespass No doubt, the best hotel in santillana
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kimberly A Georgia

Beautiful Town and Parador

Posted Dec 20, 2015 on Orbitz
The hotel is lovely and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Parking is a breeze and very reasonable.
5 out of 5
by Arturo

Posted Dec 1, 2015 on Hotels
Very small town but worthwhile staying at this parador. Our highlight was the Altamira Caves and a drive down to Santander (about 30 minutes away)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Beautiful hotel, great experience

Posted Nov 7, 2015
This is a lovely hotel/parador. It is a gem and I can't understand why it was not mentioned in my two guide books. The beds were comfortable, linens soft and bathroom clean/well stocked. The hotel had a wonderful breakfast and dinner was also available. Vegetarian dinner options are limited to "starters", but the portions are quite large so be careful. The staff is quite helpful and friendly. They even ran a copy of the city history in English from the computer for me. The setting could not be more inviting. The parador is a little difficult to find because it is located within the walled city. Our GPS took us directly to the tourist information center. Fortunately, the TI was open and provided a map to the hotel. I can't see how you can miss on this one...especially if you like atmosphere.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Special experience is a Spanish Paradore.

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
Special experience in a Spanish Paradore. Was a bit difficult to find if driving by car. Roads into the historic area are marked as "no entry"; however, as a guest of the Paradore you are allowed to drive. Entry was a bit harrowing with the many tourists who are oblivious to car traffic. Once we were used to our surroundings, we navigated more easily. Meals in restaurants were excellent.