Ratings based on 300 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Excellent service. Staff was very helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Deepak.J, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, We thank you very much for your feedback. Regards The Management
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Warm and welcoming staff

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
Although the neighborhood was not ideal, the staff at the hotel were absolutely wonderful and made us all feel very welcome.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dusty !

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Staff friendly, well meaning. Beautiful building. Comfortable bed. Good location.
Cons: Cleanliness / mini bar items / no coffee or tea in room /
Location: pretty much easy to walk anywhere in Florence. Really good restaurant right outside hotel.
The hotel is beautiful and very historical and whilst it was lovely to look at with spacious rooms and comfortable beds, the dust is terrible. I have asthma and had to have my inhaler for the first time in years due to the amount of dust in the room. The telephone was so dirty I cleaned it myself. After eating our own food one night, the daily room clean left cheese on the floor, crumbs on the table and desk. it had literally just been given a quick tidy. The breakfast is fine, but the chef coughed all over all the food all the time ! He brought a plate of ham and cheese to me - which is the only food for room service by the way, basically breakfast food re-worked - and I saw him cough all over it on the way up to my room, disgusting. No cof It is such a shame that such a beautiful hotel was missing being so good by such easily rectified faults. A good thorough clean of the room would have made a difference, and it should be made clear the only room service is a plate of ham and cheese with bread. The minibar is so minimal its not worth looking at. It is almost as if they do the minimal amount in order to claim they do it at all. All said and done, if they cleaned properly and upgraded the room service option I would consider staying there again. They need to sort out the chef's very noisy, very constant coughing and spluttering all over the hotel. It was like a 'faulty towers' episode. The pictures you see on the web site, are nothing like the rooms we had
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Charming

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: It is in a very good location and it is on a quiet street. The staff was always pleasant friendly and worked hard.
Cons: There are really only 2 things I did not like about this hotel. The scramble eggs were never ever hot to say they were even warm would be a compliment. Also the shower in our room always left a puddle.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
The room was clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly and very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, United States of America

beautiful hotel however smoke in room from outside

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: staff, room, breakfast
Cons: biggest and most important: do not allow smoking in courtyard outside bar or outside room. smaller things: a longer shower door. price- was expensive
Location: location was good because we needed to be in that area. Not far from duomo. But 30 min walk to michelangelo viewpoint, pitti palace, boboli- take cab
We really liked this hotel- everything was great including the staff, the facility, the free breakfast, the in room amenities (loved the soap, shampoo scent. they included sewing kit, shower cap, shoe shine, and qtips/file/cottonballs kit) however, people smoked in the courtyard and outside the rooms and the smoke from the smokers entered our room and it was horrible to breathe. The hotel rooms have exterior corridors; however, it is accessed only by passing through the lobby, then into the bar area, and then courtyard and then either your room is right near courtyard or you ascend steps to the second or third floor for your room, so it felt safe even though exterior entrance. The keys were regular metallic keys and there were no automatic doors that opened, which we liked. Staff was very accommodating, including providing fruit for us the morning we left, because it was so early. One thing I would have liked was a hot water kettle/ urn/ or coffee pot in the room. If you wanted coffee or tea you had to pay for it if it wasn't breakfast time. There was a small fridge/minibar stocked with peanuts, soft drinks, and other drinks. In room safe was larger than other ones we had in other hotels. The shower was a little difficult to get into because tub was tall. A shower "door" which only covered half the length of the tub let plenty of water fall in the bathroom, around the toilet. The flush sometimes had to be pressed multiple times to work- like other Italian toilets.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
We loved the atmosphere and uniqueness of this charming hotel... just wish they could fix the noice that you hear from the people above you ... we had some busy people above us a few nights that kept us awake. And they need a better night light to highlight the step up to the bathroom so you don't trip and fall going to bathroom in the middle of the night! We were in Room #11. Maybe not all rooms have these issues.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

J & J home away from home!!

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
Laura and Patricia were wonderful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Stay at J&J!

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was great. Room was perfect, very large. Location was great. Staff super friendly. Breakfast was good. Only complaint was the wifi in the room was spotty, which with an older building may be expected.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is historic with great rooms and décor. Close walking distance to many activities in Florence. Helpful staff. Nice breakfast.