Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Steven

Take it or leave it!!

Posted Sep 17, 2017 on Hotels
Close to bus station, friendly caretaker, morning breakfast, wears on you after a while, but uncomfortable bed, No air conditioner after September, no safe in room, mosquitos in room, small shower, terrace of backyard with no view and tiny elevator.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quite average

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Very average B&B. Walkable distance to all main attractions. Quiet. Quite pricey for what it is. Old mattress made me feel like in a hammock and no tea/coffee facilities.
4 out of 5
by Stacia

Spacious room, walkable to city center

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
Nice apartment-turned-hotel. The doors are very thin and the noise level definitely depends on the other guests in the hotel. The room was spacious. The bed and pillows could be more comfortable but overall was fine. It is a bit of a walk to the city center but do-able. For the price compared to other hotels in the city, I would stay here again. The man working the weekend I stayed was very nice.
5 out of 5
by Cristiano from Brazil

An excellent place to stay on in this amazing city

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
Florence is an amazing city, and Soggiorno Michelangelo is a fantastic place to stay on. Unless you don't like (or can't) walk(ing) about 20 minutes to visit the main attractions of the city, you will have nothing to complain about the place. Oscar, the owner, is a very friendly and helpful person. The rooms are great. Internet works pretty well. The breakfast is good enough. And the site, despite being close to the very busy touristic area of the city, is very quiet and silent. Definitively, if we visit Florence again (as we hope it'll be the case someday =) ), we will stay on Soggiorno!
3 out of 5
by Shane from Perth

Should be advertised as B & b

Posted Jun 21, 2015 on Hotels
Good place to stay. A fair walk to the city but u could catch a bus. Not many eating places nearby. Breakfast was like a b & b with sitting all together and would of liked fresh bread instead of in packets
4 out of 5
by Marilyn P from U.S.

A quiet little gem in Florence.

Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
My daughter and I stayed there recently. The owner was helpful, but was around only part of the day--he lived upstairs. The hotel is really like a large apartment in a residential building. There were 6 bedrooms with private baths. While the location was a good walk from sites like the Duomo, it was around the corner from a supermarket and a small laundromat. Most places in Europe have washers, but not dryers, so it was nice to have truly clean laundry mid-trip. There is an elevator, which is helpful if a walk-up is difficult for you, especially with luggage. Breakfast was put out daily and it was adequate. Oscar liked to make cappuccino for everyone, but other coffee, tea and juices were available. There weren't many good restaurants down the street from the hotel, so sometimes you had to walk for a nicer meal. There was a felafel place that I went to when I did laundry--just a few doors down from the laundromat. Oscar gave good advice and got us a cab in 5 minutes when we left. Overall, a quiet neighborhood hotel with much to recommend it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by vacationer from singapore

clean homy lodging

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels
rooms are big and clean and the owner and his wife are friendly. near supermarket and eateries. Breakfast served at common area in living room and this opportunity to interact with other visitors. However breakfast is same every day and very basic. walk to duomo takes about 25 minutes, longer than the said 10 minutes to city centre.
3 out of 5
by Mabbas from Leeds

Overpriced guest house

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels
Good location...only a 15 minute walk from FSMN train station. However it is not well sign posted and we found it difficult to find (we had to ask somebody where it was). On arrival it was not clear on where to go (you press the buzzer and you go up yo the second floor). This is a guest house not a hotel. It is very cosy...all the rooms branch off from a central reception/dining area so noise travels easily between the rooms. The man running the guest house is also very miserable. Breakfast is provided between 7.30 and 9.30 am but is mediocre at best. The rooms were clean and equipped with two single beds pushed together, television, wardrobe, chest of drawers and an en suite bathroom. The balcony is not a selling point...it was small and cramped and full of unused items such as ironing boards. Plus the view on our side was nothing to write home about. Overall, I enjoyed my stay in Florence, the location of the guest house was good but I would not stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Host lacking communication

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: decent price, decent location
Cons: service, communication, dusting
Location: Whole city of Florence and the futbol pitch is close
Decent price at a decent location. Oscar seemed like an ok guy, but I felt like I was walking on eggshells in his place. He did not share with me anything about the city, things to do and he provided no map (not a huge deal). I had 2 twin beds in my room and 1 night I asked if my friend could stay in the other bed. He said it was not problem then when I checked out the last day he charged me an additional 30 dollars. If there will be a charge, he should communicate that when I asked...he checked me out of the hotel while he was busy with another phone call. I wouldn't stay there again.