Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So so hotel in Salvador old town

Posted Sep 18, 2016
This pousada is convenient for Salvador centre. However I can't really recommend it I'm afraid. I was literally the only guest staying there and I did not have a good experience. The cheapest rooms have no window so I upgraded first to a street side room. It was so noisy at night with people shouting and loud music till late, that I moved to a more expensive sea view room. The noise was even worse! There were bands playing just outside till midnight and then a loud party next door which lasted all night and morning. The rooms were over priced - the showers didn't work properly and the breakfast was inedible. The owner is nice but the staff were not very friendly and at night there is just a guard who speaks no English. I won't be staying here again, sorry to say.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful, quaint inn with fabulous owners/staff.

Posted Nov 4, 2015
My girlfriend's and I stayed at this inn for 5 nights and felt completely at home. The owners, Gerusa and Stephane, contacted me prior to our stay to provide me with details on how to leave the necessary deposit (Western Union, which was super easy), and set up our airport transport (the driver was on time & very friendly). The inn itself is beautifully decorated, quaint, and homey. The location is perfect in that nightlife is within walking distance, but not right in the middle of it. Beaches are a short cab ride away & they are gorgeous. Gerusa was beyond helpful & went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable and safe. She is an absolutely lovely woman. The staff was just as warm & they whip up a delicious breakfast every morning. All in all, I have zero complaints. I would absolutely return to the Pousada Casa Vila Bela.
5 out of 5
by annette from Liverpool

annette

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
Very good and owner very nice and very helpful
5 out of 5
by Bao from los angeles

great host in a great city

Posted May 25, 2015 on Hotels
wonderful room (recommend the ocean view ones) with wonderful host
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Wonderful staff and a charming hotel in the heart of the Pelo in old Salvador. Highly recommend this to anyone looking for an authentic experience in Bahia.
3 out of 5
by Rinoti

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Rob from New York, NY

Great Location, Lovely, Recommended

Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels
The Pousada was in a great location on the tip of Pelourinho, which is the ideal area to stay in. It's a short walk to virtually every good restaurant and museum/church. The best food we had in Brazil was in Salvador, beating Sao Paulo, Rio and Recife. 2 area restaurants that are WELL worth the price and going out of your way for: Uaua (lots of dishes for every taste, but the shrimp in coconut is to die for and Casa do Amarelindo (amazing steaks). They are easy to find and within safe walking distance.The breakfast in the Pousada was delicious. The owner was lovely and spoke excellent English. The staff was very accommodating. I also recommend their car service. The price was lower than the cab from the airport and the driver is friendly and very engaging, even if you know minimal Portuguese. We were happy to have a seaside (actually, you are on a cliff overlooking an industrial bay, but that is what you have in most of Salvador) and in a room that had air conditioning. Air conditioning is a must because Salvador is hot. I highly recommend this Pousada.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gaston from Uruguay

Excellent attention for the Owners and Crew

Posted Jun 22, 2013
The good dedication and excellent service, resolved all our requests and questions. Dealing with all the crew and owners.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Erwin from Minneapolis

Excellent if your room has internet excess

Posted May 28, 2013
Pros: The large rooms, excellent staff, breakfast, helpful management.
Cons: Needs a Wi-Fi range extender for the Wi-Fi to reach all rooms.
Location: Excellent location for Afro-Brazilian art to see and purchase.
Everything about the pouada is excellent except the WI-Fi did not reach my room on the third floor. I have some concern about a building with only an internally locked front door as the only exit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Pousada Vila Bela - THE hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel is great and the view of bahia de todos os santos is amazing. The localization couldn't be better and the owners are very nice people. Two thumbs up for this hotel. A must stay in Salvador, Bahia.