Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Howard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Olhao, Portugal

Excellent pousada

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: There is no elevator, but the staff helped us without asking to carry our baggage to the room on the second floor.
The pousada has art work everywhere, in the common areas, in the rooms, in the breakfast room. The breakfast was excellent on the balcony that overlooks the bay. The staff was very helpful, and the French owner offered to find a podiatrist to help me with the problems I had. There are a few excellent restaurants on the same street as the pousada. It is very close to the historic district, only a 10 minute walk away. Our bus left late at night, and the staff offered us to store the luggage and to hve a shower before we left. All in all, the stay was very pleasant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Do not use hotel safe

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Beautiful room fittings, nice arty atmosphere. Good breakfast.
Cons: Security - one of the roof windows had no lock mechanism, and there was a theft from the safe.
Very nice hotel with rustic room fittings and an artsy atmosphere. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Right near the old town with a lovely colonial setting. The view from the balcony is absolutely beautiful. Sadly I had 150 USD go missing from the room safe. The staff showed me cctv and offered to make a police report, neither were much help as there is no camera in the room and I doubted the local police would side with me. Whoever went in there left 230$ in there so I'm guessing they thought I wouldn't notice. Salvador can be a dangerous city, and there are a few people who go to the old town specifically to prey on gringos. Learn from my mistake. If you put cash in a hotel safe count it in, write the amount on a slip of paper and tie it around the cash, that way opportunistic thieves will be deterred from this sort of theft.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Salvador Pousada de Arts in central historical

Posted Feb 2, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel is owned by a couple of French origin. The decoration are quite artistic , full of Bahia style. If one choose rooms with sea view will see cruise ships if one or two are perthed in the city from the balcony and be able to enjoy the sunset . Rooms face the othe side do not collect much noise from traffic. The bathroom is a bit messy with no partition to the shower area thus making the entire bathroom wet, which with all due respect is a common problem in most hotels. The cup , supposed to be for tooth brushing, is made of natural clay looks sloppy to drink from it. The male French owner speaks excellent English and is always helpful for suggestions on what to see, to do or where to done. His staff is great too. We felt safe in walking in the old part of town in Salvador , back and forth to the hotel, even at night. Breakfast setting is nice on the balcony
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

arts pousada in salvador bahia

Posted Jan 23, 2012 on Hotels
the pousada is done in immense style and harmony with its surroundings, aesthetically gorgeous, geographically very convinient, extremely nice staff. yet, its too expensive for what it has to offer: breakfast is poor, room amenities negligible, no coffee,tea, or bar during the day. for its price, it needs an upgrade in what it has to offer. beautiful art on the walls is not enough. having said that, i would come again-its a safe and beautiful bet
5 out of 5
by MERNIZI

Topissimo !!

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
Le personnel est super sympathique. Rosa et son fils nous on donner plein de renseignements sur les activités touristiques à faire sur Salvador. Très bon séjour en famille dans une pousada au charme exceptionnel. Espero voltar a ver-vocè em breve. !!!
4 out of 5
by Rolf

Sehr geschmackvoll und sauber

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
Sehr schoene, geschmackvoll ausgestattete Pousada im Bahia Stil. Von dort aus sind alle wichtigen touristischen Attraktionen der Altstadt gut zu Fuss erreichbar. Ab der Daemmerung sollte man nicht mehr mit Wertsachen umherlaufen.
5 out of 5
by rcrausaz

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Com certeza voltaríamos!

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
O que mais chama tenção no hotel é a decoração. Super alegre, colorida, agradável. Quarto com vista para o porto super agradável, limpo, frigobar ok, ar-condicionado ok. Achamos que o café da manhã podia ser melhor: sucos naturais super adoçados (completamente sem necessidade), tapiocas frias, adoçante vencido (percebe-se que utilizam açúcar pra tudo). Porém voltaríamos, pois no geral a experiencia foi muito boa!
5 out of 5
by Igor from Salvador

Interessante e bonito.

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
Interessante, acolhedor e bonito.