Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacious spotless room with delicious breakfast

Posted May 25, 2017
Cons: Negotiate the taxi ride to the airport during off-season instead of using the hotel car and you'll likely get a much better rate.
Just at the edge of the Pelo area, this pousada is perfectly situated at the edge of the action. Lots of shopping, restaurants and historical sites to see nearby. Room we had was huge, beautiful and spotless, and a lovely breakfast was brought to the door each day which we had in the kitchenette.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Francesca, Hotel Management
Thank you for your opinion, we hope you will back again! The Hotel Studio do Carmo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming place in a great location

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Staff, location.
Cons: It is a good value for the price, but perhaps the rooms could be a bit more comfortable. For example, i was cold at night but the bed had only a sheet
Location: Excellent location in the historic district.
The staff at Studio do Carmo is incredible - friendly and extremely helpful. The location is great, and the breakfast was good. Highly recommend staying here if you are in Salvador.
3 out of 5
by Daniel from New York

Great hotel, but not for kids

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel for a single or couple - not great for little kids or anyone using a stroller or wheelchair. Stairs are a bit treacherous. Great staff and location. If you want a more quiet night, don't stay at the front of the hotel, as the street life is quite loud.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mexico

Arty, fun hotel in the heart of Salvador!

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: beautiful decorations, large, comfortable
Cons: air conditioning a bit slow and better hot water
Location: In the centre of the action!
Very friendly and pleasant staff, HUGE comfortable rooms, ample breakfast. I arrived 4 hrs early and they let me check in almost straight away. Excellent location and recommendations of things to do. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice setting, clean, service could be faster

Posted Jun 26, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was for a relaxing base from which to undertake day excursions in the national park.hotel was a great setting and clean with enough facilitates. Only issue was the slow service received at the pool bar making a single order complicated.otherwise this hotel was grand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON.

Hidden Gem

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Breakfasts, staff and location.
Cons: Wifi.
Location: In the heart of the historical centre with many museums, shops and restaurants close by. A taxi ride to the beach and totally worth it!
Beautiful, rustic boutique hotel in the heart of the historical district. I looked forward to the continental breakfast on the lush terrace every morning. Our room was amazing, large and with a great view of the cathedral. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, and really made us feel welcome and at home. I'll definitely be back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good B&B

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Hot water!
Location: The main historic district is within walking distance with its lovely main square, churches, and shops.
Good location a couple of minutes' walk from the main historic district. Our room was spotlessly clean with a kitchenette to make fresh percolated coffee. Furnishings were simple but with rustic charm. Breakfast was simple but very good and items replenished constantly. Downside was no hot water in the shower. Overall we were happy with our choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jen from us

GREAT LOCATION and quaint pousada

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: Quaint, beautifully decorated rooms and location
Cons: Watch out -- if you dont have the cash to pay the remainder of your bill, it will be 20% higher.
Salvador is fabulous and the Hotel Studio do Carmo is a great place to stay for a few days. Helpful staff and excellent breakfast (no longer served in the room, but on a breakfast patio downstairs)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port-au-Prince, Haiti

Good choice

Posted Jun 1, 2011 on Hotels
Had a pleasant and enjoyable stay in the hotel