Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by jun

not at all

Posted Apr 7, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: Old hotel
Location: River is dirty
Parking so tight. Suppose to stay 4 nights..only slept 1 night
4 out of 5
by Visitor 532

Menial location, close to historical district.

Posted Jan 21, 2013 on Hotels
We have stayed here last year and the service was good but there was no WIFI. This time the management has changed, it seems somewhat better but we have had problems each day we were there. We were moved from room to room because something was not working right. I do love staying here every time we come more than any where else we have stayed at.
2 out of 5
by AndrewS

Could have been better...

Posted Nov 21, 2012 on Hotels
Total disappointment...
2 out of 5
by Ernesto from Santiago De Los Caballeros, Dominican Republic

NOT RECOMEDED AT ALL

Posted Oct 9, 2012
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: the worst part of Santo Domingo
No Services at all ,staff is not professional it look like a couple of kids without no experiencies breakfast included what breakfast ? THERE IS NO A RESTAURANT WORKING WHAT FOR EVER and the parking space is a scary sotano for 4 cars a terrible experience will never come back againg expedia should not listed
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2012 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

For Extended Business Stay

Posted Jan 5, 2012 on Hotels
Great price, but you get what you pay for.
1 out of 5
by Rosa from Port-au-Prince, Haiti

FRAUD

Posted Dec 28, 2011
Pros: nothing
Location: BAD
This place does not meet the the minimum requirements for a decent stay: - The rooms are not clean, not clean towels, no light in the bathroom, the tv and cable system were not installed, the telephone to call the reception was just "simulated" not even connected to the wall ! ... The staff are not organized and were pretending to call to the Manager to give me a solutions for all difficulties found the in the room !!. The place is more than a cheap MOTEL than a HOSTAL. The place does not deserve to be announced in Expedia!.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.S

4 Day Break

Posted Nov 11, 2011 on Hotels
This Hotel is ideally located just outside the city. Its a great location for the cost and I would recommend it. Keep in mind that you probably will not have any hot water and your towels will not be changed on a daily basis. In brief its a great hotel but has poor support services. You can't have it all,. its the D.R
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Good value

Posted Oct 24, 2011 on Hotels
For the fairly low price, you get as much as you get in many higher-priced hotels. Free breakfast every morning (I recommend the traditional Dominican breakfast), cable television, a seating area and kitchen (in case you wanted to do your own cooking), etc. If you want to be in the midst of all the action, this is not the place for you; but if you, like me, prefer to be away from the action (while being able to easily get to it if I wanted to), this is the place to stay. On a map, it looks a lot further away from things than it really is. For example, I was easily able to walk to El Conde and throughout much of the Colonial Zone, as well as walk down to the sea shore. (For those of you too lazy to walk or unable to walk long distances, taxis are relatively inexpensive). Don't order room service and don't try to make sense of the cost of taxis to various places: the lists show both the US dollar price and the Dominican peso price and they don't exactly match. Go out and buy food and beverages (alcoholic and non-alcoholic) and bring it back to your room (there's a Jumbo supermarket on El Conde and an Ole supermarket in Santo Domingo Este but don't go walking around Santo Domingo Este northeast of the hotel at night). There's a park right near the hotel but only go there during the daytime unless you're looking to acquire certain services from women of questionable character or are looking to put yourself at considerable risk (several locals have separately advised against being in the park at night; about an hour or two before dark, you can watch some teen boys playing baseball without the benefit of baseball diamonds). If you want to venture out to more distant places (I took a trip out to La Romana to tour a cigar factory), take a bus (you can take a taxi to the appropriate bus station; e.g. take the Express bus to Boca Chica and La Romana and Caribe Tours to points north); it's a whole lot cheaper than taking a taxi. The staff was friendly and helpful and there's good security. Don't expect your room to get cleaned every day (I arrived there on a Monday and the cleaning staff didn't come to my room until Thursday); personally, I don't have a problem with that because I really don't need to have the bed made every day or fresh towels every day (two towels were sufficient to get me through until the cleaning people came in; though I'm sure if I wanted fresh towels I could have asked for them). If you're not going to Santo Domingo for what your hotel has to offer, but are only using the hotel to sleep, shower and watch some occasional television, I definitely recommend Hostal Marina Real. If you absolutely need all the frills of the often-overpriced tourist hotels in the midst of all the action, stay elsewhere. One more thing: if you're out walking at night (the best time to see El Conde and to go to the clubs and restaurants), watch out when you're crossing the main roads in particular because some of the motorcycles don't have working headlights.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upstate new york USA

Hostel marina real

Posted Sep 26, 2011 on Hotels
Staff were extremely friendly Rooms were huge with a huge refrigerator Ac was excellent Only slight negative was the bed was a little more Stiffer than I was used to. But overall the hotel for me in all my future visits to dr