Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from medellin colombia

understaffed hotel far from beach

Posted Apr 20, 2017
I booked via internet; the hotel looked comfortable and quiet at walkable distance from the beach. Soon after I arrived I noticed the main problem was the quality of service was very poor and the hotel was very understaffed. Most answers to my questions and requests started with No or that's- not-included.... The hotel was at walkable distance from the beach and even has vans which take you to the beach and back but there was such a dearth of information provided by the hotel, it was hard to know that service existed or how to get to the beach on your own (walk). The hotel did not even have cards with information about check in/out and restaurant hours. The hotel was also a bit rundown....For example: there were a couple of bycicles at the entrance for public use-we tried them but one of them was absolutely broken. The other thing worth noting is that the hotel is located inside a condominium of houses so there were some loud neighbours playing their music full blast. The peace and quiet I dreamt of when booking simply was not there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Secluded but close to the action

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Staff and location. Good value. Clean rooms and common areas. Fresh fruit.
Cons: A full complement of towels in the rooms. A phone in the room. A bar tender in the Atrium bar and pool bar. A cook that knows how to make pancakes.
Location: Short ride from airport (25min). Beach within a 15 min. walk. Access to golf course.
I went on a business trip for 4 days and stayed at this hotel. The hotel's target audience is the business traveler that is accustomed to US standards for a three star hotel. This hotel is managed by a local hotel company and attempts to meet the expectations of its customer base. The front desk staff is very helpful, especially Miss Caridad. The waitress and waiters in the dining areas provided great service and went out of their way to make my stay enjoyable. They would prepare a papaya smoothie for me everyday after dinner. I had a few issues with the room which were immediately fixed when I alerted the front desk. For example, the TV was not connected in my bedroom. It lacked the cable wire.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Orbitz
Went for a wedding and disliked my stay there. The pool area was filthy. The bathrooms were old and moldy. Their all inclusive option offers only one restaurant and one bar. There was a pool bar that they never opened. Plus everything is expensive.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Dirty hotel, threatening intimidating rude staff.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Leaving................
Cons: Everything... start with management and train staff properly. Apparently the 10% service fee is a legal issue so staff have no incentive to care...
Location: Hotel called me a taxi to take to Guavaberry golf course, 10 minute drive. They asked for $30USD each way. I hired a car for $55 USD per day.
Filthy hotel, unless you like sharing with the previous guests hair. Staff threatened to have me put in jail for complaining. Free minibar was 2 cokes and 1 Diet Coke. After spending 300 USD entertaining clients they said had no '24 hour room service' and had security threaten me for asking for 1 beer for my room. As the phone in my room didn't work I called another hotel in chain and asked to be moved. They refused. Opened my bottle of wine with a steak knife, which I vídeo'd when I asked for a new bottle they lied and said it was a new bottle. I asked for the service charge to be removed from bill I was surrounded by their biggest staff and intimidated again. Food was basic, dishes and cutlery 50/50 chance of being clean. Caddies at golf course lied about fee and charged 50% more than true cost. Nothing done when complained. 2nd caddy swore at me in Spanish when I paid him the correct amount. Tried to check out night before early flight to find they had charged me for laundry service not used. They refused to check me out until next morning when staff accused me of dishonesty for not paying, even though laundry service said it was not me and signature was from another guest. Pool had 6 guests yet no pool towels and had to use room towels for pool on a few occasions. Managers are abusive cowards, staff have learned from management. Everything above video recorded on phone from day 1 with hotel manager and night managers consent. Horrible hotel dangerous staff. Your choice?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Room for improvement

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Cons: Rooms (humidity) and hotel overall ambiance
Location: Very nice location for walk around, having the pharmacy and convenience store at the entrance is VERY GOOD.
Nice location, SUPER friendly and accommodating staff . . .unfortunately rooms with carpets are smelly and humid (first floor). Hotel need ambiance since the property is rich in space and opportunities. Gym: is just a room with three machines.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix az

Nice DR hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2017
First time staying here. It's one of the nicer hotels in Juan dolio. Nice quiet hotel. Beach is decent. Good breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

A couple days to relax

Posted Feb 24, 2017
I went under a full board plan. Not as upscale as the All Inclusives out in Punta Cana, but a great value for the money, and much closer to Santo Domingo. The staff is very attentive and nice. Not far from a nice beach in town. The beach club they have an arrangement to, is under construction, and that part of the beach is not so nice.
1 out of 5
by David

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
Bath room was dirty falling apart
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible place

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
The hallway to the room they gave me was blocked so I had to acces it thru the outside It rained the entire weekend and we got wet every time we needed to enter or leave the room. I asked for an umbrella but they had none There was no bar only restaurant. There was nothing in the near area within walking distance receptionist did not even offer information on food or any services at hotel. I had no acces to my room after 9 had to wait 20 minutes just to get in my room
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Great place if you travel on business or leasure, not crowded, quiet, food is great ! great service as well. Have been staying there on my last trips and will continue to stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Thank you for choosing Emotions for your stay at Juan Dolio. We are glad you enjoy our resort, including food and service. We hope you will continue to come and visit us as you do now! Best regards. Hodelpa Management