Ratings based on 469 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York,NY

Beautiful hotel close to restaurants and museums

Posted Aug 28, 2016
I loved this hotel... Everyone was very friendly and helpful... The restaurant at the hotel is amazing also... I loved how close the hotel is to restaurants, shops, museums and its even close to a supermarket... The beach is about 30 minutes away by car. I can't wait to return!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whiting, NJ

Nice hotel on quiet st in colonial zone.

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Stay was for visiting family so we did not do what tourists do. We enjoyed restaurant & bar
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to a lot of museums, restaurants, and bars.

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Very quiet and relaxing hotel atmosphere. Our room was very spacious and always kept clean. For the most part hotel staff was very attentive. There's a lot to do around that side of town lots of shopping, museums to go to and the architecture is beautiful.
5 out of 5
by Jeffery from Puerto Rico

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was awesome, but the beds were terrible and wi-fi did not work in the rooms.
5 out of 5
by Fernando from New Jersey

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
Overall the hotel was great. Employees were very nice and helpful starting from the guy who help bring the luggage to the room to the reception and to the waiters and waitresses in the restaurant especially during breakfast time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new Jersey

Nice and in colonial zone

Posted May 12, 2016
Staff are friendly,clean room,beautiful ambiance.one comment breakfast food selections was very limited.
5 out of 5
by Willy from Queens, NY

Awesomeness!!!!

Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
Awesome stay and definitely will come back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Our new home in Santo Domingo!

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: Location, rooms, view, food, staff.
Cons: A/C continuity. They need to make sure that ALL rooms have the air conditioning set to be as cold or warm as the guest want, without any interference.
Location: Magnificent location! Great restaurants! Try Pate' Palo and Jalao, you will thank me!
The hotel is in the most desirable location of Santo Domingo's Zona Colonial. It is probably one of the most historic hotels if not the most historic, in all the new world, as it was the home of the first Governor of the city, Nicolas de Ovando, which was the seat of the Spanish government in the new world. It is a stunning property with views of the port and Rio Ozama, parts of the old Fort and of the first Street in the new world, Calle Las Damas. It is built in a traditional Spanish architecture style with open courtyards and beautiful gardens. The pool and bar areas are gorgeous and conducive to relaxation. It is next to Las escalinatas, which while we were there, held a free Jazz concert series on Thursdays, courtesy of the Ministry of Tourism. The staff was awesome! Pavel took great care of us on both of our stays during our trip to the DR, and he was outstanding, attentive and relaxed. The breakfast was outstanding! One of the best we have experienced. Definitely worth having it included with your rate. With a few adjustments to the hvac systems and attention to some details, the property could become a 5 star property. The modern rooms are very nice and the colonial rooms in the 4000s are very romantic, I would recommend those. I will rate it a 4.8 out 5 because of the issue we had with the A/C one night, and even though we were moved to another room immediately, it was a hastle. Thank you for a great stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santo Domingo

A+ Hotel, best of the Colonial Zone.

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Everything about this hotel is great!!!!! Hotel Staff, Accomadations, food.....best breakfast in DR by far.
5 out of 5
by waltraud from rum

das historische Viertel zu Fuß erkunden

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
anfangs bekamen wir ein sehr einfaches,lautes und nicht sehr ansprechendes Zimmer, das wir jedoch ohne Probleme sofort tauschen konnten, ab diesem Zeitpunkt haben wir den Aufenthalt in Santo Domingo sehr genossen; WIFI nicht in allen Zimmern möglich.