Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice, quiet location... but uninviting

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Pros: This small hotel is in the heart of the colonial district and built around an inner courtyard, has a homey, quiet ambiance.
Cons: No one speaks English, the wifi is spotty at best, the staff seems disengaged and unwelcoming, the TV didn't work, the AC didn't work.
First the PROS : This small hotel is in the heart of the colonial district and built around an inner courtyard, has a homey, quiet ambiance. There is an in-house bar, and they can make nice simple dinner meals. But the CONS : No one speaks English, the wifi is spotty at best, the staff seems disengaged and unwelcoming, the TV didn't work, the AC didn't work. I like the colonial feel and the quiet - but I wouldn't stay here again,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Charming place, very reasonable price.

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Pros: Staff, location, charming physical look.
Cons: More reliable hot water. More soundproof doors. Fans in the rooms.
Location: In the heart of the Zona Colonial. Easy walk to the pedestrian tourist-attracting Calle El Conde. 5 blocks to Plaza Colon.
Stayed 8 nights at end of February, 2016. Modest accommodations, very friendly staff, easy 5-block walk to Plaza Colon. Hardy fruit plate each morning with eggs & orange juice and good strong coffee. Hot water somewhat unreliable. Toilets cannot handle paper, so put used paper in trash can. Though the courtyard is charming, from our room we could hear everything that went on late into the night, though most nights were quiet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Renovated mansion in heart of colonial zone

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Pros: Proximity to colonial zone attractions
Cons: Nothing
We stayed here for one night while visiting the colonial zone of Santo Domingo. We stayed in the apartment and had plenty of space with 3 adults and 2 teen children sharing the room. The hotel was very clean and well maintained with a historic look and feel. The pool is small but our boys still had fun swimming. The homemade breakfast and evening happy hour were also nice. The hotel is in easy walking distance of the cathedral and colonial zone shops and restaurants. We would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Clean rooms, nice atmosphere. Great location.
Cons: Would have loved if the pool were open. Parking is on street, but they have security posted between them and other hotel across street 24-7.
Location: Plenty to do. Old Town Santo Domingo is getting more and more lively every time i come back, on average 3-4 months.
Nice place. Room was a little small for $100/night, but I waited til last minute to book it. Good breakfast. Good internet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small and cozy

Posted Jan 31, 2016 on Hotels
Spent 2 nights here in January, I was very satisfied with this hotel. Located in Zona Colonial this is good base for exploring and walking there. Both the area and hotel felt safe. Hotel itself is quite small and located in old building, which gave it nice and cozy feeling. Room was big enough and clean. I really liked the small rooftop area on the 3rd floor. The breakfast served in hotel was ok, not a big selection but good. The pool is very small, didn't use that. There were some minor issues in the room: tv wasn't working so well (then again, didn't come all the way here to watch tv) and water pressure in shower was sometimes quite low and not always hot water. Staff was very friendly and both check-in and check-out were very fast and pleasant experiences. I would recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by ALVARO ORLANDO from Bogotá, Colombia

Hotel Doña Elvira en Santo Domingo

Posted Jan 13, 2016 on Hotels
El hotel estuvo normal, es una casona tipo colonial, bien ubicado cerca a toda la zona histórica de Santo Domingo. Recomiendo viajar directamente a Punta Cana sin pasar por Santo Domingo a menos que su vuelo llegue a la capital. Pero no se pierden de mucho, es mejor ir a Cartagena si quieren ver algo interesante en lo histórico colonial y bien conservado.
3 out of 5
by Veronica from USA

Posted Dec 31, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel offers a great location, the breakfast was superb and plentiful, the service was great and prompt the only downside are the rooms. The smell was not pleasant and although the rooms had a colonial feel the installations were old and Outdated , the hot water was minimal and the water pressure was dismal. The bed was comfortable. The jacuzzi was out of service. If you are looking for a place to rest while exploring the city this hotel is good. But I f your priorities are the accomodations and are looking to spend time in the hotel I recommend booking another hotel.
4 out of 5
by Christopher from Myrtle Point

Amazing hotel in old town Santo Domingo!

Posted Dec 29, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel Dona Elvira is an amazing and unique place for a couple days in Santo Domingo. It is in the old part of town that dates back to the 1500s and the hotel is carved out of one of these old building very near incredible plazas, cathedrals, churches, museums, statues and such. The rooms are unique in how they incorporate the history of the building with modern comforts with nice design features. They missed cleaning the room one day, but maybe we slept in too late; no big deal.
2 out of 5
by ignacio from españa

Posted Dec 5, 2015 on Hotels
para un par de noches de trabajo no esta mal