Ratings based on 255 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Marcus from Jundiaí

Hotel ruiu! Nào fomos avisados!!!

Posted Dec 1, 2015 on Hotels
Parece brincadeira, não? Mas o hotel desmoronou e não fomos avisados. Nos colocaram em outro hotel da rede. Infelizmente uma baderna!!!!
1 out of 5
by Marcus Marra from Jundiaí

Hotel desabou! Ficamos no mão!!

Posted Jul 18, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel desabou no mês de maio. Ninguém nos avisou. Ao chegar tivemos que suplicar em outro hotel da rede para que nos acolhesse. Fiquei muito desapontado!
1 out of 5
by Rafael A from Miami, florida

no longer exists

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was such a disappointment, in such poor operating conditions that it had to be called FRENCH. BEST THING THAT COULD HAVE EVER HAPPENED TO IT WAS THAT JUST A FEW DAYS AFTER OUR stay it crumbled to the ground for no apparent reason.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted May 19, 2015 on Hotels
Best possible locations. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Hotel grounds are beautiful. Wish we could have stayed longer
1 out of 5
by VINcent from New York

hotels.com confirmatuon but HOTEL CLOSED

Posted May 12, 2015 on Hotels
although I held a confirmation with hotels.com and a confirmed reservation, I arrived to find the hotel was closed. luckily, I knew the city well enough to find a sister property
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotels.com confirmed a closed hotel/collapsed ruin

Posted May 9, 2015 on Hotels
i had a confirmation number from hotels.com in my hand for the property, but the hotel was actually closed. the street around it was excavated 15 feet deep. i found another hotel on my own. hotel collapsed 2 days later.
1 out of 5
by VINcent from NYC

Hotel confirmed by hotels.com CLOSED...COLLAPSED

Posted May 5, 2015 on Hotels
Hotels.com sold me a room and gave me a confirmation number for a hotel that was closed. Had I not known of another hotel in the city that was from the same hotel chain, I would have been lost and homeless in a developing country. Street around hotel was 20 foot deep excavaction. Hotel was closed and I had a confirmed reservation from 'reputable' on line travel site like hotels.com. Hysterical that even though local associated property GM has advised hotels.com that property is closed, the automated review has come. In fact the Hotel Francis collapsed the night I was at the associated property. Could see my room from the street as the whole wall was gone. Took a picture and sent it to hotels.com of hotel they confirmed me in. Thankfully no injuries in the street.
5 out of 5
by Linda from Linköping

Fint hotell med bra läge och service

Posted May 1, 2015 on Hotels
Bra läge, otroligt bra bemötande, fräscht rum med eget wi-fi.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old world charm

Posted Apr 25, 2015 on Hotels
First time in Santo Domingo and hopefully not the last. The hotel has lots of old world charm and friendly staff. Not for people looking for luxury facilities but suited us just perfectly. Nice location in the city. Free parking and WiFi.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful Architectural well Located Hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: The breakfast is amazing and reasonably priced.
Cons: The shower leaked a bit into the room - due to the worn seal on the half glass swaying wall.
Location: The location is central to the Old Town, but a bit off the path which is nice.
Overall I was very pleased with this Hotel - from the location, to the design, to the welcoming and well spoken staff, to the overall cleanliness, luxury comfort and to the grand breakfast. The staff was more than accommodating with early check-in and late check-out. The secure parking across the street was a nice added bonus too. I would stay here again and recommend this hotel, once the construction madness is complete. Which leads me to my only complaint with regards to my stay - the current construction mayhem taking place right in front of the hotel entrance and the surrounding Old Town location is not only an eye soar but also a huge safety issue. Thankfully our stay was on Good Friday, so no one was actually working on the construction sight so noise pollution was not an issue for us. Though the construction zone mess out front was not pleasant and having to maneuver around it with luggage was not the easiest nor safest by any means. I think that both Expedia and the hotel are responsible to inform guests of the current construction zone prior to booking, as this could totally impact one's decision on booking here or not.