Ratings based on 561 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Grand lady!

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: In a very central area and you could easily walk to any of the sights.
We had a great stay at this hotel. Our room was basic but big and the modern bathroom had lots of space. The downstairs sitting rooms and halls were amazing, with many old photos of the Duke of Windsor and other celebrities, leather couches and fancy chandeliers. Even the breakfast room was grand and served an excellent buffet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

gutes Hotel in zentraler Lage

Posted Jul 6, 2016
30 Minuten Ubahnfahrt vom Flughafen bis fast vor die Tür. sehr schönes grandioses Hotel,mittenmang und dennoch ruhig,da in Fußgängerzone. einziges Minus:Frühstück im pompösen Raum,für so ein Hotel etwas armselig: nur eine Sorte Plastikkäse/schinken,Spiegelei kostet extra.......
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Good hotel in a great location

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Only very small point - breakfast is strictly from 7 am so leaving early for a flight means missing it.
Location: Everything in Porto!
This is still the "Grand Hotel" with the lounge and dining areas reflecting an earlier age. The service is good and the buffet breakfast fine. The location is great, right on the main shopping street. We walked everywhere from the hotel - Porto is all hills though and it's up to the Hotel when you're coming back. We had a bargain booking via Expedia and the room was clean and comfortable ... although not one of the largest I'm sure ;-) Great Hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: We liked it's location which was very convenient for Sao Bento mainline station and Bolhao metro station.
Cons: The lighting in the bedrooms. There was a roof terrace with tables and chairs but no umbrellas so impossible to use on a hot sunny day
Location: See above. It was situated on a pedestrianised shopping street.
The hotel was very traditional and with dark decorations. Many walls were dark brown and the lighting very subdued. I found the bedroom to be exceptionally dark and, apart from the bathroom which was very bright, the only place to read was lying on the bed with the tiny flexible wall fixed spotlight shining on the page. The public rooms downstairs did not seem any better. We tried the evening meal which was of the nouvelle cuisine type, with the barest of vegetables - one or two minute carrots, broccoli and cauliflower florets but plenty of meat.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bovenden

Ruhige Lage im Zentrum

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: Die zentrale und doch ruhige Lage
Location: Die ganze Altstadt von Porto ist bequem zu Fuß vom Hotel aus zu erreichen.
Die Lage in der Fußgängerzone an der Hauptgeschäftsstraße ermöglicht, Porto vom Hotel aus zu Fuß zu erkunden, für Autofahrer gibt es eine kleine Hotelgarage. Das Hotel verfügt über sehr schöne historische Allgemeinräume im Erdgeschoss und einen prächtigen Speisesaal mit guter Küche. Die Zimmer sind modernisiert, klein und nüchtern, aber o.k.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2016
Personnel très accueillant et parlant plusieurs langues.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Funzionale e caratteristico

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Albergo in posizione centrale con personale disponibile e discreto; ottima e variegata la colazione. Buona la pulizia. Stile particolare dell'arredamento.Nel complesso più che buono. Lo consiglierei. Nel mese di aprile il tempo non chi ha aiutato....però la città merita e gli abitanti sono cordiali e disponibili.
4 out of 5
by fabrice from Nantes

Emplacement idéal. Personne très accueillant

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
3 jours à Porto. Emplacement ideal.
4 out of 5
by DENIS from L'Ardèche

5 nuits à Porto

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
Hôtel parfaitement situé dans une des plus belles rues de Porto en plein centre. Accès aéroport très facile en métro à 100 mètres de l'hôtel. Personnel serviable, accueillant, disponible en un mot parfait. Restauration impeccable et petit déjeuner irréprochable.
4 out of 5
by Elisabeth G.

Städtetrip war super

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Ebookers
wir hatten ganz kleines Zimmer ohne Ablagemöglichkeiten, ohne Kasten im EG mit Ausblick auf ein restaurationsbedürftiges Gebäude. Verlangten ein anderes Zimmer und mussten pro Tag 15 Euro zusätzlich zahlen. Zentral gelegen. Haben eine Bootstour auf Douro, Yellobus, Cristall Garden, Sealife, PortweinTaylor Führung Gaia, Mastinchos gemacht. Sehr viel Armut und restaurationsbedürftige Häuser