Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing, storybook exprience

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
The hilltop town is an intact, small medieval village, with most of the businesses, restaurants, hotels (including the Residenza) and apartments being contained within larger fortress-like structures; all connected by charming passageways and tunnels.
4 out of 5
by Rafael from Nottingham

Great place to stay in a hill top town

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
A lovely hotel in a beautiful hill top town. Very atmospheric town with beautiful narrow streets and medival street patterns. The hotel has a series of apartments with a lot of character spread around the town. All very well equipped and as the town is small very close to the beautiful squares and restaurants. Very good attention from the staff. Defiantly a lovely place to stay.
5 out of 5
by allison

Great place for a weekend getaway!

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
We had an amazing stay here. The staff was very friendly and helpful! They pointed us a to a great family run restaurant for dinner. The room was spacious and clean. We hope we will be able to make a trip back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Nann from Connecticut

Close to Heaven

Posted Jul 10, 2015 on Hotels
We found this to be a perfect vacation spot as we prefer breathtaking scenery and historical charm to the fast pace and high costs associated with the major Italian destinations. Our Lodging was actually a 3-bedroom apt. with full kitchen stocked with all the necessities for cooking, although the village has a few family run restaurants (including one with very good food) so we only enjoyed breakfast at out home away from home. And we really enjoyed our breakfasts as along with coffee and teas the refrigerator was stocked with milk and yogurt and the table was spread with baskets of pastries and cereals, along with a freshly baked cake. Our thoughtful host, Claudia, had thought of everything and even loaned us a regional guide to supplement the maps she printed out for us. Can't wait to return for another perfect respite.
5 out of 5
by Scott from Worcester, MA

What a gem

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
Very attentive owner. Met me at the bottom of the hill late at night. The room's couch was not in any sort of condition, but the place has so much charm it's hard to complain
5 out of 5
by Rinat from Tel Aviv

A great stay

Posted Apr 12, 2015 on Hotels
we stayed there one night. though it was quite a detour it was totally worth it. its actually an apartment with a bed room and a kitchen. We arrived after a very long day and this great room was exactly what we needed. There is no breakfast room so all the breakfast ingredients are waiting in the room when you check in. It allows you to enjoy coffee, fruits, tee Croissant etc (very generously if I might say) in the evening of your arrival.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kim from Santa Cruz County, California

Medieval charm with modern comforts

Posted Jul 28, 2013
Pros: history and beauty of the location, room, location, staff, amenities, price
Cons: No suggestions for improvement. Be sure to arrive early, as it can be a bit difficult to locate in the dark.
Location: Located in picturesque Gran Sasso National Park, the hotel offers easy access to castle ruins of Rocca di Calascio and Castel del Monte.
The beautifully-renovated "Laura" flat of this extended hotel retains the charming medieval character of the fairy-tale village of Santo Steffano di Sessanio. It was meticulously clean, had a comfortable bed (with good pillows), a very nice bathroom, and a reliable Wi-Fi connection. The flat boasted a nicely-equipped kitchen with a multitude of continental breakfast items including local artisanal baked goods. Proprietor Claudia was the most gracious of hosts, getting us situated and even making us reservations in a wonderful nearby restaurant featuring many Abruzzan specialties. This is an ideal place to stay to experience the beauty, history, and outstanding hospitality of the mountains of Abruzzo. Our only regret was that we had not booked a longer stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

perdersi x poco

Posted Oct 12, 2017
l'appunto riguarda la colazione. avevo prenotato con expedia tramite trivago sul sito expedia era riportata colazione inclusa ma all'arrivo abbiamo scoperto che la colazione invece non era compresa ( strano perché era proprio dettagliato chiaramente ). comunque per noi non era questione di prezzo, abbiamo chiesto di poter avere la colazione integrando quanto necessario ma la risposta è stata che non era possibile perché l'organizzazione della struttura non lo permetteva !!!! solo informati con largo anticipo avrebbero potuto fare questo. il che ha significato cercare e rimediare qualcosa negli scarni punti vendita presenti. peccato perdersi per così poco
5 out of 5
by Carina from Fredrikstad

Koselige sted i vakre omgivelser

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
Hyggelig mottakelse - melk, yougurt og kake i kjøleskapet - te og tørrvarer på bordet til selvbetjening - vi handlet brød, kjøttpålegg, ost, vin og vann i den lokale butikken for natt mat og frokost. Middagen spiste vi ute på en kjempekoselig lokal restaurant med en herlig dame til servitør. Eneste minus for oss var veldig harde senger! Ellers et vidunderlig sted alt i alt.