Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton, UK

A long walk to the village

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Cons: Website should advise people that they need a car to get into Imerovigli.
Location: Meli Meli is in "the middle of nowhere. the local taverna only open late in the day and is unsavoury. Te village of Imerovigli is good and so is Fira
Meli Meli is a long way out of the village - something not mentioned on their website. It takes a long walk along a busy main road and a mile walk up a very steep hill. As the village is the only place to get food and the local buses do not top near Meli Meli this was a bit of a holiday downer.
1 out of 5
by Donna M

Meli Meli or Sleepy Sleepy

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
It was the worst place that I have ever been. I would like a refund on the purchase of the days (4) that I could not stay there! The sheets were piling, could not even sleep the sheets were so old. It was so far away from everything I had to rent a car. By the second day I had to get another hotel, Katerina's Castle, which was so much more accommodating. The owner of Meli Meli was gone most of the time. Also I waited for my breakfast till 11:00am and went down to the kitchen area, to find that he just woke up. It was the worst experience of my life!!!!! The photos are a lie. It's not what is advertised.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

super friendly staff

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on CheapTickets
We stayed at Meli Meli for 5 days and enjoyed it a lot. The staff is amazing!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value for money, nice and clean

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely great value for money. The team at Meli Meli were very helpful in organising different aspects of our trip, including airport transfer. All ran very smoothly. Imerovigli centre only 10 minute walk.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not stay here again

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is up an hill, so problematic for someone with mobility issue. Room require many steps above the main lobby / eating area, so again, if you're older and using a cane ... this would be problematic. Great view of the ocean, but the rooms are very basic and plain. Road to room is unpaved and little bugs crawl into room. Room is like an outhouse. Breakfast and pool area is really nice. They had a nice spread for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

A pleasant, clean and quiet oasis

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Compared with several other hotels on our recent trip to Greece (4 and 5-stars), Meli-Meli was a pleasant surprise; whoever takes care of the property and the building does an excellent job. While the room size was average by Greek standards, it had an airy and open atmosphere. Staff was helpful and very nice. Located on the main road just north of Imerovigli, it's not quite a Caldera-view place, but it does not cost an arm-and-a-leg. Oh, and it's a quiet respite after the incredibly overcrowded Fira and Oia. It's a 6-7 minute walk to a nice spot right on the caldera, right in the middle of the Fira-Oia trail: just walk north to the Tasos taverna and turn West.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too expensive for what it offers

Posted Sep 24, 2016
The place looks nice, but I would not recommend it. First of all, the location is not convenient. You would need a car or a motorbike, or walk to Imerovigli (with suitcases it can be too long). You can use the bus though. But, the staff could not provide us with help regarding the buses (timetables or directions). We had to stay two more nights at Santorini (because of external reasons) and we paid for a much cheaper hotel, which provided free shuttle to airport or port. Meli Meli did not provide this service for free, but charged 14 euro approx per person. We also received this service for free at one hotel in Mykonos, so apparently it is pretty common. In addition, the room is nice, but the air conditioning was no well located. As it was just above the bed, we froze if we let it on during the night. The bathroom had a hole on the floor, which had a lid that would move all the time, so it was easy to step on that hole. Really uncomfortable. Also, the reception is not always open and when we needed their support there was no one there. I am really sad to write this review, but I hope it is useful for the hotel to improve.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel and staff were lovely.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mixed feelings about our stay...

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
I have mixed feelings about our stay at Meli Meli. It's right on a major highway so there is lots of traffic noise. On the other hand, the grounds (especially the pool!) and the view are very lovely, and there is free parking (you definitely need a car to get around Santorini). The reception staff was very nice and helpful. That being said, there were several negatives. The worst was the fact that our A/C didn't work at all so it was warm, damp and musty in our room (#3). Every time we ran water in the sink, a drain in the bathroom floor would gurgle and there was a nasty smell. The "kitchenette" consisted solely of a mini-fridge with a small sink. We had reserved a "superior" room and I question whether that's what we got.